We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricy and no swimming”
Review of Amanda Beach Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amanda Beach Villa
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The hotel itself was ok, the rooms/bath spacy and nice.
The breakfast was good but instant coffee and teabags in stead of the real stuff is an insult to the excellent Sri Lankan products you may find in other places.
The hotel is far away from everything (restaurants, town etc.) and the sea is not swimmable - the beach in front of the hotel was'nt clean. They really should get a swimming pool.
In comparison to other hotels in Unawatuna area that are better located and with the right facilities – e.g. a beach where it is not dangerous to swim, the price is much too high. We paid 160 USD for a double room and e.g. 5 USD for a local beer which is 3 times more than the average price for a local beer - Simply too pricy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

Marvelous Location, Right on the Beach. Excellent Service by the friendly staff. tasteful architecture. Definitely visit again. We Selected Sri Lanka for our honeymoon and this place was really a paradise for us. This was a great find thanks to Staff treated very well.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinA956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed at Amanda beach villas for 4 nights over new year. It is a very quiet hotel, most of the time, and the rooms has fantastic views of the ocean. The staff is very attentive and friendly but butler service as they sometimes claims to have is nowhere to be seen.
A few things to note;
- The inhouse restaurant is seriously overpriced, all prices in USD, and there is no place to eat “right next door”. In the evening you will have to take a Tuktuk to Unawatuna or Wijaya to eat.
- You can’t swim in the ocean by the hotel due to big waves and strong currents, again you have to go to Unawatuna or Wijaya to swim. The swimmingpool is at a sisterhotel across the street from Amanda and doesn’t look nice at all, no oceanview!
- Guest from the sister hotel across the street also have their breakfast at Amanda. Which means that even though the hotel only has 8 rooms there can be more people there.
Baring this in mind I would recommend a stay at Amanda if you are looking for a quiet time with walks on the beach(without swimming) and if you’re not afraid of having to go out for dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pontus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We stayed in a Cat 2 room for 1 week and thoroughy enjoyed it. Booking was made via the website, and full payment was made in advance. We also arranged for a pick up from Mount Lavinia. All emails were answered promptly, and the driver picked us up on time.
The Amanda Beach Villa is actually in Dalawella, about 5 mins in a tuk-tuk to Unawatuna, or a hair-raising 15 min walk along the main road as buses thunder past. Cost of a tuk-tuk varied between 100-200 rupees, with drivers asking for more when it was late at night, although we didn't pay more. Note that the villa gates and doors were closed after 10pm, but easily opened, and there was a security guard there on a night. There isn't anything much in the immediate vicinity, some other villas and hotels, and it's a good 5 min walk along the main road to the nearest shop for supplies. We found ourselves going into Unawatuna for lunch and dinner every day.
The villa consists of 4 rooms all upstairs, two Cat 1 rooms with their own balconies, and two cheaper Cat 2 rooms with one small shared balcony between them. On the ground level was a small restaurant, reception, and the kitchen where breakfast was prepared.
The Cat 2 room was fairly compact, containing a small 2-seater couch, TV, DVD player, small four-poster double bed, mini-bar, and wardrobe with plenty of hangers. A complimentary basket of fruit was provided, and there was a universal power adapter in the bathroom, along with a hairdryer. There was no safe, but a safety deposit box was available at the Sunshine Inn just over the road. The room was cleaned daily. The most notable feature about the room was the large picture window which overlooked the beach and sea just a few metres away, providing a stunning view. On the downside, this also had the effect of turning the room into a greenhouse, but the air-conditioning soon sorted that out. Also on the downside, the Cat 2 room shared a small balcony with the other room, which contained 2 chairs. Fortunately for us, none of the guests using the other room chose to use the balcony when we were there.
On the small patch of garden next to the beach were 7 sunbeds, some in a state of minor disrepair. Sunbed towels were provided. The beach outside the villas was really quiet, you felt like you had it to yourself, which was in contrast to the crowded beach down in Unawatuna. Early evening you can watch the turtles bobbing around in the surf.
Breakfast was huge, consisting of about 8 slices of toast, a large plate of fruit each, bacon, eggs, sausage, baked beans, juice, and tea or coffee.
The boys who look after you in the villa are excellent, very friendly and helpful.
In hindsight, I'd have preferred to stay in the more expensive Cat 1 rooms - I had a look in one and it was very large, with a nice private balcony. But I guess it depends if you're going to spend all your time here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happynoodleboy_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

This was a great find. It is nicely located near Unawatuna beach which is probably one of the nicest beaches on the coast. You can walk the main restaurants or get a tuk tuk. The roads are not lit so I would advise not to walk on the main road at night...the sri lankan drivers are a little all over the place!

The staff at the hotel were very helpful and attentive. Always there when we needed anything.

The decor of the villa was elegant and tasteful. For the price we paid I would expect the linen to be better. However the four poster bed, and view of the sea from our room made up for it.

The breakfast was good, they served a tasty cooked breakfast and a delicious plate of fruit too. The hotel do offer food and drink , but it is very expensive compared to what other hotels in the area offer. I would recommend going to the beach stretch for a bite.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birdi_tweettweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

we look around for find better, but every time we come back and only love it more. elegant, comfy beds, great showers, peaceful, amazing beach, wonderful people.. clean, great tea in a big pot! Breakfast was great, i left them a little note of what we wanted and then they made it when we got up which was way past 11. You can walk in to town, about 15 minutes 5 minutes by the busy road which is not great but then the rest along the beach, or grab one of the many tuk tucks for 100 rps. (80cents us). Just 4 rooms, we have stayed in both the smaller with a shared balcony and the larger with private balcony and both were great, of course the larger would be the first choice. See the turtles in the water right in front. Just bliss what can i say. We are four seasons, westin, taj type people and this place is right up our alley. If you like planned tours for the masses then not your place. they now have wifi for free all over.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fionawest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

The location is great and has access to a wonderfully empty stretch of beach which is wonderful when you compare it to the crowds at Unawatuna Beach. The rooms were large and clean, and had great views of the sea. The staff were very helpful and friendly in the beginning and made our stay very pleasant.

A couple of tips as there are some points that aren't self evident from their website:

The villa is actually an extension of the hotel (Sun Shine Inn) across the road at the rear. This means that you will expect to be sharing the breakfast tables in the morning and the sun loungers out front with others during the day. Not a big deal, but I had the impression it was a private villa when I booked it.

The hotel does have a pool, but not really suitable for kids if unsupervised as the road separating the villa & hotel is the main road, replete with the usual crazy Sri Lankan traffic so needs attention when crossing over!

Also, the food in the evening is brought from the Sun Shine Inn and on more than one occasion it took forever. Each time when I went to find out where it was, I found our cooked food sitting unattended in the small villa kitchen, as the waiters from the hotel had simply dropped the food off and disappeared. They were also very slow at clearing up used and dirty plates in the kitchen, and on a regular basis one could see piles of dirty plates and crockery piled everywhere with flies on top and nobody bothering to clear up. Hygiene-wise this was a failure and is simply a matter of proper training & discipline for the staff.

The menu for food in the evening is also in USD, and they add a further 27% in service charges and tax to the bill which makes it quite expensive. One simple dinner with 6 adults and two small children and a few beers came to USD 190 which is very high for Sri Lanka. As a result we tried not to eat at the villa in the evenings. The breakfast, on the other hand, was absolutely superb and the fruit platter was divine.

So in a nutshell, this is a lovely place, the rooms are well maintained and it's a delightful location. I think the management should focus a little more on training the staff to be more efficient and have a think about the prices too. We were a little let down at the end when we were charged USD 8 for four small bottles of mineral water after we had checked out and paid the bill. Rather strange when we had spent over $1,000 for the previous four nights.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amcalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.0 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
922 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apa Villa Thalpe
Apa Villa Thalpe
#17 of 33 in Unawatuna
283 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#7 of 33 in Unawatuna
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
822 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beach Castle Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Shanthi Beach Resort
Shanthi Beach Resort
#13 of 137 in Unawatuna
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanda Beach Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanda Beach Villa

Address: Dalawella, Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Unawatuna
Price Range: £66 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amanda Beach Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Amanda Beach Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanda Beach Villa Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing