We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Cleanest place we stayed, great location and great value. Lovely breakfast and man who cleans and makes the breakfasts does excellent job. A little bit of noise from building in hotel beside but that's not the beach bungalows fault. Lovely view and very comfortable room. Very impressed with the breakfast and cleanliness. Great location too for price.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Explorer20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great spot, close to everything in Gaulle. Very cozy and right at the beach! Good buffet breakfast/lunch/dinner, friendly staff always tried to be helpful. There is foot rub massage place and rent-a-scooter place attached to UBR. We rented scooters and went all around the city centre, Mrissa beach and other places.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mehrin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Sabbath and his team of staff look after you really well in this clean close to the beach hotel. Beach is 1 minute away. Top floor rooms have fantastic view of the beach. Unawatuna is spitting distance from galle which really is a lovely place to look around. Lots of great massage. Ask the boys todo you a Sri Lankan breakfast with string hoppers, dhal and coconut sanbal!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank DandMtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil006, Owner at Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for your kind words and it was a pleasure to have you at UBB. We will welcome you with open arms when ever you return.
Kind Regards
Sarath and Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Overall pleasant experience at this place. Food was amazing.the beach is nice, but a short walk. Service at the property was very decent. Something for them to improve is the bathroom and toiletries which they provide.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SandeepBalaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I spent Christmas and New Year in Unawatuna Beach Bunglow Hotel with my family. And it was lovely! The hotel is clean and quiet, you can hear the Waves to my delight and it`s a minute away from the Beach. Breakfast is delicious With good toast, egg of Your choice always freshly made, and well made! And of course fresh fruit! The beds are comfortable, there are Chairs With seawiew :) and a practical hanger for towels and clothes outside every room. My niece and her friend hardly left the room due to comfy beds and aircon! All the members off staff are friendley and smiling! The hotel is run by Sarath, a very friendly, proffesional chef, his Food is delicious! And of course his lovely family that we were Lucky to chat With, in Norwegian also! This is probably the best hotel deal in Unawatuna! Sarath also helped us plan and arrange a wonderful trip into the Mountains. Sarath booked a clever driver for us, a very pleasant Young man, Arendra. We were so Lucky to be invited to his home and had a lovely meal and evening With his family.
We had a fantastic time at Unawatuna Beach Bunglow and hope to Return one day!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gunhild0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Returned to the flower garden after 4 years. This time we stayed in one of the rooms on the top floor over the restaurant rather than a cabana. There has been some additional cabanas built since 2009 and far more guests. However the high standards have been more than maintained. Prices are reasonable for Unawatuna and the location at the quiet end of the village is still not far to the Eastern end of the beach And the pool is great.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HertsOldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We have been in this hotel for 18 nights from 15 December-2 January 2014, it is a very nice and cozy hotel with comfortable clean rooms, which are equipped with AC and have a great view at the ocean. The beach is behind, breakfast is also very good (eggs,tea, fruits and toasts). The chief of the hotel - Sarath with his family are very kind and nice people, they can help to resolve any problem. I would rather recommend this hotel either to family with kids, either to people who wand to get a good rest.

Room Tip: higher floors with good view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tatsiana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
945 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#12 of 33 in Unawatuna
826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Unawatuna
484 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel

Address: Parangiyawatta, Peellagoda | Colombo and South West Coast, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Unawatuna
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: £39 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unawatuna Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing