We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thaproban Beach House
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Now we are in this hotel and I want to say that it s really the best hotel on the beach. The location is very very very good! On the beach. We have 2floor penthouse with great balcony! The view is amaizing and I advice everyone to reserve this room. Because you can sit there in the evening and enjoy the nature.

Stuff is amaizing. Very polite and nice! I think it's the best hotel here in unawatuna. The ocean is best-blue water.... No waves..
It s possible to take excursion from the hotel -and reseption made all his best to do the best for you. We reserved city tour -tea plantation, turtle ferm, Galle and so on. Very interesting! Espessioslly tea plantation. It was individual excursion just for us.
The weather is good here. People are very friendly.. Ther are a lot of shops in unawatuna -souvenirs, fruits and so on.

So, I advise this hotel! Have a nice holiday.
I think that if we return in unawatuna we ll stay here...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OlgaShelevakho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    255
    70
    24
    21
See reviews for
194
419
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We booked the Thaproban Beach House for three nights and stayed for 6. From the time we arrived the staff made us very welcome and really took a genuine interest in making our stay comfortable and pleasant.
The meal service was excellent and the beachside location was great for a relaxing drink or a satisfying meal with attentive service. No special request was impossible and quickly produced. Extra chilli, more ice, another plate, Viola! It was there in no time.
Special thanks to Dinesh, Nirwani, Kumara, and Pradeep for giving us such a great ending to our month's travelling in Sri Lanka. And Unawatuna is a perfect spot to relax. The beach is protected and there are some really nice leafy back streets worth exploring.
We are already planning a return to the Thaoroban..

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stirlwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights at the end of two weeks touring around Sri Lanka and wished we had stayed a little longer. The hotel is located right on the beach, our room was downstairs only a few steps from the sand. It was lovely waking up to the sounds of waves crashing on the beach each morning.

We had dinner here every evening, which is something we don't normally do but it was so good we didn't want to go anywhere else. They have a great selection of seafood and the traditional Sri Lankan curry was highly recommended. The staff were so friendly and were always willing to help.

The hotel has some sun loungers on the beach and they are happy to bring drinks out to you. There are a few locals selling clothes and gifts that come up to you quite often however as long as you politely decline they leave you alone.

Location wise it is really easy to get to Galle on the bus (16 rupees) or by tuk tuk (we paid 250rupees). I would also recommend Kurana cooking class which is located 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

Only improvements I can think of are having a safe in the room and having 2 towels per person (so you can wash your hair), as most other hotels we stayed in had this. Overall a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkBec14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

By far the best hotel in center unswatuna we had the upper supirior room with a great ocean view balcony.
i strongly reecomend to eat dinner plus book a front table and pick a good lobster or fresh fish from the show table. Goid service and smieling staff

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ido C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

When we stumbled by Thaproban to view a room we were instantly won over by the kind, friendly manner of the staff. The super clean room with soft bedding, a/c, rainforest shower, fridge and balcony was a bonus! This was the nicest place we'd stayed in in Sri Lanka, we felt pampered which was great after 3 weeks backpacking! The Sri Lankan breakfast was amazing, nice and spicy. Location is perfect, right on the beach. And as we were learning to speak Sinhalese, the staff greeted us every morning in Sinhale and helped us learn new phrases. Hondai!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahLoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We had an excellent stay here a couple of years ago. Staff were wonderful. Location next to the beach perfect. Room very clean and lovely. Overall very good value. Breakfast was great served outside each day.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenandRob2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed for 5 nights and had the two upstairs rooms overlooking the beach with beautiful views of the bay. The rooms were very clean with comfortable beds. It was definitely the staff that made Thraproban special. The female manager and all the boys were always smiling and could not do enough for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilly1UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
672 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 31 in Unawatuna
245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaproban Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaproban Beach House

Property: Thaproban Beach House
Address: Yaddhehimulla Rd | Galle, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thaproban Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thaproban Beach house is by the world famous Unawatuna beach. It has oneof the very few best known restaurants in the region. Some rooms areoverlooking the Indian Ocean with private balcony and lot of comfort. Rooms are equipped with A/C, Satellite T.V (LCD), Mini bar, In room teamaking facility, En suite bathroom with hot and cold waterand well furnished. Safe facility is provided and free Wifi in Public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thaproban Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thaproban Beach House Hotel Unawatuna
Thaproban Beach Hotel
Thaproban Beach Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing