We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful family hotel.”
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We stayed at UBB hotel since 18 april, and we found everything perfect ,The service, the room, cleanliness and wonderful food.

The owner(Niel) was very gentle, helpful and friendly. We had realy nice days at UBB hotel and hardly recomended this hotel for families and everyone.

Regards from
Gina.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mali-277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    55
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
36
69
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Very bad surprise at the end of the trip when we paid the room.

We gave the money to the owner (who was drunk), he counted in front of us and it was fine. He went to kitchen few minutes and he came back saying that we did not give enough.... he was telling a lie !!

And he started to be very agressive and we felt scared ... so we paid 30 dollars more ... but we were honest and he was a stealer ...... VERY BAD EXPERIENCE
Don t go to this place !!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank gemko305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil006, General Manager at Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2011
Dear Sir,
I am very sorry, this have never happen before. I apologize for what have been happen. I'm not a stealer. Off cause it is me who have done the wrong thing here. When you did the counting for the bill in the restaurant I was a little bit confused. At that time I also should been counting. Unfortunately I took the amount and counting when I came to my kitchen. What I find out when I count, was that it was Rupees 3000 less than the bill. Anyway it was my fold not to count there and then in the restaurant. Again I'm very sorry and feel very uncomfortable when our guest leave us in leaving us with this opinion. Hope you can come back at a later date and that we can do it good for you again!

Sarath
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

For me it was the fouth time I stayed at Unawatuna beach bungalows.It is gas allways been a good place to stay. This year they made a start to put AC in more rooms.

Sarath (the owner) is very friendly and helpful. You will also find his family around.

When you want to make some trips, Sarath can help you with it or his brother Lal will show you the nice spots in the environment.
Rooms are cleaned every day. In the morning you get a good breakfast. Sarath cook very good meals.

It is realy just a few meters to go to the beach. When you go to sleep it is so good to hear the sea at the background.

Rita (Netherlands)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rita_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgos, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2010

The best hotel of its range in the best part of the beach,without any doubt.
We arrived in Unawatuna, and we saw other hotel recommended in the Blue Guide in the same street but, owing to its lack of cleanliness, we decided to come to this hotel because of its cleanliness and nice looking. Sheets were very clean and ironed, nice room, and the staff was very nice. And everything at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rilanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

I am in Unawatuna, and I have the room at the top for a couple of days. I hear the ocean rolling in when I wake up, and it's fantastic. Comfortable bed. The mosquito net is a spacey one that doesnt stick to you, and there are a couple of more convenient details. But the best one is the location and the windows to the coast.
The owner's really nice. If you want to make a reservation, use his website: http://unawatuna-beachbungalow.com or contact him at unawatunabeachbungalow@yahoo.com

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janaljubl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

This guest house is a friendly, family run guest house in a central location metres form the beach in Unawatuna. The staff are all welcoming and will do anything to help. Rooms are simple but tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean- they have offered to clean them daily if desired. Matresses are comfortable and the bouncy pillows divine! They are able to arrange tuk tuk's, taxi's and tour's which are in line with prices charged at other places. The breakfasts are cooked fresh to your requirements and are of a good standard. Internet access is free.

We have travelled extensively around Sri Lanka staying in a variety of budget - mid-range accommodation and have returned here for our final few days.

For the price (2000R per double room including tax and breakfast, as we stayed for an extended period of time out of season), this accommodation far exceeds anywhere else we have looked at or stayed at (including in Unawatuna).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank icklenic82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

We decided to stay in Unwatauna for the night instead of Galle - and it was a great decision. The beach at Unawatuna is amazing and there are some great restaurants along the beach at night for great dinners. It pays to shop around because we called up various guest houses in our guide book all of which received very similar reviews - but some of them were asking for obscene amounts of money whilst this place asked for a very reasonable price (including breakfast, no extras). I get the feeling that some Sri Lankans are under the impression that we foreigners are made of money - which is definitely not true in my case!

When we arrived, the place was deserted. No one guest, not one person, front door wide open. I ran around the place shouting AYUBOWAN?! HELLO?!? And we sat there for nearly twenty minutes wondering if we should give up and move on to somewhere else before an old lady walking down the road popped her head in and came to our rescue. She told us to wait whilst she tracked down the owner of the place. Thank goodness for her otherwise I think we would've gone elsewhere.

The room was decent with mosquito nets and good A/C - the bathroom was very basic but well, what do you expect. The furniture in the room was rather old and falling apart (the dresser had a pane of glass which was broken and had a sharp jagged edge, dangerous!) The door was also looking quite old and frail and here's the scary part. I had forgotten something in my room and tried to open the door in a hurry without unlocking it first - and guess what? The door actually opened because the lock is just so old and knackered, it made no difference whether you locked it or not. Dear me.

Fortunately, we were the only guests there at the time - so I didn't worry too much and as we were only there for one night, I didn't kick up a fuss.

The beach is 2 - 3 minutes walk away, it's not directly on the beach but the short walk is easy and means that it is slightly cheaper than hotels which are literally on the beach at the high tide mark.

The breakfast is very bland and boring - the portions of the fruit were stingy as well and if you do want a Sri Lankan breakfast, remember to request it in advance or else they will simply assume that as a foreigner you actually like plain white toast with butter for breakfast. Duh.

A decent option for the price - but double check that the lock on your door works when you are shown your room and ask for a Sri Lankan breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GymnastAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
882 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Heaven By O
Heaven By O
#13 of 31 in Unawatuna
26 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel

Property: Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
Address: Parangiyawatta, Peellagoda | Colombo and South West Coast, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Unawatuna
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unawatuna Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing