We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dream house”
other travellers have booked this property
The Boat House Dikwella
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Boat House Dikwella
The Boat House Dikwella Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
The Boat House Dikwella
The Boat House Dikwella
Master Bedroom
View from the Balcony
downstairs bedroom
bathroom with private garden
kitchen area
bedroom 2
Bathroom 2
master bedroom
master bathroom
master shower
open plan living area
open plan living area
bedroom 3
bathroom 3
bathroom 3
you own private massage
a light lunch
breakfast is served
downstair bedroom
bedroom 2
The view from the beach!
open air dining with a view of the ocean
pool and sea view
The Boat House Dikwella
lounge by the pool
bedroom 3
open plan living area
steps to the beach at the end of the garden
the pool and grounds and Dikwella bay
The Boat House Dikwella at night
inside dinning area
sunset over Dikwella bay
Dikwella bay
downstairs bedroom
fresh lobster
the 17m pool
upstairs lounge
picked twice as best holiday destination in the UK Sunday Times
Sri Lankan masks in the downstairs toilet
afternoon tea by the pool
view from the front door
The Boat House Dikwella from the entrance gate
Hiriketiya bay - a short walk away
Dikwella Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Dikwella, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tania M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dream house”
Reviewed 4 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

I think I’m still dreaming about this house...and with this, there’s not much left to be said about how gorgeous this property is! Everything is perfectly done down to the last detail, the design and the furniture are amazing, there’s a huge swimming pool which is perfectly maintained, kind staff and helpful, the ocean right in front of your eyes when you wake up in the morning...speechless!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2018
Tania
thank you so much for your kind words - we look forward to welcoming you back before too long!

Andrew & Elaine and
The Boat House Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanizuk
Haifa, Israel
1 review
“The perfect place for vacation”
Reviewed 1 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We were 3 families with kids, The villa is beautiful and very well equipped. the swimming pool is very clean, and the food was great. However the best thing in the Villa is the kind and helpful staff which made our vacation so perfect!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2018
Hi Shani, thank you so much for choosing The Boat House. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and had a great time with your family and friends. Best wishes Elaine, Andy and The Boat House Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexmarut...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An amazing house”
Reviewed 22 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The Boat House is simply put, perfect. It is an absolute dream house where every single detail has been perfectly thought of. It outranks even some of the best 5 stars hotels I've stayed at. Also noteworthy to add that there's also a pool and private access to the beach.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2018
Alex
many thanks for your review and kind words- we loved having you all stay with us and hope you enjoyed the rest of your Sri Lankan trip
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D
1 review
“Unforgettable Stay !!!”
Reviewed 8 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Location of the villa is great 2.5 hours from Colombo airport, very close to anything that you need groceries and shopping... etc.
The villa itself is exactly as shown in the pics and probably slightly better than expected from the rooms to inside sitting area to the pool and outdoor.

All of the staff spoke very good english, specially the Villa manager who was extremely professional a better service than a 5* hotel, the Chef knew how to satisfy all our needs and specific food requirements to a group of 9 people with different tastes...

Finally I cant express our gratitude to the owners Andrew and Elaine, we had a special occasion and despite the bad weather in Sri Lanka ( which they offered to cancel the Trip) made every single effort to make this occasion a successful one...

I would highly recommend this villa!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2018
Thank you Richard for your fantastic review of your stay at The Boat House. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time despite the storm passing through. We were touched to host the first wedding proposal at The Boat House and delighted she said Yes! I have passed on your kind comments to our house staff and chefs. Best wishes Andy and Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel A
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
Reviewed 7 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

I am hesitating whether to write this review as I am afraid that this property will become so popular that it will become difficult to find availability in the future!

We were there for Christmas the experience was beyond our expectations. The Boathouse is everything you see in the website and more, the location - amazing, the beautiful rooms and living spaces - spotless, the proximity to the beach - unique, the kindness and organization of the staff – excellent!!

At top it off, the amazing food cooked to accommodate everyone’s tastes is top notch!

For those of you planning a trip for a group of 10 people seeking a relax, stress free, amazing weather location, you should consider this property without a doubt!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2018
Hi Manuel, Thanks you so much for your review and taking the time to send us a lovely personal e mail. I have passed on your wonderful comments to The Boat House staff. It was a pleasure to host you as our first Christmas Guests and we would welcome you and your family back anytime. Best for 2018. Elaine, Andy and all The Boat House Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karim81Du...
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Magical villa for a dream holiday”
Reviewed 14 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

There's so many good things about this place that I don't know where to start. Let me first say that this was our 4th SriLankan holiday and we have rented many luxury villas in the past years for short stays, so we had high expectations as we've usually had good places. Well let me tell you that this place in particular blew all the rest out of the water and the other holidays we've had paled in comparison.
The location is excellent and only 3 hours away from the airport, the villa is exactly like in the pictures if not better, the amenities, cleanliness, comfort and overall feel of the place are on point.
What made the difference for us is the little details and the small thoughtful touches that the owner did to make us feel like superstars:
- A thoroughly well prepared document prior to check in outlining activities, in house massage, villa info and menu suggestions.
- little gestures of infinite thoughtfulness, like mosquito spray available in the cupboards, headache pills, bathrobes and slippers.
- the in-house massage service, getting massaged in the garden with a view of the sea, just wow!
The list goes on, but the other main reason why you should go there is the food that the chefs prepare, we were a group of 11 with some very fussy eaters and we were all blown away by the level of mastery of the local and international cuisine. 3 times a day the chef blew away our minds and taste buds with the most exquisite Lankan fare.
I would highly recommend this villa to anyone looking to book a dream holiday in this gorgeous country.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2017
Thank you Karim for your wonderful and detailed review. Wishing you all a happy New year and all the best for 2018. Elaine and The Boathouse Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartHan...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Villa on a beautiful beach”
Reviewed 30 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Stayed at The Boat House with my children and grand children, Great villa and staff, nothing was to much trouble, booking direct with Andrew and Elaine (the owners) was simple in its self, and the often asked question of would you go back, let me think for one minute! Hell yes!!!!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2017
It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. Hope to see you back again soon. Best wishes for 2018 from all The Boat House Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing