We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place to relax after a roundtrip in Sri Lanka” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Hundested
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect place to relax after a roundtrip in Sri Lanka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

The Hotel is situated in second row from the beach with less than 50 meters to the waterfront, the family running it are the gentlest people I've met in a long time, and you have the opportunity to be private, when you want that, and to beat the most beautifull beach with lovely water in less than 2 minutes, when that's what you want. Plus: on your doorstep you have a variety of restaurants to choose among, when you go out to dine. Thank you. Ayubowan.
Love Niels Winther

Room Tip: Ask for balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NielsWinther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    52
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
35
66
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuopio, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed one week in Beach Bunglow in Unawatuna in the end of January 2013, just a few steps from the beach but still with sea view. Mr Sarath was a very friendly host and his staff treated us very nicely - they were always smiling and helpful. The room was clean and mr Sarath also made some "arrangements" so that we could stay in the hotel, even if one of the nights during our stay was fully booked.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PirkkO49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

This quaint accommodation definitely boasts with what other hotels lack. The friendly staff, good clean rooms, the wonderful hospitality is all included in its highly reasonable price. Presently staying at the Unawatuna beach Bungalow with my family, I am amazed at the friendly and helpful manner of all the staff. The owner, Mr Sarath is amazingly hospitable and accommodating, making sure that all your requests are fulfilled to perfection. Food is of a high quality and very tasty.
The location of the hotel is perfectly suited for a relaxing beach holiday, with the beach a very short (2 minutes or less) walk away. Bathing-beds and beachfront restaurants are aplenty and you have an abundance of choices.
A highly recommended place to stay when in Unawatuna, Sri Lanka!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fuad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Set back slightly from the beach, these rooms are simple and fairly cheap. The staff are incredibly friendly and we felt very safe here. The restaurant food was also good. I would definitely recommend staying slightly back from the beach for a quieter experience!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kitfaulk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

The owner Sarath and his staff were incredibly hospitable and friendly. They made our stay really enjoyable. the rooms were comfortable and clean and the food was good. prices for food were on a par with the other places on the beach. The beach was only a couple of minutes walk from the Hotel and rooms we were in had sea views. All in all a great places to stay. i would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geeves S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

Stayed here for 4 days. Really nice place. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated really close from a beach. It is a cozy place with nice rooms, conditioners and hot water. Beds are also comfy and big. Every room has a balcony where you can just relax at the end of the day.
We really enjoyed staying at this hotel and were a bit sad when leaving it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iryna_2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

The Unawatuna Beach Bungalow is a very cozy place to stay if you are going to Unawatuna and don't want to pay top end prices. The rooms are simple but clean and the staff are friendly and accommodating. Access to the beach is pretty easy and there are tuk tuk drivers located close by if you want to go into town or to one of the other attractions. The hotel was far enough away from the party scene so as not to be disturbed too much by the music but you could definitely hear it if you are a lite sleeper. There were a whole whack of mosquitoes in our room but there was a mosquito net which we sprayed with some citronella and they didn't pose any problems.
The hot water was a bit shaky in the mornings and the internet was pretty slow if you need to do something other than send some emails.
We only had one meal here which was large in portion but a bit short on pizzazz for the taste. Breakfasts were pretty simple with just some toast, eggs, fruit and coffee or tea but it was tasty anyway.
Overall I think the value for the money was great and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#9 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peacock Hotel
Peacock Hotel
#22 of 29 in Unawatuna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#15 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel

Property: Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
Address: Parangiyawatta, Peellagoda | Colombo and South West Coast, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unawatuna Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing