We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended affordable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2013

This quaint accommodation definitely boasts with what other hotels lack. The friendly staff, good clean rooms, the wonderful hospitality is all included in its highly reasonable price. Presently staying at the Unawatuna beach Bungalow with my family, I am amazed at the friendly and helpful manner of all the staff. The owner, Mr Sarath is amazingly hospitable and accommodating, making sure that all your requests are fulfilled to perfection. Food is of a high quality and very tasty.
The location of the hotel is perfectly suited for a relaxing beach holiday, with the beach a very short (2 minutes or less) walk away. Bathing-beds and beachfront restaurants are aplenty and you have an abundance of choices.
A highly recommended place to stay when in Unawatuna, Sri Lanka!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fuad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

Set back slightly from the beach, these rooms are simple and fairly cheap. The staff are incredibly friendly and we felt very safe here. The restaurant food was also good. I would definitely recommend staying slightly back from the beach for a quieter experience!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kitfaulk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The owner Sarath and his staff were incredibly hospitable and friendly. They made our stay really enjoyable. the rooms were comfortable and clean and the food was good. prices for food were on a par with the other places on the beach. The beach was only a couple of minutes walk from the Hotel and rooms we were in had sea views. All in all a great places to stay. i would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geeves S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Stayed here for 4 days. Really nice place. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated really close from a beach. It is a cozy place with nice rooms, conditioners and hot water. Beds are also comfy and big. Every room has a balcony where you can just relax at the end of the day.
We really enjoyed staying at this hotel and were a bit sad when leaving it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iryna_2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

The Unawatuna Beach Bungalow is a very cozy place to stay if you are going to Unawatuna and don't want to pay top end prices. The rooms are simple but clean and the staff are friendly and accommodating. Access to the beach is pretty easy and there are tuk tuk drivers located close by if you want to go into town or to one of the other attractions. The hotel was far enough away from the party scene so as not to be disturbed too much by the music but you could definitely hear it if you are a lite sleeper. There were a whole whack of mosquitoes in our room but there was a mosquito net which we sprayed with some citronella and they didn't pose any problems.
The hot water was a bit shaky in the mornings and the internet was pretty slow if you need to do something other than send some emails.
We only had one meal here which was large in portion but a bit short on pizzazz for the taste. Breakfasts were pretty simple with just some toast, eggs, fruit and coffee or tea but it was tasty anyway.
Overall I think the value for the money was great and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

This is wonderful place for stay and make your holiday unbelievable, hotel staff its very friendly and helpful. Room is white and conformable. Not have a mosquito too much. And every day breakfast is with tropical fruits. You need to come and look one good place in unawatuna. All times personal helped for all information necessary for you and do not charge nothing for this. And another places have excursions but is expensive in this place have a fix rates for all excursions.I am very happy for my choice. Have a great holiday in this place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petko P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

As others have pointed out, Sarath single-handedly lifts the Beach Bungalow above its peers in this price range. The guesthouse itself is fine -- just off the beach towards the southern end of Unawatuna and far enough away from the throbbing beats for a good night's sleep. It's clean, simple and good value. The bloke running it is the highlight. He's helpful, efficient and honest.
We paid for air-con but found it wasn't switched on. Didn't need it anyway and promptly forgot about it. Sarath reminded us in the morning and was very apologetic as he refunded the difference. After a long flight to a foreign land it's nice to deal with someone like this first off the bat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angry0ldMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
909 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 32 in Unawatuna
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
820 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#3 of 32 in Unawatuna
695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peacock Hotel
Peacock Hotel
#21 of 32 in Unawatuna
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel

Address: Parangiyawatta, Peellagoda | Colombo and South West Coast, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: £30 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unawatuna Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing