We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price doesn´t match standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thaproban Beach House
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This hotel doesn´t deserve such a good score. It is definitely overpriced. We paid 110 EUR per night and it was not worthy. We found too late (booking from home) that there are many hotels with much higher standard and quality in Sri Lanka for that, or even lower price. We had the penthouse suite, but used only one room. Furniture is a bit worn off, chairs on balcony very uncomfortable to sit and enjoy definitely stunning view on the beach. Food is also average. So called western breakfast nothing special, mainly due to lower quality products such as coffee or eggs, which had almost white yolks. Fruits were not very fresh. Only on last day we had Eastern breakfast and it was uncomparably better. Location on the beach is great, BUT: don´t even think about going there during full moon. Neighboring restaurant organizes a HOUSE PARTY, not just a party, but a real terribly noisy house party which lasted until 08,00 AM!!! We couldn´t sleep all night. In the morning we complained and reaction of the manager was very unprofessional: I am sorry, but I can do nothing with this. He did not call police, or talk to his neighbor, although many guests complained. Noise was all the night so bad, that all the windows trembled. When we got on the balcony, smell of well-known grass was so strong, that we almost got stoned only from staying there for couple of minutes. Therefore I give sleep quality review as poor, besides this night it was very good.
Staff was otherwise very nice and helpful. Driver Diaz who picked us up from the airport was very nice and safe driver. Chefs were also nice and hepful. Hotel, rooms and bed linen were clean. AC worked well, but we couldn´t got connected to hotel wi-fi in penthouse. If the price was lower and without the house party I would give better rating, but with this house party experience and value, I unfortunatelly cannot. I hope owners of the hotels in Unawatuma will do something with this house party which is clearly scaring their tourists off.

Room Tip: Definitely sea view and not first floor
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monikey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (911)
There are newer reviews for Thaproban Beach House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

389 - 395 of 911 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

Thaproban Beach House is a gem of a guest house. It's not perfect but that's all part of it's charm! We had the Penthouse suite which had 2 queen sized beds on 2 floors with a large baclony looking out to the ocean. the beds were incredibly comfortable. The only drawback is the water pressure on the shower, but that's a small price to pay for being this close to the beach! The staff are amazing - friendly and helpful. the food is the best we had in Unawatuna. The rice and curry, and the seafood platter were amazing!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anushk I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The location was great right on the beach in the main hub of Unawatuna. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious, comfortable and clean. We used the hotel car service and a lovely driver called Diaz picked us up from the airport. We then decided to use him to go onto Ella later in the week and he showed us some interesting sites along the way. We'd recommend staying here to anyone who is looking for a hotel with a bit of character and charm. Sophie and Joe.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here for three nights in October 2013. The hotel was average with plus points! It was clean, the people were friendly and helpful, it served good food, provided mosquito nets and plug (not that we saw any), a comfy bed, tea and coffee facilities, free water and there was a fridge in the room. It also provided a safe near the reception desk and both you and the hotel had to use your keys to get into it, it had two locks. A bit inconvenient but at least they had one. They offered a currency exchange service which was helpful too.

We also booked a taxi to and from the airport which worked really well, it wasn't cheap; £60 approx but it was a three hour journey.

The location was great and it backed onto the beach, it was close to shops and restaurants, great for a few days rest. Two things which they could improve on; have more than one working sun umbrella, they had two but one was broken, so if you didn't get the working one and want to stay out of the direct sun, you have to sit in the shade of the trees, which is not always possible. I'm very fair so this is really important to me!!! Also stop the hotel dog from barking at night, a stray dog seems to have adopted the hotel and it seems to bark a lot at the traffic, especially at night.

I would book it again but only for a few nights.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loopulou1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I have read the previous reviews and now doubt their legitimacy. I have just stayed here and found Thaproban Beach House to be an over priced, over managed and under resourced property. Firstly the staff are welcoming and friendly, in all areas. They strive to make you feel comfortable and at home but the property itself could be good if complaints and details were addressed. Sadly complaints to staff cant fix the major failings of this property. Rooms are old and require maintenance. There are 2 showers with distinct lack of water flow. I was told not to use the rain shower but the hand held shower. So the rain shower doesnt work, why advertise it?. Bathroom and balcony doors don't close securely. Ceiling fan works on 2 speed only, slow and noisy or high and very noisy. There is no wardrobe hanging space, bathroom is old and uninviting and water, when you get flow splashes all around the toilet. Rooms are situated above the restaurant and are noisy. From 7am you hear housekeepers talking, restaurant staff and customers talking right through the day and night. It's not restful. Bedding was comfortable. No secure safe in room. Everyone was willing to take my complaints on board but nothing happens. At breakfast I was over hearing the same complaints from other guests. As they own 3 properties in the area I think there is a case of too many managers doing nothing when one could come in and sort this mess out. Could be good but right now it's failed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Located right on the beachfront, we had 4 nights here. I think this hotel is overpriced but the friendly staff help to make up for that. Breakfast was only ok, we had both the western and Sri Lankan. The Sri Lankan breakfast was very small and you could not get it until 8.30 am.
We booked a deluxe room and unfortunately we were given room #7. Avoid this room if you can as it is located next to the staircase and many people walk up and down the stairs with no consideration of the noise. The room itself was well appointed. It was large and airy with polished floor boards. It had a small balcony which was fantastic for drying washing on and a pleasant spot to have a coffee in private. The bathroom was large and the cleaning was of a good standard. I think there are much better value guesthouses in the area but having said that Thaproban Beach house was a pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is away from the staircase.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

This was our last stop before heading back home and after looking for a nice hotel next to the beach around unawatuna we found THE hotel.People in this hotel have something special (always a smile, good mood, friendly staff)and make this hotel very special place to stay.The hotel is clean and have all the things you d need.They food, specially the fresh fish and sea food at night is absolutelly amazing.We definitelly will recommend this hotel over all the hotels and guesthouses in unawatuna. Guys, you are simply the best!! Keep on the good work ;-))
Nacor & Lorena

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Larrhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
697 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#7 of 33 in Unawatuna
278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 33 in Unawatuna
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
436 reviews
9.7 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Unawatuna
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaproban Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaproban Beach House

Address: Yaddhehimulla Rd | Galle, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: £42 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thaproban Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thaproban Beach house is by the world famous Unawatuna beach. It has oneof the very few best known restaurants in the region. Some rooms areoverlooking the Indian Ocean with private balcony and lot of comfort. Rooms are equipped with A/C, Satellite T.V (LCD), Mini bar, In room teamaking facility, En suite bathroom with hot and cold waterand well furnished. Safe facility is provided and free Wifi in Public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thaproban Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thaproban Beach House Hotel Unawatuna
Thaproban Beach Hotel
Thaproban Beach Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing