We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great visit, but staying on a backpacker's budget is steep for Uganda”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murchison Falls National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ziwa Rhino and Wildlife Ranch
Reviewed 23 July 2010

After a three-day trip to Murchison, we decided to stop by the Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary to finish off the Big 5. We were using public, and as it's a good 5-10km off the highway we were a bit worried about transportation, lodging, etc, but decided to give it a try.

It is run a family from South Africa, and they were much more than accomodating. They arranged to have us picked up on the highway (and, the next day, returned us there), and offered to set us up a tent with mattress and linens as the other accomodation was full. (In the end they had an extra backpacker's room - two twin beds, clean, with clean shared bathroom and HOT shower.)

The Rhino tracking was wonderful and worth the money. We spoke to a few different guides, and all were very friendly. In the evening the meal was a 3-course dinner for 14,000 UGX, and we skipped breakfast (at 10,000 UGX).

In all the Rhino visit was completely worth it, but on a backpacker budget with no transportation, staying overnight here was steep - 60,000 UGX for the room, plus the meal in addition to the trekking. Our total for two people with entrance fee, vehicle hire, guide, accomodation, and meals, was about 315,000 UGX ($150). On the brightside the beers are cold and 2,500 UGX, cheaper than at Murchison! And Angie, the general manager, and her family make you feel right at home; they're doing a great job!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ugandaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Martijn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Canini09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Abbiamo solo pranzato
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Cesare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ulrike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Thank rkleemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joke d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murchison Falls National Park
0 mi away
Pakuba Safari Lodge
Pakuba Safari Lodge
#3 of 13 in Murchison Falls National Park
86 reviews
0 mi away
Paraa Safari Lodge
Paraa Safari Lodge
#6 of 13 in Murchison Falls National Park
481 reviews
0 mi away
Speke Resort and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
#7 of 13 in Murchison Falls National Park
168 reviews
0 mi away
Sambiya River Lodge
Sambiya River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Murchison Falls National Park
198 reviews
0 mi away
Fort Murchison
Fort Murchison
#5 of 13 in Murchison Falls National Park
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ziwa Rhino and Wildlife Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ziwa Rhino and Wildlife Ranch

Address: Murchison Falls National Park, Uganda (Formerly Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary)
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Murchison Falls National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Murchison Falls National Park
Price Range: £9 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**No affiliation with Rhino Fund Uganda or anything to do with the rhinos and wildlife in the sanctuary** Ziwa Rhino and Wildlife Ranch are a budget backpackers with camping. Basic amenities. No wifi, with solar power. Shared guesthouse rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ziwa Rhino And Wildlife Ranch Uganda/Murchison Falls National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing