We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“You cannot beat the location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dikwella, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
LoveLifeL...
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You cannot beat the location”
Reviewed 21 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We rented both Cove House and Little Cove for nearly three weeks over Christmas/ New Year. As a very well travelled family of 5 and a couple, we had a lovely vacation here. The house is in great condition. The New York owner has an eye for detail and design. The interiors are sourced from all over the island - beautiful antiques, quirky accessories and very well maintained furniture. Everything is tasteful and of a high quality. The beds are big and comfortable with pristine linens, there are fresh flowers everywhere. The staff are delightful and try their very best to make your stay comfortable. Everything is done with a smile and a can do attitude. The cook is very good, especially with local dishes, grilled fish and chicken. Having said all that, what really sets this house apart is the location on one the the best beaches we have ever seen. Safe swimming, good surfing for beginners and more advanced and very few people. We only ever left the bay twice and will certainly be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eamondo77
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Perfect for everyone”
Reviewed 4 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My family and my sister's family stayed at Cove Beach House for a week in October 2015. We stayed in the "small house" and my sister's family stayed in the "big house". Both are amazing properties in thier own right and ideally suited to this kind of break. Both families could hang out as and when we wanted to without tripping over each other. Roman, the general manager, and his team did a brilliant job looking after us, suggesting menus, getting fresh food everyday and then preparing and cooking the most amazing meals. Roman made us all feel very welcome and comfortable, and had great ideas of things to do around the area, facilitating trips for us when we wanted, eg to the Handunugoda Tea Factory near Galle. The beach house has amazing views of the beach, which is a great surf spot. If you want you can wander down to the beach and grab a beer at the beach bar. We had a great time and have booked it again for next year. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent views, excellent food, great location on beach and superb personal service.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wcnycnz
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“It just keeps getting better & better!!!”
Reviewed 20 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I had visited Cove house 3 years ago & was floored with the service & experience -my adventure this time around was even better! The owner added a beautiful new addition (Cove Villa), both houses were outfitted with attractive antique Sri Lankan wood work and the gardens on the property are extraordinary, adding to the lush jungle feel of the property. The view is still the best view imaginable and I was happy to discover that there is a lovely surf school now on the beach... My friends and I couldn't have asked for a more enjoyable time and I look forward to my next visit, a year or two down the road, to see how even more amazing the place has become.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gardens, View, Food, Tranquility
Liked least: That I had to go back home!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin O
New York City, New York
1 review
“Just Beautiful. Terrific service and the food was the best.”
Reviewed 19 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We have a wonderful time at Cove House. The staff couldn't have been more caring and attentive. The Food was just amazing, a great mix of local dishes and western dishes to mix it up.
The beds and sheets were just perfect, All in all just a very well run house. The views of and proximity to the beach just cant be beat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Liked best: Just everything, Can't wait to go back
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhanushka...
Matara, Sri Lanka
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The best beach experience you can taste in south”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I have been most of places from Galle to Hambantota in the Costal area of Sri Lanka. So i can confirm that this place has the most calm and the most beautiful place in down south. What ever you want from the beach, you can grab it here.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
2 reviews
“Miss ”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My favourite place in the whole world, with the most beautiful view you will ever see. I have been to Cove house 3 times! It's a gorgeous villa, beautifully decorated and so comfortable and private. The cove house staff are so lovely and accommodating they make it feel like a home away from home - they are always there to help you with everything you need but also give you space and privacy. And the home cooked food is absolutely incredible. Special shout out to Roman the house manager who looks after the guests so well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary C
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beyond Perfect - Lost for superlatives”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This place makes me want to revise my rating on everywhere else I've ever rated as I've previously given ratings of 5 for places not worthy of comparison! The beach has everything - surf in parts, protected in parts, jungle vistas on either side, fantastic staff and some of the best food we ate in Sri Lanka. Unfortunately we only had Roman looking after us for the first two days of our visit as he left for his own holiday but he was absolutely terrific. He went above and beyond what was expected in helping us to sort out some problems we'd had with a lost credit card. He was very patient and a great communicator in helping us to sort out our meal plans. As a family we rarely consider returning to the same place twice (the world is a big place!) but, if we get the opportunity we'd go back in a heartbeat. Absolute paradise!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing