We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and pleasure place to spand honeymoon.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pingwe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice and pleasure place to spand honeymoon.”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Little bit windy the whole 10 days of our stay, but otherwise everything was great. Food was perfect and they give you various choises. It is good to take a trip with the beach sellers, they give you a half of the price of the hotel trips, but it is the same.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Svacina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    345
    125
    53
    39
See reviews for
229
467
41
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This was a perfect way to wind down and relax after our safari trip in Tanzania! very impressed with our lovely cottage, the décor and comfort. We enjoyed dipping in the pool especially after long swims in the Indian Ocean. The staff were courteous and willing to please. Enjoyed the lovey meals as well. We miss the fresh coconut water! Will definitely return here again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronde, Denmark
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We spent a week at the Karafuu. We had booked a junior suite but where upgraded to one of the honeymmon suites because of some trouble with the bed. The suite was spacious and well-appointed. The location of the resort right at the beach is wonderful, and everything, buildings and gardens, are well-kept and in very good shape. The staff is very friendly and was always making an extra effort to keep us happy.

The only downside is the food. The food is NOT GOOD. Meat and fish are consistently overcooked, salads are watery and tasteless. There were always lots of things to choose from, but few dishes very really attractive. One evening we did give the a-la-carte restaurant a try to see if this was any better. The meat that my wife got was fried to charcoal - she complained, and we got lots of apologies and some extra food. There is is no lack of good meaning here, and they do listen to customers, but they should hire a professionally trained chef to supervise the catering.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Klaus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The hotel itself was okay. Very friendly staff. The food on the other hand was nothing really to write home about. Zanzibar is synonymous for its spices but I did not enjoy the food that was prepared. Stone Town tour and the Spice Farm tour was good, I really enjoyed the spice farm tour, knowing where most spices comes from.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nolan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

With a generous sized ocean front room, a warm breeze to stir the soul and daily banquets, Karafu is an easy place to spend quality relaxing time. But there's plenty to do if you wish - swimming, kayaking, table soccer, pool, darts and the high-energy nightly show featuring acrobatic Zanzibari youth. The staff are attentive but not obsequious and while there are renovations going on (the new pool should be a winner), they are not intrusive. Karafu is a top place to come as a family or with a group of friends. It's big but not impersonal and the decor is distinctively Zanzibari.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

After safari-ing in mainland Tanzania we headed to Zanzibar for five days of relaxation & recuperation as part of our Honeymoon! Our room was actually an entire cottage with a beautiful Zanzibari wooden door & four poster bed! The pool was great to chill by but even better was walking out to the Indian Ocean to wade through the turquoise waters, spotting fish as you go. Along the walkway into the sea are numerous tour guides trying to extract your business...but a firm & polite "no thank you" does the trick. We did a snorkelling trip through the hotel...this was great fun & perfect for beginners...my new husband included! We also took a trip to the nearby mangrove swamps in a traditional Zanzibari boat...beautiful but outrageously overpriced! The service was impeccable & the food delicious...especially the traditional local food served on the African night. A perfect location after a week on safari!

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We chose Zanzibar as our honeymoon destination , and it was the best decision we had made. We arrived at Karafuu hotel on the 23 April very late that night as there was delays with visas in dar as salaam (4hours to get a visa) but after a miserable day - everything changed when we arrived at Karafuu, the staff welcomed us, took us to the dinner restaurant as we were starving when we got there.the staff are amazing.the next day the manager upgraded our rooms to the sea view room- best honeymoon gift. We spent 7 nights at the resort and had such a lovely time. Rooms are clean ,spa is lovely with a stunning sea view, food is delicious, (we gained 4kg in 1 week ) I will definitely be returning to karafuu.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krupa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pingwe
16.5 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
32.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
17.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Azao Resort & Spa
Azao Resort & Spa
#4 of 6 in Pongwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
17.4 mi away
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
#1 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
22.4 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#3 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa
Address: PO Box 71, Pingwe, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pingwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pingwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a deserted white sandy beach, at 65 km from Stone Town, lies Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, an international five-star hotel, winner of the World Travel Awards as Tanzania Leading Resort and Africa Leading Beach Resort 2011 .It is one of the most luxurious hotels on the east coast of Zanzibar, where, even during low tide, it’s possible to enjoy a comfortable swim in the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., Jovago.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karafuu Beach Hotel Pingwe
Karafuu Hotel Beach
Karafuu Resort Beach
Karafuu Beach Resort And Spa Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing