We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Pingwe
Reviewed 8 May 2013

After safari-ing in mainland Tanzania we headed to Zanzibar for five days of relaxation & recuperation as part of our Honeymoon! Our room was actually an entire cottage with a beautiful Zanzibari wooden door & four poster bed! The pool was great to chill by but even better was walking out to the Indian Ocean to wade through the turquoise waters, spotting fish as you go. Along the walkway into the sea are numerous tour guides trying to extract your business...but a firm & polite "no thank you" does the trick. We did a snorkelling trip through the hotel...this was great fun & perfect for beginners...my new husband included! We also took a trip to the nearby mangrove swamps in a traditional Zanzibari boat...beautiful but outrageously overpriced! The service was impeccable & the food delicious...especially the traditional local food served on the African night. A perfect location after a week on safari!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,052)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2013

We chose Zanzibar as our honeymoon destination , and it was the best decision we had made. We arrived at Karafuu hotel on the 23 April very late that night as there was delays with visas in dar as salaam (4hours to get a visa) but after a miserable day - everything changed when we arrived at Karafuu, the staff welcomed us, took us to the dinner restaurant as we were starving when we got there.the staff are amazing.the next day the manager upgraded our rooms to the sea view room- best honeymoon gift. We spent 7 nights at the resort and had such a lovely time. Rooms are clean ,spa is lovely with a stunning sea view, food is delicious, (we gained 4kg in 1 week ) I will definitely be returning to karafuu.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krupa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

It s the second time that I visit that hotel and I have to say it is always a pleasure. It changed in the last 2 years, as they have new rooms which are great with a swimming pool, ( further away from the reception)but the rooms in front of the sea are always my preferred ones. The service is very good, Farida in charge of the events is of great help, Valerio who is the Assistant Manager makes many things possible and Frederic and Winston made it possible that our Group felt well concerning the food and beverage.
Breakfast is very nice, big choice, our meals were very pleasant and the whole group enjoyed their stay very much.

Room Tip: If it s possible don t choose the older rooms ....and try to get a cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DOROTHY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We just returned back home after our Afrika holiday. The last 9 days we stayed at the Karafuu resort in Zanzibar. After booking the junior suite on the beach, our expectations where very high. Our first experience was however something we had never experienced before. After arriving at the airport after some minor delay, our transfer didn't show. There was a Karafuu hotel driver but het was waiting for some other guest. We asked him whether he could take us too, but he refused. I asked him to call the hotel and try to arrange a solution for this problem (it twas already 21:30 h). He finally called the hotel but they didn't allow him to take us and even didn't do anything to get us to the resort. We where told to arrange transport ourselves. They just left us there. When we arrived after taking a taxi for an extra $ 60,00 we complained at the reception desk where they told that although it was not their problem, that the did arrange the transport and we should only have waited. So who was lying, the driver or the reception staff?

The junior suite, facing the beach was nice, spacious and comfortable. The rest of the resort was in need of serious renovation. The swimming pool was missing a lot of tiles and should be seriously cleaned (cigarette buts where floating in the water). Because we where there in the rainy season, we had an occasional shower. When that happened, it also rained heavily in the bar, leaking through the roof. The gym was empty and closed for renovation. (No work was done)

The serving staff did everything wright however. They really gave us an holiday feeling. They tried our language and learned us some Swahili words. Pascal helped us activate our Vodacom Sim card and getting data on the sim card. (The hotel charged $ 50,00 for a week Wifi internet connection, altough they advertise the junior suite inclusive of Wifi).

While the food was not really bad, it was sub standard, monotonous and the taste was flat. (We thought Zanzibar was the spice island) Only on one night we had a proper piece of meat (Masai diner theme).

We wanted to book a daytrip to stowntown, spicefarm and prisson island. At first this was not possible on one day but after mentioning that the beach boys offerd just that trip, it was possible too. The only problem was that they wanted to charge us $ 150,00 while the beach boys offerd this same trip for only $ 50,00. Some other people from the same resort, booked this same trip via their travel rep for only € 40,00. So we decided to go with the beach boys. I know, we took risk but after our first day experience with the service of this resort, we tought it was worth a try.

While on all locations we stayed on our holiday in Kenia and Tanzania, we where met by the resort manager, Karafuu seemed doing without a manager. There was a European man walking arround the place who looked a bit like a manager, but he realy did his bestto avoid anny contact with the guest.

The diving they offerd was okay but not spectacular. Also here, the people did almost annything to acomodate our wishes. As I sayd, it was nice but not spectacular. Almost no coral and we had to be still about our sigthing of 2 enourmas languostine Lobsters. The where afrad tat when the locals heared about these lobstrs, they would go out to catch them.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay because of the room, the diving and the serving staff but wil not come back here.

Room Tip: Since the difference between the rooms and the junior suites is very minor, I suggest to just book t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hanskramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Ive just come back from the most amazing holiday to Zanzibar with my wife and 2 kids aged 2 and 4, booked through African Encounters (Farzanah). Ive been to Zanzibar previously and stayed at Mapenzi and La Gemma, which are both wonderful properties!

I must say the service received from the time I started enquiries through Farzanah who gave me a few options and ended up on her recommendation to Karafuu which is the perfect place for what I had in mind.... to the time I departed was just amazing!

Thanks Farzanah for a wonderful holiday, the family still wont stop talking about it!
I would like to give a special thanks to Zakariyah (MANAGER) for making me feel at home.
Mr Akida , Farida, Hoosen, Mr Ebrahim and Idrees (dive centre) and Mr Yusuf from the pool area were fantastic.. The chef from the restaurant went beyond and above to assist with all the meal request and a very special thank you to all of them... sometimes the assistance of the staff and how they treat you make a world of difference and this is how i felt about Karafuu.

I stayed in the cottage rooms which were nice and spacious, the only negative thing I have is the rooms are very dark, Ive already voiced my concerns with the hotel and by them putting in lighter furniture or getting more natural light in the place will really boost the feel of the resort.

I will definetly recommend friends and family to visit this resort, its "africa" standard and I wont promote it as a 5*, So, as long as you have this in mind you wont be dissapointed and you will have a great trip!

Room Tip: If you have the extra money, rather book the junior suites as these are right in front and have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SameerL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

If you plan to stay in a real five star hotel, this is not the place.

The location was good, near to the Rock Resataurant. Our room was spacious and the taste was good.

However, the service needs to be improved. We had several things stolen from our room. Nothing was valueable but still very disappointing. In addition, the water stopped for about an hour every day probably due to construction, but we were never informed of when the water will stop.

It's not an expensive hotel so maybe I shouldn't expecet too much. (Though I still believe this hotel is overrated)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank insomniac12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

A cottage all of our own with an un-interrupted view of the sea.The sea was like getting into a very warm bath.Lots of colourful fish to see,especially at low water.The food was some of the best we had experienced on our safari holiday.The staff were very attentive and helpful,taking your plate to the table.We were "all inclusive" and without being greedy we certainly got our monies worth.They arranged for us to have another cottage as our flight out was not until the afternoon so that we were able to go for a swim and then have a shower.We decided to have a lunch there which was now not in the "all inclusive".However it was certainly not expensive.Would certainly go there again.We also ate at the restaurant that only serves fish.My husband had lobster and he is still raving about it two weeks later!!

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baqueret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pingwe
16.5 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,681 reviews
32.1 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 19 in Nungwi
1,123 reviews
17.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Azao Resort & Spa
Azao Resort & Spa
#5 of 6 in Pongwe
118 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zawadi Hotel Zanzibar
6.9 mi away
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa

Address: PO Box 71, Pingwe, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pingwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Pingwe
Price Range: £112 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a deserted white sandy beach, at 65 km from Stone Town, lies Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, an international five-star hotel, winner of the World Travel Awards as Tanzania Leading Resort and Africa Leading Beach Resort 2011 .It is one of the most luxurious hotels on the east coast of Zanzibar, where, even during low tide, it’s possible to enjoy a comfortable swim in the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karafuu Beach Hotel Pingwe
Karafuu Hotel Beach
Karafuu Resort Beach
Karafuu Beach Resort And Spa Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing