We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cannot recommend this highly enough”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Dikwella, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Travel769...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cannot recommend this highly enough”
Reviewed 14 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This is one of the most stunning Villas we have ever stayed in. Attention to detail is second to none and the perfect setting for a family holiday offering something for everyone. We were a big group with 8 boys ranging in age from 4 - 12 years of age who were entertained from the moment we arrived. They played cricket in the garden, swam in the stunning pool, up and down on the waterslide and even took part in the yoga. Whilst the boys were entertained the adults could relax by the pool.

We often got up early to the nearby beach Hiriketiya which was the perfect spot for the boys to learn to surf and in the evening (the parents!) sampled the most delicious watermelon Daiquiri's. An effortlessly cool vibe.

We went to Galle which is a must see. Wewurukannala Viharaya Temple, The fish markets with Chef Roshan, and a bird reserve. We could have seen more but to be honest we were so happy in our slice of paradise it was difficult to leave!

We couldn't have been looked after better by Roshan and his team. Nothing was too much trouble and the Sri Lankan cuisine is simply delicious!

Our room was beautiful, large and roomy with a very comfortable four poster bed. The terrace outside our room offered views onto the landscaped garden and out onto the beach. Sleeping at night in the warmth and listening to the noise of the crashing waves is one of the things I really won't forget.

There is so much to do and explore in Sri Lanka that we will definitely go back and stay in Meda Gedara.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2018
Many thanks for your kind and thorough review. I am so glad you were able to enjoy Meda Gedara so much and took advantage of all the house and location has to offer. We are really spoilt to be near so much to see and enjoy of this magical island. The only thing you did not mention is who won the cricket...Sri Lanka or Rest of the world?
Please do come back soon.
Best regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benedict...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 30 March 2018 for a stay in January 2018
3
people found this review helpful

Absolutely stunning villa, pure luxury, incredible food, intelligent yoga, beautiful pool and then straight onto a pretty much deserted beach. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the garden house and would definitely return and recommend. A deeply relaxing environment, we loved it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2018
Dear Benedict,
Thank you for writing your review. I am so glad to hear that the garden house is as enjoyable as staying in the main house. It does have those lovely views across the garden and out to sea and is wonderfully private.
It was a pleasure having you to stay....when can you come back?
Regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver W
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Unparallelled luxury in a world class location with an exceptional team of staff”
Reviewed 22 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had a few concerns about going to Sri Lanka, it's a long way and we have kids across a range of ages. I'm so pleased we made the effort because this villa is a slice of heaven. The villa is beautiful, the staff cannot do enough to please you, and any minor complaints from the young ones about a long flight were quickly forgotten the moment they went down the water slide (which is cleverly diverted to its own little swimming pool ..). You can see the ocean from the bedrooms, from the dining table and from the pool loungers, and wander through the garden gate straight onto the fine sand if the thought should take you. There is nobody on the beach for miles. This is truly a great adventure for all ages, the food is exceptional and varied, and if we could have stayed another week we would have done so. Five PROPER full stars for this gorgeous place, without hesitation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2018
Dear Oliver, thank you for your kind review. I am so glad that your visit to this magical island and the amazing Meda Gedara was such a hit with you and your children. Let us know if you wish to book the 'second week' for next year....hope so.
Best wishes
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
591rose
Milton-under-Wychwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LUXURY LUXURY 5 STAR WOW!”
Reviewed 21 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Amazing Location right on the beach with lovely walks.

Staff were super helpful. The Chef who is also the manager conjured up the most delicious menus in a totally relaxed way.

The rooms are fabulous, my children especially loved the triple bunks and the cinema room. The decor is super stylish, a mixture of old British antiques and a lovely light and airy atmosphere.

Pool and slide. FAB. Would definitely recommend this to families / you could easily have 2 or 3 happily here. Amazing place. Amazing holiday thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2018
Dear Rose
Thank you for your kind review and for the time to write it. I am so thrilled you enjoyed the house and were able to take advantage of so much of what it has to offer. Chef Roshan takes such delight in preparing feasts and you are right ... all with such ease. Please come back soon.....
Best wishes
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B
1 review
“Unparalleled Luxury - one of the most beautiful villas in the world!!”
Reviewed 26 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

It was amazing, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left (even though we didn't want to leave!) The team were all superb especially Roshan and Manju - they looked after us so well. The food was out of this world.

We fell completely in love with Sri Lanka, what a wonderful country! - everyone is so friendly...

Hats off to the owners - the Villa is outstanding, they have done an amazing job - the interiors are exquisite - every little detail thought about - and they clearly have a very tasteful eye for interior design! everything was just perfect.

I have been to some of the worlds best resorts, but this is right up there... its probably best described as a 'Private Villa Hotel' - all the luxuries of a 5 star resort (including water slide!) and the very attentive staff - in the privacy of your own beachfront villa. We had everything from Spa treatments to beach BBQ's and even our own private fireworks display - an unbelievable holiday - will definitely be returning!

We have created some memories that will live with us forever - Meda Gedara will always have a fond place in our hearts... the children smiled not stop all week - thankyou so much!

Simon & Family

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2018
Dear Simon
Thank you for your kind review.
Meda Gedara really is as you say...."outstanding"...and we are all so glad that you were able to enjoy such a fun holiday. Interesting you suggest it is a 'Private Villa Hotel' as one of the most discerning promoters of luxury hotels 'Mr and Mrs Smith' have recently launched it on their www. You might need to book early to come next year! Hope you can make it.
Best regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
23rosie
Warminster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pure blissful luxury”
Reviewed 7 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

From the moment we arrived with our whole family to the welcome of the smiling staff waiting in the drive armed with cool drinks and cool towels, we knew we were in for a fantastic holiday in this dream of a place. We visited one wildlife park and the old town of Galle and a tea plantation, but we really did not need to go out of the villa and its grounds. Set in a beautiful garden, the two swimming pools caused our five grandchildren (and everyone else too) endless fun, particularly the water slide. Roshan, the chef and manager, could not have been more attentive to our needs, as well as joining in with all our games and fun. A perfect place for a perfect family holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2018
Dear Rosie
It was lovely having you to stay at Meda Gedara and thank you so much for the time to write your review. It is most kind.
So glad everyone enjoyed the slide and the pools and that Roshan ensured you were looked after with natural SL hospitality.
Please come back soon.
Best wishes
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainCh...
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely recommended, top notch, unadulterated bliss”
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I am unsure how or which superlatives to shower on this Shangri La, nestled away from the road, there is little on the approach to belie what a delightful paradise awaits behind the gates of Villa Meda Gedara. The situation is breath-taking; staff bearing huge smiles, cold towels and drinks, welcomed us into this palatial villa. The beautiful terrace leading down to one of two or three pools, depending on how one looks at it. A spacious Yoga Shala sits with a commanding view of the Indian Ocean amongst the leafy foliage. It pretty much has it all, a stunning beach to walk on, especially when others are torturing themselves with Yoga sessions. Supremely attentive staff led by the head chef/manager Roshan, he can do anything, a bit like a wizard really. The cuisine was divine, the local curries and dishes were superb, again Roshan and his team bowled us over with his rich and delightful repertoire. There really was something for everyone and I fear my waist proves it.
The surrounding area is charming, tuk-tuk rides to beaches and towns, for trips further afield we enjoyed the “Golden Lounge”, a mini bus with palatial trim and blast freezer air conditioning just when it was needed. All very well but I think all I really wanted was to get back to the delights of Meda Gedara and those wonderful staff.
The bedrooms are luxurious with beds to loose your partner in, and sleep comes fast with the sound of the ocean in the background. Water slides at night into pools twinkling with lights is a must, I’ve never laughed so much in my life.
Absolutely recommended, top notch, unadulterated bliss.
Meda Gedara
Dickwalla
Sri Lanka – If there’s any justice in this world I’ll be back…

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2017
Dear Captain Chasby
Thank you for this review, the time it has taken you to write it, and for your kind words. We are so pleased that you were able to enjoy all aspects of the villa and the local area. Whilst leaving the comfort, style and service at the villa is difficult, there is lots within day-trip access to see and do and I'm really glad you were able to experience some of it.
So happy also that our Chef Roshan continues to delight....even as I write this he is seeking to perfect new dishes and so the next time you come, as for certain there is justice in the world, he will have a completely new menu to tickle your tastebuds.
Thank you again for your kind review.
Regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing