We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unique Stay with Excellent Service”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Night view of tree house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Night view of tree house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tree house -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dikwella, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Ricowilf
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Unique Stay with Excellent Service”
Reviewed 9 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We initially booked for 1 night but stayed for 2 and could have carried on here had we the time although it was a little over our budget but we negotiated direct making it cheaper than through the booking sites. They have 3 treehouses on this section but are building more on land a few houses over. Each has its own balcony facing the ocean and due to the sloping section the back ones look above those in front. As a unique feature each house has at least one tree growing through the floor and out the ceiling. And there’s a little restaurant at the very front that looks directly onto the sea. This is where breakfast is served on a tiny balcony that only has 3 tables. They also serve dinner when guest require it.

Breakfast was included in the rate and was great. It changed both days we stayed and included fried eggs, rotti/savoury pancakes and a couple of curries along with tea/coffee (feel free to ask for more as they are happy to make it). We aso ate dinner one night and had the small balcony to ourselves as we were the only diners. Hearing the waves crash against the rocks in the dark and watching fireflies dance through the air is pretty special as we tucked into our rice and curry. Dinner here was very good but I didn’t think exceptional as others have quoted although you may need to try the seafood dishes to experience the full extent of the chefs culinary delights.

The rooms are what you would expect from a tree house. They are a decent size and clean with small balconies to take in the view although the original house at the back is larger with 2 doubles and a balcony that can accommodate a table with 4 chairs. They have got a lot of things right here by supplying the incidentals that people generally don’t bring travelling such as a large umbrella, a torch, which is needed if walking back from Hiritekiya beach at night, a Wifi router in the room we initially stayed in (although it didn’t work when we were there), a small fridge to keep drinks cold, free water, a storage unit so that you could unpack easily, a broom, a squeezy thing to mop away the excess water in the bathroom and a power bank with international sockets. These are the things that make travelling easy and your stay convenient.

Not that everything was in order. The wifi didn’t work while we stayed, which was frustrating and other reviews quote a similar experience although the manager blamed this on the network provider but I think that may just be a cop out. It rained one evening and the treehouses are not entirely watertight so there was a couple of small leakage points (mainly around the trees that grow through the rooms) although nothing to worry about. And the shower which is not heated had very little water pressure. Surprisingly we didn’t encounter any mosquitos inside the huts which might be due to the height that they are placed off the ground.
Although there was a path to the sea it was far too rough to swim so a 5-10min walk is required in either direction to reach the popular Hiriketiya or less known and deserted Dikwella beach.

The outstanding feature here though is the service. Sambad and the chef were both friendly, informative and always willing to assist. They aren’t there during the night time but that wasn’t an issue for us. All up a unique stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lola M
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful tree houses on the ocean”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I went to Sea View Tree House for lunch and was treated to an amazing seafood fried rice with freshly caught shrimp, crab, tuna and other fish. The staff was lovely and I got to tour the incredible tree houses. I will stay here next time I go to Dikwella!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m0601499
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Secluded beach stay”
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed here for our last night in Sri Lanka and wished we could have stayed longer! There's nothing greater than waking up to the sound of the ocean. The tree houses come complete with bathroom facilities (amazing!). It's located in a secluded area in walking distance from Hiriketiya beach which has great surf. Samitha was a very attentive host who made us feel very welcome and communicated well. It's a relatively new place so they're in the process of building a small restaurant but this didn't disturb us. They also offer Ayurveda services. To top if off we had a brilliant lobster dinner. We would definitely stay here again in future!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steph G
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Exciting, beautiful, comfy treehouse!”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A childhood dream come true! The treehouse was so much fun and had great ocean views. The room was cool overnight, and had a really nice balcony to sit on. The owner, Samitha, was extremely kind and helpful. And the food - wow! The chef Tenzing prepared the most amazingly Sri Lankan dishes we've had. The beach is only a few minutes walk and is the best beach we've seen on the south coast. We actually wished we stayed longer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse B
1 review
“Our highlight in Sri Lanka!”
Reviewed 21 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We completely loved our stay there, initially we intended to stay two nights and extended to four nights. The enthusiasm and passion of Samitha,the owner who made a childhood dream come true by building the treehouse after quitting his well paid "normal" job, Sampath, worlds beat Aryuvedic therapist, and Denzel, Sri Lankas most passionate cook, made the stay unique. They took really good care of us and our needs and didn't hesitate put all efforts into realizing our plans. The people were so kind and considerate, the food so fresh and healthy and of course the treehouses view as spectacular as promised, everything so very clean and you can see the love they put into that place in every detail. I could ho on and on and I would finally run out of kind words for what we experienced there so to cut short:
Highly recommended in every aspect!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie J
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 23 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We rented a 'normal' room next to the tree houses and had a wonderful night. The view is amazing, sleeping with the ocean sound... It is located near hiriketya beach. The host is very nice and welcoming. Our only regret was leaving the place !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D616OSala...
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best views amongst the trees”
Reviewed 9 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Sami is an awesome owner and he loves the All Blacks (he was proudly wearing his AB shirt one morning) so that is a bonus!This is basic accommodation but has everything one requires and as others have pointed out he is passionate about his self build. The family room sleeps four and can be a little 'rocky' when one person walks around. Satisfactory breakfast with hoppers but we would have preferred some dahl to go with it, but hey, some chutney sufficed. Good camping coffee. You are a gem Sami and good luck with your project, so much more in keeping with the environment that the concrete slabs going up all around this gorgeous area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: semi's enthusiasm
Liked least: barking dogs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing