We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nile-side cottage; resident hippos; what's not to love.”
Review of Chobe Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chobe Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed in the 'standard' tents for one night on a 16-day Uganda safari. Nothing standard about them--luxurious canvas safari tents overlooking a beautiful, island dotted stretch of rapids on the Nile. We wished we had stayed longer. The main building was lovely, service personable and attentive, food good (but not gourmet). Animal stars here are hippos and waterfowl. If you need diversity or are on a first safari, more is to come in Western Murchison--appreciate the pace and beauty.

I have read the reviews of the lodge rooms, however, and agree they, like Paraa, are more a hotel than safari lodge. Afford the upgrade and stay awhile.

Room Tip: Standard tent--ask for a room farthest from the lodge.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
There are newer reviews for Chobe Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Perfect location, beautiful setting with amazing sun-sets. The pool area is great and the rooms were satisfactory - not perfect. We had a family suite, but no fridge and we were not given drinking water - which could only be bought at the bar/restaurant. Service was not consistently good - for a "luxury" hotel. The food was average and the New Year's Dinner was disappointing. The game drive is not worthwhile for animal viewing - the falls are good to see, but not from Chobe.
It was our second visit, but I am not sure there will be a third stay, unfortunately.

Room Tip: Superior tents are the most beautiful.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank IcaakitPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

wonderful location, not too far from KLA, spectacular pools. as mentioned by others, the amount of animals to see is not too high. Beside that, if you want to go to Murchinson Falls it's a long drive...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank muzungu57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have been working in Uganda for nearly a year, when I travel I usually stay in budget hotels ..... being able to watch hippo, warthog, water buffalo & various birds while having a 4 course lunch was a lovely touch of luxury that I have missed.
The service was polite, attentive but not overpowering except on one minor occasion and that was mostly amusing ...... we pulled into the carpark in our disgustingly dirty 20yrs old Land Cruiser & were directed to a space very near the entrance. We picked up our bags & started to walk to reception but were not exactly sure where it was, immediately a member of staff arrived in an electric buggy and offered us a ride to the front door. From this we assumed we had a long way to walk until he stopped less than 30secs/20metres from where he'd picked us up! The only reason we hadn't seen the front entrance was it was the other side of a bush :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Wonderful location!! Spectacular pool!!! Hippos and Baboons in close close proximity! Had a great time with the family, we all had an amazing time! Not to mention the free cocktails every evening! Helpful staff but the rangers need a bit more assistance on animal location in the bush (they tried!!) Lol! Lovely holiday all round!

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Sylvia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had another great 2 night stay here last weekend. We saw an elephant push a tree over in the grounds....a buffalo and elephant walk past the restaurant at night. Although a bit gruesome we also saw crocodiles eating a dead hippo!

Room Tip: If you are in the main hotel part ask for a higher up room so the view will be better. Also you can...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

An amazon view that intoxicates you.
We got there around noon and the staff was very pleasant until we got to the reception part. It's my believe that there was a big misunderstanding between what we were told when we made the reservations by phone and what actually was offered. The reception person perhaps was not at liberty to make a decision and upgrade us with out charges since there was no screen door and we had to sleep with the balcony door closed.
The food it's included and again the view and been able to see hippos walking about, monkeys, baboons and beautiful birds made it all worth our wile. The staff goes beyond expectations to make your stay a good one

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Yoskke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murchison Falls National Park
0.0 mi away
Sambiya River Lodge
Sambiya River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Murchison Falls National Park
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kabalega Resort - Murchison Enrout
39.0 mi away
Paraa Safari Lodge
Paraa Safari Lodge
#2 of 13 in Murchison Falls National Park
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.8 mi away
Fort Murchison
Fort Murchison
#5 of 13 in Murchison Falls National Park
135 reviews
41.6 mi away
Baker's Lodge
Baker's Lodge
#3 of 13 in Murchison Falls National Park
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Budongo Eco Lodge
Budongo Eco Lodge
#7 of 13 in Murchison Falls National Park
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chobe Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Safari Lodge

Address: Murchison Falls National Park, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Murchison Falls National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Murchison Falls National Park
Price Range: £185 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chobe Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jovago.com so you can book your Chobe Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chobe Safari Lodge Uganda/Murchison Falls National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing