We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute bliss with Friends!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thaproban Beach House
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I was here on a vacation during last week of July 2014 for 2N/3D. It was an awesome experience staying here with the friends as the property located just so close to the beach. We had booked superior sea view rooms which had a stunning view of the beach. Service is excellent, delicious food at the resort and rooms are kept very clean. This will be one of my best beach vacation which will cherish for a long time and my friends too are of the same opinion. Please keep it up and continue with your good work to delight your customers!!!

Room Tip: Please always go for a superior sea view/penthouse room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BharathSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Thank you very much for staying with thaproban beach house.we do appreciated your valuable feedback and high recommendation of our rooms ,food and facilities.That was more encourage to our team to continue service excellent.We also trust this will be the best beach vacation you have ever had,Hope you to welcome again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 942 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Very nice place right on the beach in Unawatuna. We booked the penthouse which was very comfortable. There are two bedrooms and one bathroom. A large balcony with seaview is a plus! The food is good, and the people are very, very nice, friendly and helpfull! Airport transfer will take abouth 3 hours.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank floorenniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

thank you very much for staying at thaproban beach house and your valuable comment .we do appreciate your high recommendation of our rooms facilities as well as service of our team.it was more encourage us to continue our service standard in a proper manner. If you visit unawatuna in the future we trust will stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Really really lovely hotel situated as close as you can get to the sea! Stayed 5 nights in July 2014 in the penthouse suite with a large balcony overlooking the Unawatuna bay - fantastic view! It would, however, add to the stay if a little more balcony-privacy could be given. Maybe some big plants between the two penthouse balconies?

Spacious, nice + clean rooms + fresh flowers + beautiful 'bed-decorations'. Large clean bathroom + fresh bathing/beach towels given daily.

We can only praise the wonderful staff! Always seeing to our needs - friendly + smiling + with a very good sense of humour too!

And we so loved the food. The chef + kitchen staff really added to our stay We highly recommend the Eastern breakfast + fresh seafood menu at night- very tasty! An dining by candlelight + moonlight to the sound of the sea + and enjoying wicked cocktails such as Margheritas from the bar- ahhh, is as good as it gets!!

We will definitely come back!

Mayanna

Room Tip: Penthous suite (Room 11)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 13Mayanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review an your recommendation of thaproban beach house .
It is pleasure to note that you have enjoyed the services and facilities along with the specially food.We trust you will stay with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Thaproban with three friends over the eid holiday.. we had a fantastic time.. all of the staff were welcoming and could not do enough to make our holiday more relaxing and fun! even the dog who we named googly eyes because his eyes pop out his head.. even the driver that collected us from the airport was a lovely and such a sweet man. the rooms are great.. very basic but decent and clean.. perhaps a thin blanket would be nice.. cant win.. if you turn the aircon on its too cold.. off its to hot.. just gimmi a blanket and problem solved...

the food was great.. fresh fruit in the morning with coffee and egg on toast and the rest of the menu for lunch and dinner are also nice.

thank you so much for having us! we did not want to leave

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Geraldine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for your kind review of the thaproban beach house,we are also glad that you enjoyed the services and facilities and rooms ..we look forward to your continued patronage of thaproban beach house in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I have just returned from a five night stay at Thaproban Beach House with some friends.The hotel is situated right on the beach, the beach restaurant serves up some lovely dishes and a pretty decent drinks selection.
Staff are very attentive and nothing is too much to ask, from the guys who cleaned our rooms daily, to the waiters and front desk staff, each one was willing to help and go the extra mile to ensure we got what we wanted. Nurani on the front desk knew us all by name and made sure we were looked after throughout our stay as did the managers.
The breakfast menu is not huge, but it was perfect for us. A fresh tropical fruit platter, fresh toast and eggs and bacon/sausage/ham - all you need for a good start to the day. We ate at the restaurant a few times, and everyone in my party was impressed with their meals each time.
Most of the restaurant staff came to say good bye when we were all leaving which we thought was a lovely personal touch.Didn't struggle with any noise issues into the evening or early in the mornings and we thoroughly enjoyed the sound of the waves crashing right outside our bedrooms.
Thank you to all the staff for a memorable stay, I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room 3 or 4 is up one level with lovely views of the beach, but enjoyed room 2 on the ground floor w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kvosloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you very much for staying at thaproban beach House and your kind review ,we do appreciate your valuable feedback.and all our team delighted that you had a great stay with us
felt like 'Did not want to leave'.it was more encourage us to continue better service standard.we look forward to welcome you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The location reminds me of Bali 20 years ago. A small winding street filled with tuk tuks, little restaurants and shops leads to this lovely and lively hotel on the beachfront. The staff were very friendly although the lady receptionist should look and talk to new customers and not be waving to passerbyers, to make people feel welcome. The male staff made up for her welcome by going out of their way to accommodate our requests. We had a large triple room at the top. The AC leaked but they quickly came to repair the unit. Unfortunately our friends in the next room were kept awake by the sound of running water and asked for a room change that was accommodated. The meals were delicious. This hotel is in a great beachfront location but unfortunately there are no umbrellas for shade and only a few deck chairs making it impossible to find somewhere to sit on the beach. We visited the sister hotel Thaproban Resort and Spa. The receptionist advised it was only 100 metres but turned out to be a good kilometre. This brand new hotel is lovely although a little isolated and on a rocky section of coast, it has a beautiful pool, and spa and lovely staff too, making it a more romantic destination.

Room Tip: Not sure if there is a great room but the room at the top was at least quite although only a partial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliet5710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review and your recommendation of thaproban beach house and service of our staff .It is a pleasure to note that you had a great stay and enjoyed the service and facilities along with the food and service .it is more encouragement for our team to give more and more better service to our guest .Hope you to welcome soon at thaproban ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Found the hospitality fake and there was a definite preference towards European travellers. Didn't like being stared at when walking downstairs or at the table eating. Thank God I'm confident.

Woke up at 5am to the sound of loud talking and clanging plates.

The fish meal was the best I had had in SL. Chose it from a glass case and it was cooked to perfection!!

Used the sister hotel for swimming and we were the only ones in the pool.

The beach is great and we could swim safely in the sea. Watch out for the 'experienced' foot masseur, I could hardly walk for 2 days after he pounded my achilles tendon and calf muscles!!!

Room Tip: Probably as far away from the restaurant as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank chichi777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,
We like to inform you regarding the massage you have taken from the beach, which has nothing to do with the hotel, we don't have a spa in the beach and the bad choice of taking a beach massage was taken by you and its not right to have mentioned in the review as its your decision. The hotel has not asked you to take massages in the beach therefore its irrelevant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
0.4 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
826 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
719 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
451 reviews
9.7 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Unawatuna
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaproban Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaproban Beach House

Address: Yaddhehimulla Rd | Galle, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: £51 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thaproban Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thaproban Beach house is by the world famous Unawatuna beach. It has oneof the very few best known restaurants in the region. Some rooms areoverlooking the Indian Ocean with private balcony and lot of comfort. Rooms are equipped with A/C, Satellite T.V (LCD), Mini bar, In room teamaking facility, En suite bathroom with hot and cold waterand well furnished. Safe facility is provided and free Wifi in Public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thaproban Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thaproban Beach House Hotel Unawatuna
Thaproban Beach Hotel
Thaproban Beach Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing