We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible and Inconsiderate Staff!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Point De Galle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Unawatuna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Point De Galle
Ranked #77 of 144 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible and Inconsiderate Staff!!!”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Went to Point De Galle on the 26th March 2012, and had a terrible experience. Whilst the hotel and the location was perfect, with beautiful views of the Beach and surrounding area the Manager and Cleaning lady were very inhospitable, rude and ACCUSATORY! We were accused of damaging a fan which we didn't know anything about. The fan was hitting against the mosquito net on our arrival and we took the net down in order to prevent any further noise. On checking out, the manager took us to the room and asked us why we took the net down and accused us of the damaged fan which we HAD NO idea of. The tone and respect shown when we explained that we had no idea how the fan was out of shape was then furthered with more accusations that we actually bent the blade of the fan. ( mind u this is a ceiling fan which is out of our reach, and we have no interest in damaging fans). As a result we were very disappointed and mentioned that we wont be coming again. Furthermore on our checking in the manager asked us where we're we are from, and mentioned that he doesn't like foreign Eastern European tourists and they have had bad experiences. Is this how you welcome a local guest to such an establishment????

The food was average in that there was not much choice and the bathroom flush did not work, but the location was beautiful, right by the beach, and very quiet and peaceful. My suggestion to anyone travelling is to look for a better establishment as there are many down the same stretch of land as this hotel. A bitter taste to this experience, and a warning to all tourists considering. Be Careful, as this staff are quite rude and in my opinion an experience that can be spoilt if treated as such!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chandima p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointDeGalle, Owner at Point De Galle, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Every room is checked before an occupancy. On departure the room was once again checked by the staff. The cleaning lady reported the removal and damage to the net and the twisting of the fan blade. The guests returned to the room accompanied by the manager who witnessed the damage to the fan blade and the mosquito net.
No complaint regarding the malfunctioning of a fan, a damaged mosquito net or a request to remove a mosquito net was made by the guests during their stay.The management does not allow any staff to attend to any repair/maintenance in the rooms occupied unless in the presence of the occupying guests. Hence the management views the comments by the guests to be malicious towards the institution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    7
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We are a German Couple having our second home in Sri Lanka. Most of the birthdays of myself and my husband are celebrated at Point De Galle with the help of the honest and committed staff. We have many good memories there, which we share with our loved ones in Germany.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inge C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We have stayed at Point de Galle on many an occassion with our 2 young shildren. Always we have received excellent hospitality form the staff and management. This boutique beach resort is always clean and very well looked after and the staff are always keen to help you in any way they can. The rooms are beautifully set up with lovely antique furniture which make s it feel vey cosy. The beach is equisite and perfect and safe swimming and enjoyment for the whole family. We will always go back to Point de Galle to enjoy the fantastc service and enjoy the peaceful and beatiful settings.

Room Tip: Feel free to talk to the management about what sort of rooms you need to meet the needs of your fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Point de Galle - a small nice Sri Lanka family hotel with a beautiful garden, and perfect location right on the beach.
Now we have had our second long stay at the hotel and we can warmly recommend Point de Galle to people that prefers a nice, clean and quite place. The hotel lies on the beach and there is a natural "pool" in the sea outside the hotel greated by the coral reef.
We have enjoyed our stays very much and plan to visit the hotel again next year because of the location, the very kindly and helpfull staff and the good atmosphere.
What to expect:
Rooms: Almost all rooms are very spacious and all have a terrace or balcony. The rooms have toilet and shower and the beds are comfortable.

Food: very nice Sri Lankan food. it is also possible to order western food, but we did not try this.

Staff and service: Allways very helpfull and friendly. They helped us arranging tours and were very well informed about the area. They helped us with all our questions.

We will definately visit this hotel again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

While asleep we were burgled of our jewellery, money, and cell phone. Regrettably, there were no safety deposit boxes. Sadly, there was not much help or concern from owners. Location was perfect for those who like the beach and swimming, and staff were very obliging and helpful, but sadly some rooms (like ours) had not much security as the windows had no bars and was easily broken into.
Went for the galle Literary festival. As such we did not stay in the hotel much but left in the morning and came late at night.

Room Tip: Room was big but no a\c. Occasional noise of the train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The holiday was rudely interrupted by a theif which broke into the next room, and a visit by the Police the next morning. We were spared but this frightened the family. Value for money hotel in an excellent location though.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank F0nny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

On the first day of our rest during breakfast money were stolen by the staff (we were alone in the whole hotel). Tourists beware.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Stanislav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointDeGalle, Owner at Point De Galle, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
The particular guests occupied a room on the first floor. Having gone out on the particular day, they had returned past midnight. The loss reported the following morning, around 7 - 8 was Rs. 3000/-, out of a larger sum of money they had.
The management wishes to state that the guests have wrongfully accused the staff of stealing money when the guests are themselves unaware if the money was lost when they were out to dinner.
On being informed, the management took steps to make a police complaint which was investigated by the local police.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.2 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
800 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
#6 of 29 in Unawatuna
436 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dalawella Beach Resort
Dalawella Beach Resort
#70 of 144 in Unawatuna
73 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rockside Cabanas Hotel
Rockside Cabanas Hotel
#3 of 122 in Unawatuna
156 reviews
1.4 mi away
SAYURA Beach Hotel
SAYURA Beach Hotel
#9 of 144 in Unawatuna
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point De Galle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point De Galle

Property: Point De Galle
Address: Galle, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing