We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for post-safari recovery!”
Review of The Tides Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Tides Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pangani
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect for post-safari recovery!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at The Tides after 12 days on safari and found it to be a fantastic spot to rest, recover and enjoy our last days in Tanzania. It takes a bit of effort to get to it, but it is well worth it for its very private beach, comfortable rooms, and wonderful staff.

Our hosts Steven & De were so accommodating and were always available for whatever we needed - from sailing to laundy to special meals for our children (aged 10 and 8). Highly recommend the day trip snorkeling! Drinks and dinner at The Tides is just magical.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    35
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
58
98
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My partner and family (2 teenage boys plus grandma) have just returned from a wonderful 6 night stay at The Tides which was the perfect way to end our time in Tanzania. Having spent a week in a small village in the centre of the country, then 4 days on a camping safari, the peaceful luxury of The Tides was just what we needed.
As we looked out of the plane window onto the grass airstrip in the middle of a sisal plantation which is Mashado 'airport' we were hoping that there wouldn't be a problem with our transfer to the lodge, but we needn't have worried as we were greeted by Steve, who manages the resort with his wife De and, after a short journey we were there. Upon walking into the bar area, which overlooks the ocean, we were presented with a 'welcome coconut drink' before being taken to our rooms which were great.
Over the course of our stay we couldn't have asked for more. All of the staff were fantastic, greeting us with a smile and chatting about our day whenever we saw them. Unfortunately I wasn't well for a couple of days but the care and concern shown not just by Steve and De, but by the other staff too, was very much appreciated and it wasn't long before I was able to enjoy lying on the beach or relaxing by the pool again.
The food was delicious and Steve and De worked hard to ensure that the menus were adapted to cater for our dairy/egg allergy sufferer - the eggless 'African Pancakes' were a great hit!
We also took advantage of the trips on offer including one to Pangani, and a tour of Ushongo village which Tua, one of the waiters, took us on which was a fascinating insight into the life of some of the local people.
The location of The Tides is perfect for an 'away-from-it-all' break and the staff, along with Steve and De make it just the place to relax by the ocean.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parasol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

myself and my boyfriend arrived on sunday the 13th of july, the minute we stepped off the little plane and landed on the airstrip in mashado we were greeted by a very happy and jolly deeanne( manager ) who drove us to the tides lodge, where we were then greeted by steve who was just as jolly, which was so nice after a long haul flight, the two of them were so welcoming and friendly which really made you feel so at ease and happy.

we enjoyed 10 lovely days at the tides, the first night we experienced our first ever full moon which was a spectacular sight, and each night of the week we enjoyed a lovely dinner, the seafood is amazing so fresh and tasty, and if you order anything off the speciality menu make sure you try the chateau briand which is out of this world, the steaks were so tender and juicy.

we also took a snorkelling trip to maizwe island,deanne was so helpfull and stopped at nothing, which was so nice of her, she had organised drinks and a lunch which was served under a shelter set up on the island by the skipper and ali the snorkelling instructor. we thoroughly enjoyed our snorkelling, highly recommend going.

if you are looking for a place that is relaxing with spectacular scenery and i would highly recommend the tides, steve and dee and all the staff really do make a special extra effort and go out of thier way to accomodate you and cater to you, it was by far the best 10 days we had in tanzania and would return in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shauna15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

A friend and I were desperate to get away from Arusha a few days, so we just spent 4 nights at the Tides, a place I've been to several times over the years - it's the perfect getaway! Beautiful drive down there, great welcome from Steve and De and the lovely Tides staff. Yummy food (especially the King prawns!), perfect weather at this time of year, and just a good place to rest and relax. We had lots of fun taking the sea-kayaks out, and at low tide we were able to kayak out to the nearby reef and see starfish, fish, and coral. We were also there at the right time to see green turtle hatchlings making their way from their nest to the ocean! It doesn't get much better than that! Thank you everyone at the Tides for another wonderful mini-break! Hope to see you soon...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebeccaxj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimBalf66, Owner at The Tides Lodge, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Hi Rebecca, It was great to see you back at Tides again and really pleased you were able to see the turtles hatching. See you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha Region, Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I recently spent two nights at The Tides. Our journey from Arusha had been somewhat long and eventful resulting in a much later arrival than anticipated. Steve kept in contact with us throughout our journey and greeted us warmly as we disembarked from the ferry.
When we arrived at The Tides we were greeted by Dee and a refreshing drink. From that moment we knew we were in excellent hands and our trip would be everything we wished for, which was basically relaxing and stress free.
Steve and Dee were genuinely warm, caring and professional without being intrusive. Additionally, all of the staff were attentive and professional.
Our room was amazing and had everything we could possibly need.
The location was incredible, the beach was so pristine and beautiful. A perfect place to hide away from the world and replenish your mind, body and soul.
We will definitely return again and again, Michael and Karen

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen-and-Mike2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimBalf66, Owner at The Tides Lodge, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Karen and Michael - thank you for your kind words - we look forward to welcoming you to Tides again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Both me and my girlfriend are 4 days into our 10 night stay here at the tides and its been just brilliant. The managers Steve and Dee have done everything possible to accomadate us and make our stay enjoyable. And enjoyable it is. Food is nice, service is nice and the rooms are nice. Overall a really great place and a must stay if you are ever in the area.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jaycaulry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimBalf66, Owner at The Tides Lodge, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you Jay for your review - as you say Tides really works well as a post safari 'chill out'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We spent the second half of our honeymoon at The Tides having had a fabulous week on safari. Our stay was excellent from start to finish and the hospitality shown from Steve and De was second to none.

The food needs specific recognition as it was excellent at all times. The choice was great and the quality top notch.

In terms of recommendations for activities, our snorkeling trip to Mazawe Island was the high point of our week at The Tides and is an absolute must.

We would absolutely recommend The Tides for people who don't want to crowds and tourist feel that can be found on Zanzibar.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank KWUD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimBalf66, Owner at The Tides Lodge, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your review - so pleased you love Tides and especially our cuisine which we take great pride over. It's great isn't it, having the whole beach to yourself and not having to share it with 100's of other as you do in Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangani
18.3 mi away
Peponi Beach Resort
Peponi Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Tanga
155 reviews
7.3 mi away
Barry's Beach Resort
Barry's Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Pangani
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Emayani Beach Lodge
Emayani Beach Lodge
#5 of 11 in Pangani
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Capricorn Beach Cottages
0.0 mi away
Kijongo Bay Beach Resort
Kijongo Bay Beach Resort
#2 of 11 in Pangani
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bahari Pori Bandas
Bahari Pori Bandas
#8 of 11 in Pangani
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Lodge

Property: The Tides Lodge
Address: Plot 10 | Ushongo Beach, Pangani 46, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Tanga Region > Pangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pangani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides Lodge is situated in the middle of a huge picture post card bay - selected as one of the top 6 secret beaches in the World by the Sunday Times Travel Magazine. With only seven beach cottages and two family houses The Tides Lodge offers intimacy and luxury. The cottages are bright and breezy with large billowing nets decorated in a simple fashion. The high light of any visit to The Tides is the excellent cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Tides Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Pangani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing