We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fabulous beachfront villa”
other travellers have booked this property
The Boat House Dikwella
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Boat House Dikwella
The Boat House Dikwella Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
The Boat House Dikwella
The Boat House Dikwella
Master Bedroom
View from the Balcony
downstairs bedroom
bathroom with private garden
kitchen area
bedroom 2
Bathroom 2
master bedroom
master bathroom
master shower
open plan living area
open plan living area
bedroom 3
bathroom 3
bathroom 3
you own private massage
a light lunch
breakfast is served
downstair bedroom
bedroom 2
The view from the beach!
open air dining with a view of the ocean
pool and sea view
The Boat House Dikwella
lounge by the pool
bedroom 3
open plan living area
steps to the beach at the end of the garden
the pool and grounds and Dikwella bay
The Boat House Dikwella at night
inside dinning area
sunset over Dikwella bay
Dikwella bay
downstairs bedroom
fresh lobster
the 17m pool
upstairs lounge
picked twice as best holiday destination in the UK Sunday Times
Sri Lankan masks in the downstairs toilet
afternoon tea by the pool
view from the front door
The Boat House Dikwella from the entrance gate
Hiriketiya bay - a short walk away
Dikwella Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Dikwella, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
OnAir7296...
1 review
“fabulous beachfront villa”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a wonderful stay here with extended family including older relatives and younger children. The setting is unbeatable, right on the beach and the house beautifully designed and very spacious. The perfect place from which to visit the local area or just chill out and swim in the lovely pool. Thoughtful and courteous staff who looked after our every need and made the stay extra special. We can't wait to come back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2017
It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Boat house. Thank you and best wishes Elaine and The Boat House Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottos21
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Amazing Stay”
Reviewed 15 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Thank you to everyone at The Boat House for making our stay so amazing. The food was insanely good, which is not easy with all our dietary requirements which were catered for. The view of the beach is stunning and the accommodation really needs to be seen to be believed. The pool is so tranquil and great for unwinding with a book and a coconut.
5 minutes walk to the amazing Hiriketiya beach which has 2 excellent breaks for beginners and advanced surfers. Even when there were flat conditions there it was a 10 minute tuk tuk ride to a good break.
Can't wait to visit again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2017
thank you Scott - we look forward to seeing again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abi O
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Even more stunning the the photos!”
Reviewed 12 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The Boat House looked amazing in pictures but it was even more beautiful, spacious and idyllic in person! Every detail in the entire villa had clearly been well thought out and altogether the house felt luxury yet homely at the same time.

The villa is situated right on a stunning horseshoe bay, which basically seems like your own private beach with the iconic surf beach Hiriketiya within walking distance just around the bay. The swimming pool is huge and the pool area was just perfect.

All the staff were lovely and went out of their way to ensure we had a relaxing stay. The food was exceptional with such great variety ranging from home comforts like homemade fresh fish and chips for the kids to traditional Sri Lankan food. Furthermore, the chefs catered to allergies and dietary requirements within our group fantastically. Breakfast each morning was sublime - consisting of an abundance of fresh fruit, eggs and pancakes.

The staff organised for us to have surfing lessons, a day trip to a national park to see elephants and drivers to and from the airport. Everything was so straight forward and easy.

Thank you to Prince, Mohamed, Premil and the rest of the Boat House team for making our stay so amazing, we will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
thank you for the wonderful review - we hope to see you back at TBH soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinanP
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing place.”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had an amazing time at the Boat House, really quite a special place. Firstly the location, walk across the pool area, down a few steps and you’re on the beach, a huge sandy bay, the sea was the perfect temperature for swimming and very clear water. The next bay along is a super cute coconut lined, a great surfing spot and a few other great surf spots dotted around the coast nearby. Good location for day trips to Galle, Mirissa, Uda Walawe National Park etc. Local shops a walk away in Dikwella, the house is in town but away from the main street so all you can hear is the sound of the sea, very restful.

The house itself has been finished to a very, very high standard. Really spacious, big bedrooms each with their own character and huge living/kitchen/outdoor areas. The finishes are really impressive, very luxurious, feels like no expense has been spared, quite unlike anywhere I’ve stayed before.

The staff were super nice, Prince who headed up the front of house and Mohamed were both very helpful and attentive and really nice people. The chef was incredible, we ate some amazing food and the local seafood in particular prepared by his skilled hands was to die for.

Wish we had a few more days at the Boat House but hopefully we’ll be back again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2017
Thank you so much for your detailed and very positive review. It was a pleasure to have you to stay at The Boat House. I have passed on your lovely comments to Prince and mohammed and to chef Premil. We would love to have you back again soon. All the best Elaine and The Boat House Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy H
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Simply Stunning!!”
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed in The Boat House last April for a week and I have to say it was the most relaxing holiday we have ever had. The wonderfully charismatic Prince was on hand to cater for all our needs and the food was out of this world....especially the breakfasts which were like a feast every morning. The chef catered for all our tastes and having a celiac in the group was not an issue.

The interior is stunning & all fixtures & fittings are high end. Nothing was overlooked. There were 8 of us staying altogether and the villa was a perfect size and we never felt on to of each other at any point.

The pool was stunning and the kids were in their element all day long. The beach is fantastic and literally at the end of the garden I loved going for a walk in the evening and the sea was excellent for surfing but I'd take special care of any kids if they are not strong swimmers as the surf can be strong.

I can't recommend it highly enough & we are already planning to return for our next anniversary!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2017
Good Morning Judy, It was our pleasure to have you and the family stay with us at The Boat House. We look forward to welcoming you again soon, best wishes Elaine and The Boat House staff.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magdahitc...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Perfect 5 Star Venue”
Reviewed 27 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017

I have recently stayed at the Boat House. It was an amazing experience! The facilities and the location are out of this world! The staff were fantastic and always happy to help and accomodate our needs. I would love to go back and would definitely recommend the place for families or friends to get away! Long weekend or a longer stay! The Boat House is perfect! Thank you to the the staff for the time I spent the! Will never forget how fantastic it was!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2017
Hi Magda, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was our pleasure to welcome you at The Boat House. look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes Elaine and The Boat House team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London_Li...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“It really is as good as it looks!”
Reviewed 27 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017

I have just returned home after the most amazing time at The Beach House and thought I needed to write something about it- I NEVER write reviews.
I don't know where to start!
First, the staff; the team led by our very own 'Prince' were fantastic and catered for our every whim (and there were a few!) The wonderful chef made great recommendations (the fresh seafood was hard to beat) and cooked us whatever we wanted, even when we asked for lobster and kottu (a Sri Lanka street food must try) three nights in a row!
A morning coffee made and presented to me downstairs (and before my eyes were even fully open) was absolutely magic.
My next favourite thing was the decor...as I said, it really is as good as it looks in the photos. This villa is absolutely beautiful; it's one of those places you visit and think 'I want my house to look exactly like this' (and then you realise it might not look the same in London?) It really is as good as it looks. Some of the photos I took really do look like something out of an Interiors magazine.
I was with a group of girlfriends so our main focus was on the pool (and hydration!) but the amount of wildlife walking around the villa grounds would have kids enthralled- peacocks, crabs, tortoise, beautifully coloured birds (just off the top of my head)....
It really is the most wonderful place and my only negative comment was that I had to make the journey home.
I will be returning without a doubt.
Thank you Boathouse x

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2017
Hi Linguini!
Thanks for your detailed comments and taking the time to write your First review! We are delighted to hear you had such a positive experience at the Boat House. I will pass on your lovely comments to our staff as they love to hear guest feedback. Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Elaine and The Boat House team x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing