We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very warm welcombe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thaproban Beach House
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very warm welcombe”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed at the Thapraban for two nights.30thsept/1st oct.right from the start,all the staff were amazeing and made your stay very good.
Rooms are good,clean and everything you need for a break.
Good location
Their sister hotel.The Retreat.Is just as good and very relaxing if you prefer peace.Although only a short stroll to the beach.
Thankyou to you all for making our stay so welcomeing
I would recomend either of these hotels.Ian and Wendy

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 793Ian1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    256
    72
    24
    21
See reviews for
198
422
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2011

So clean, wonderful reception, dais daughter so helpful - David and Leanne

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Stayed two nights at Thaproban and enjoyed our time immensely.
Traveling with a large group of people who were scattered across accommodation options in Unawatuna, we were able to compare the price/quality of Thaproban and found that it came up pretty well.
The location of Thaproban is beach house is excellent, easily accessible to shops, the beach, bars and attractions, but without being in the middle of the partying which generally occurs around 200 metres to the east at a selection of beachfront bars. We were therefore able to go and have a drink and a party, then head back to the relative serenity of Thaproban. This was great because the partying at Unawatuna goes all night if you want it to - but Thaproban gives you the option of bowing out gracefully (or not so gracefully) at a reasonable hour.
We paid extra for the penthouse suite which had good direct ocean views and was well worth the extra money. Speaking to other guests, the cheaper rooms are smaller, but clean and comfortable. Our room was simple, but we found it more than adequate for our purposes.
Staff are friendly and helpful. Tuk tuks are available directly outside the hotel (always bargain the price down a bit). Breakfast was simple but fine, we didnt eat other meals at Thaproban so can't comment on the balance of the menu.
Be very careful when swimming on the beach. I am a strong swimmer and had no real trouble, but it is obvious the beach has strong currents. Drownings HAVE occurred in the past. This of course, has nothing to do with Thaproban.
Overall, very satisfied with our stay.

Room Tip: All rooms require use of stairs. Not very suitable for those with accessibility issues. Get a beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seanoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The most important was that we went there for a week as family after booking the family suite, and everyone has fulfilled his own little vacation agenda. As usual we felt, staff was very friendly through out our stay, and F&B was quite good in quality and quantity, with an excellent mix of the different cuisines. Activities in Unawatuna were diving, snorkelling and surfing boards can be rented from local dive centre as the hotel does not provide them. Spa at Thambapanni which was just five minutes walk was good as the masseur Ranjan touch was magic working in my body.
Rooms were okay, and Internet connection was fast enough to do my work while on the move, would like to return again some day.!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wasana4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed at the Thaprobana Beach House in Unawatuna in May 2011. We were a group of 11 people with 6 kids. We were on a cross country tour of Sri Lanka and I have to say that this beach property was not very impressive and ranked the last in our list. We were given rooms that were not facing anything (!) instead of sea-facing rooms that we had requested. The hotel offered to explain that the sea facing rooms were being renovated, but other than that, they couldn't care less. With too many kids around, we decided against moving to any other hotel in the middle of the night that we were checking in (We reached Unawatuna around mid-night after a very long and slow drive from Kandy). The rooms were quite cramped, had different size of TVs and different types of cots. And some were bigger than others. Each of our four rooms was different creating confusions. Only - none of them had a view. Our bathroom didn't have a lock! And the person who came to repair it soon gave up and went away.

In the morning, we went behind the hotel to have a spectacular view of the sea and sunrise. The waves were literally lapping up the hotel deck. Ten minutes from the beach house, we had several activities such as snorkeling, scuba diving, glass boat rides etc... which we all enjoyed. Breakfast back at the hotel was limited although filling. I did get free wifi after specifically requesting for the same.

The location is the only plus for the hotel as there are numerous hotels and eating joints nearby all offering the sea-side party atmosphere to the visitor wanting such ambience.

Room Tip: Get the sea-facing room(s) or get out
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WiseCrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Public Relations Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We have booked the rooms according to the rooms booked at Thaproban beach house by agent Red Dot Tours.

They booked two Standard rooms which have balcony with no sea view, standard satellite tv television, A/C, bathroom with hot and cold water and room is smaller in size compared to other room categories, room rate in May 2011 US $ 40 with breakfast, The other two rooms were Deluxe category which is the next upper category which has LCD satellite tv, mini bar, A/C, private balcony with partial sea view which is offered at US $ 53 during off season. There was no request to book the good room categories such as Superior and Penthouse suites which has direct sea view etc...

In May its monsoon time and the sea gets very rough and the sea this year was one of the worst monsoons times we have faced in many years. After the Tsunami the natural reef has been broken and the sea has moved more towards the land, however the government has promised to intervene and repaire the reef and pump sand to the beach in Unawatuna.

The beach house offers WiFi free of charge to all house guests which is informed. We do not charge for WiFi if the guest uses their own laptop.

We hope you can visit us again during a good season and book direct with the hotel so that we can arrange the rooms according to your requests such as sea view.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Over rated hotel - Should not be a 3 star.
No drinking water provided in rooms.
Openings in walls that allow street noise into room,disco & drunken partying till 4am.
Food very poor & expensive
Management not bothered when consulted

Room Tip: Do not get a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ria513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Public Relations Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Please refer the management response to the below review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We were very much looking forward to our stay in the Thraproban as we were promised a Deluxe room, and being situated near Galle we were excited to spend some time on the beach soaking up some Sri Lankan sun.

When we arrived we were greeted by the receptionists and given welcome drinks, then we were shown to our room by a member of staff. The room was not clean! There were foot print marks all over the floor, there was thick dust on top of the mini bar and bugs inside the mosquito net. We disregarded all of these setbacks and looked forward to exploring the town and going to the beach. There were three of us sharing the room, and at this point there was only a double bed in the room, and we were promised that by the time we got back there would be another bed ready for us. As we were leaving our room we noticed that the doors did not fit the frames properly, so there was a gap around the edge that let a lot of sound in.

Walking across the garden area towards the beach we noticed that the waves were actually hitting the side of the hotel garden. As we got closed we realized that the hotel’s ‘beach’ was only about 2 feet wide and there was obviously no seating area as there wasn’t enough space. We then headed to the main beach about 500m away where the locals were swimming, at first it seemed like a very nice beach, but as we looked closer we saw that the litter was atrocious, but we put it down to the fact there had been a festival the day before we got there, however the further we walked, the worse the litter got, and there was certainly more than a day’s worth of rubbish.

We arrived back at the hotel just in time to have a shower and freshen up before tea. However the shower had no water let alone hot water! It was then dinner time, so we headed down to the garden to eat. We were presented with a lovely yet quite expensive menu, and were dubious about ordering from said menu because we were half board guests, and everyone else was just bed and breakfast. My mother went to check with reception that we could order from this menu, being half board guests. The receptionist said ‘yes, you can order three courses of anything you like except the lobster,’ we were fine with this as we wouldn’t have eaten the lobster anyway. However my dad was still concerned that this didn’t sound right, so he went to check with reception, and this time they said ‘No, you can order anything from the menu as long as the total does not go over 1000 rupees’, which would normally be quite a bit, but as this menu was quite expensive it would have been impossible to chose 3 courses for that amount of rupees. My father was not happy about this as he felt we were being treated like second class citizens simply because we had paid for our food up front rather than as we were eating. As my father wasn’t happy with this service, he went back to reception to complain about the limit on the food we could eat, but this time the manager told him that there was a special menu for half board guests. This menu obviously hadn’t been used since prehistoric times as it was crinkled and dusty and not acceptable in the least. There was a very limiting choice of soup for starters, chicken breast or fish for mains and then coconut pancakes for dessert. Having chosen to eat onion rings, pasta and banana split off the original menu, this was very disappointing and we were most surprised that it would be a chicken breast as we had thus far not come across chicken breast in Sri Lanka and all of the meat had bones in. We were promised by the manager that there would be a maximum of one bone in the chicken. However when the food came out, the chicken was not cooked and full of bones, it couldn’t have been breast meat. We left the meal before finishing our main courses as we were too disappointed to bother waiting for deserts. The staff were very unhelpful and unfriendly about the matter and did nothing about it.

After dinner the third bed had been put into the room and was very disappointing, the mattress was only an inch thick, and for someone with back problems this simply isn’t acceptable. We also noticed then that we had no drinking water, and we thought this was compulsory for hotels where their guests cannot use the water from the taps.
As we settled down to go to sleep the disco from the hotel next door kept blaring out, and because the room had no insulation and sound proofing, and because of the gaps around the doors this music was just too loud. The music carried on until gone 3am and even then the guests coming back from the discos were not quiet.

Overall, if you are a backpacker who doesn’t mind awful bed and breakfast food and service and wants to party all night then go ahead and stay at the Thraproban. On the other hand, if you’re on a half board family holiday and hoping for a relaxing stay by the beach, do not stay at this hotel, it will only disappoint.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 858NBush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Public Relations Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the reviews written “Very Disappointing” and “Craproban” dated 27th August 2011.

The beach house rooms being fully booked for the whole month we maintain very tidily as you can see in our other reviews, the review was written only to tarnish the hotel reputation who booked the hotel only for one night on the 20th August 2011, The hotel has been in operation for the last four years and the main reason for these reviews was for the incident that occurred during dinner time that travel agent who booked their room have booked the room on HB basis, where the amount paid to the hotel is US $ 9 for dinner and we have to offer the guests the dinner within this allocation of $ 9. As the guests were asking Lobster for dinner ( which is mentioned as not asked in the review ) the guests were saying that they will write in trip advisor about the hotel, we mainly felt that the guests were looking for a buffet at the beach house as they were on around tour in Sri Lanka and being in hotels which offered buffets, We contacted the travel agent and the lady who handled the complaint too said to offer dinner according to allotment and not Lobster or expensive dishes. Thaproban beach house don’t offer buffets as we have quality ala carte menu. Mainly we offer guests with bed and breakfast basis and not often we have HB clients although we have had many half board guests who has never had any such complaints. Even through the same travel agent who mainly sent half board guests to our hotels.
It could be the case that the agent has charged you more and you feel that you have paid a good amount for your dinner, if the hotel was told that to give you the dinner for the amount you have paid yes certainly we could have done accordingly that is why we contacted the agent to enquire about this issue. At the time your father came to the reception and enquired about sea food and lobster and the owner being at Thaproban Restaurant at that time was informed of this matter and he personally interfered and has offered a Big Snapper fish which is out of US $ 9 allotment for dinner to please your family. In the Dish your family chose the reason that you have seen bones in your chicken dish was there were two potions for one person of two whole chicken legs which is not the normal case, normally for one person its one portion however to make your family happy again the chef has offered one person with two potions of chicken and that is why you have got two bones in one dish.

There are two mineral water bottles in the mini bar of each room plus soft drinks, nuts, chocolates which is charged if used.

On the day of your arrival it was the last day of a week long festival in Unawatuna where around half a million people came to Unawatuna and which is held once a year in July or August and during this time there could be littering in the beach and streets, this can happen in any where in the world where there was a festival with half a million people, however the littering will all be cleared within a day or two by the municipal council. If you would have stayed with us a day longer you would have experienced that the littering would all be cleared.

We have made two locks to the room doors at Thaproban beach house and if you don’t lock the room with both the locks the door will not seal properly, maybe this is why you felt the room door was not sealing properly.
The Disco is not played in the hotel next door, its played in a club which is half a kilo meter away and we don’t have guests who party all night we have decent type of guests with families or couples. Please refer the review made on the same day ( “Relaxing stay where you feel you look after by staff” on 27th August 2011 ) as they were a family with two children who stayed with us at Thaproban beach house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
683 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#8 of 32 in Unawatuna
257 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 32 in Unawatuna
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
813 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 32 in Unawatuna
452 reviews
9.7 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaproban Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaproban Beach House

Property: Thaproban Beach House
Address: Yaddhehimulla Rd | Galle, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thaproban Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thaproban Beach house is by the world famous Unawatuna beach. It has oneof the very few best known restaurants in the region. Some rooms areoverlooking the Indian Ocean with private balcony and lot of comfort. Rooms are equipped with A/C, Satellite T.V (LCD), Mini bar, In room teamaking facility, En suite bathroom with hot and cold waterand well furnished. Safe facility is provided and free Wifi in Public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thaproban Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thaproban Beach House Hotel Unawatuna
Thaproban Beach Hotel
Thaproban Beach Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing