We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location & straff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thaproban Beach House
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We stay here 8 days, and like the hotel,staff and location. We eat dinner and breakfast at the hotel everyday. Its tuk tuk outside the hotel, if you want to take a trip to Galle.
We miss it already, hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FinnAndAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

381 - 387 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

we booked two nights. but we stayed one extra night at The Grand at Nuwara Eliya. Glad that we did. This hotel (Thaproban) is a multi storied slum. recommend other hotels in the vicinity.

Pros
Only location is good.
Cons
Worst food. We ordered whole fish which was totally under cooked ad almost raw at the head. Felt like "life of pie" eating that.
Not a family friendly hotel. There was too much drinking and noise by the youngsters.
Room was smelly and full of sand, towels were not washed well and smelled. The AC was not working and we couldn't sleep at all the only night we stayed there since the AC remote was not working and it was too hot to sleep.
There was a notice about "safe" in the closet whereas there was none!
Worst possible wifi with no signal in the room 315

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FloyDroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Didn't sleep here but often came here to eat. Staff is very lovely and service oriented. Food is very good and fresh. Breakfast, lunch and dinner - all good.
You might have to pre-order a seat during the high season for dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The Thaproban Beach House was a perfect choice for our last beach days during our Sri Lanka holiday! The location is great, it is at the beach front more or less in the middle of the Unawatuna bay and the beach and water is perfect for swimming there. The staff was very friendly and attentive and took care of any request we might have (tips on excursions, information about the surroundings, arranging of transport, breakfast preferences, beach towels and even a change of room). And our 20 month old toddler made many new friends... Breakfast was very good with a choice for almost every taste, you could even get Sri Lankan breakfast if you pre-ordered during dinner. Try it out if you like savoury and spicy breakfast! Maybe the biggest plus is the great beach restaurant where we ended up having dinner 4 nights in a row (usually not our habit!) and we could see there were plenty non-hotel eaters around even though competition on the beach is not far away. They have a fresh seafood offer on display in addition to a complete a la carte menu. The room was nicely furnished and cleaned several times a day (at least we got this impression).
Due to the wooden doors and windows rooms towards the street may get noisy in the evenings whenever tuk-tuks or motorbikes pass by. But we were not bothered by this and after 23:00 it was usually very quiet. The beachfront ground floor rooms might have a little less privacy than the others on the 1st or 2nd floor as they are directly next to the restaurant - but of course you’ll have the shortest distance to the beach during daytime. :-) There is no ATM in Unawatuna, so make sure to bring your cash when you arrive or to take the opportunity for a trip to Galle Fort to refill…

We would definitely choose this hotel again if we ever come back to Unawatuna! If you want something bigger and a bit more isolated from the town “center”, there is a sister hotel with a pool and nice rock seaview about 10 minutes walk away (the pool can be used by Beach House guests too but we did not bother with the wonderful beach right there…

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuhrpottTravelFoxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Having booked on the basis of the great reviews on here, we were really excited about this place and unfortunately, I hate to say it failed to live up to the hype.

Throughout our 2 night stay, we found the staff all very friendly and attentive. There was good food served in the hotel restaurant and Unawatuna was a lovely place to visit.

The location of this hotel is great. Right on the beach with a few sea facing rooms which would have great views onto the lively beach. However, beware. We were placed at the back of the hotel in a room that can be best described as a hostel rather than a hotel room. That's fine, only for what we were paying, we felt a little cheated. Obviously not everyone can have a sea view, but the rooms compared to others we stayed at during our trip to Sri Lanka was not great.

On a positive note, the hotel is chained with a more luxurious Thaprobane hotel which is a 5 minute walk away and customers are allowed to use their gorgeous pool and private beach during their stay. This is a very nice touch.

I'm hesitant about being too critical about this place as like I say, everyone was very nice and the location is great, we just felt that it was overpriced and we could have found the same quality room for half the price next door.

Room Tip: Try and get the sea facing room. Make use of the facilities of the other thaprobane hotel located j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tizzwoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed four days here and had a wonderful, unforgettable experience. First off, the location in Unawatuna is excellent, situated right on one of Sri Lanka's prettiest beaches with amazing, postcard views from the balcony. I would recommend booking a superior front facing room on an upper floor for the best experience. The room was large, comfortable and clean. However, what really set this place apart was the service. Nuwani, the receptionist, is amazing. She is very friendly, attentive and knowledgeable about the area, and ensured that we had an enjoyable stay in her beautiful country. The restaurant is also excellent; we dined in other locations in Unawatuna but kept finding ourselves returning to their restaurant for lunch and dinner. Nuwani arranged for us to have a special candlelit table one night, which was nicely decorated and close to the water. This was very romantic. The seafood there is delicious. The chef personally helped us pick out our fish one evening, and returned to see how we enjoyed it. After one meal, our always attentive waiter, Dinesh, remembered our dietary preferences the following evening ("Fish curry, Sir, spicy; Madam, not spicy") and had our dinner ordered for us before we were even seated. Sugath, the sommelier/bartender, was always ready with drink suggestions and very attentive as well. We were also impressed with the service from our housekeeper, Mihiranga, who went above and beyond, anticipating our needs; one evening he uncorked our wine, placed it on ice, and delivered it to our balcony on a platter after I asked to borrow a corkscrew. Ahmed, the night receptionist, and the rest of the staff who worked behind the scenes, were also very friendly and helpful. Overall, I would say, if you are looking for a romantic, affordable stay in Unawatuna, with impeccable service and a superior beach front location, you could do no better than Thaproban Beach House!

Room Tip: Front facing superior on upper floor (second or third floor). More privacy, better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lukimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed here for one week in early March, with my husband and two daughters (1 and 4). I must agree with so many of the previous reviewers, that the staff is so genuinely friendly and helpful! Our oldest daughter loved playing around with the staff and she was at ease with them from the start, which is a really good sign!

We stayed in one of the two beachfront rooms, which was perfect for us with the small children. We were a bit concerned at first that the restaurant, which is right outside, would be noisy, but as this is not a party place we were not bothered. The food is really nice and we had an excellent selection for breakfast. The staff was very flexible in giving us food that the children also enjoyed. The dinner setting on the beach was beautiful, and there are also plenty of other restaurants to choose from.

From the pictures I can see that there has not always been a beach in front of the hotel, as the sand moves back and forth along the beach, but when we were there the beach was nice. Not the widest I’ve seen, but enough for some sunbeds and for the children to play. The waves can be a bit high though.

The main drawback is, as other reviewers also have written, the bathrooms. The towels also smelled a bit funny some days, even though they had been washed. The rooms are basic but spacious, and they really have all you need. The beach in Unawatuna is completely filled up with small hotels, so if you are looking for a deserted paradise beach, this is not for you. I would however love to stay here again!

Room Tip: Get the beachfront rooms if you travel with children!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristinaStina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
0.4 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#12 of 33 in Unawatuna
826 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
720 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#7 of 33 in Unawatuna
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
451 reviews
9.7 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Unawatuna
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaproban Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaproban Beach House

Address: Yaddhehimulla Rd | Galle, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: £52 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thaproban Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thaproban Beach house is by the world famous Unawatuna beach. It has oneof the very few best known restaurants in the region. Some rooms areoverlooking the Indian Ocean with private balcony and lot of comfort. Rooms are equipped with A/C, Satellite T.V (LCD), Mini bar, In room teamaking facility, En suite bathroom with hot and cold waterand well furnished. Safe facility is provided and free Wifi in Public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thaproban Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thaproban Beach House Hotel Unawatuna
Thaproban Beach Hotel
Thaproban Beach Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing