We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thaproban Beach House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Prime Time Hotel(Unawatuna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Heaven By O(Unawatuna)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peacock Hotel(Unawatuna)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (996)
Filter reviews
996 results
Traveller rating
578
283
78
33
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
578
283
78
33
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousesister hotelhotel dogsri lankafresh seafoodsuperior roomsea viewtunasea foodfirst floorstayed for nightsmosquito netthe ground floorlovely roomprawnsspecial thanksthambapanni retreat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
731 - 736 of 996 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2010

we stayed in a hotel just along the beach, but enjoyed evening meals most nights at the Thaproban. we found the food excellent!!!! and the staff and management very helpful, friendly and entertaining. we was also given a fantastic birthday night for one of our group, and enjoyed a beautiful afternoon at there other hotel as invited guest to use there swimming pool. all in all FANTASTIC !!!! well done to the thaproban for your high standards and excellent service you really made our holiday. from Nicola, Stuart, Josh, emma, and Demi. see you next year x

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dottyFrintonOnSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

Very nice and clean rooms. The house is directly on the beach. Very friendly and good trianed stuff. They serve delicious food - especially the cuttle fish was great, they always have fresh fish, prawns, lobster... and a good choice of wines.
The beach of Unawatune was very crowded. If you are looking for a lonely beach go to Tangalla - but there you don't find an accomodation like this.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veitgenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

On the plus side, the rooms are very clean and nicely done. Our toilet and air con broke more than once but this was sorted out very quickly.

The location is good- right in the middle of the beach- but the actual hotel has no more than 2 foot of sand outside so we were forced to sunbathe outside other hotel/ restaurants.

The food was perhaps one of the most disappointing things. Probably one of the priciest places to eat but we found the quality very poor. We ate at the hotel on the first night but didn't want to again. However, we were told upon booking that we had to pay $25 a person for the new year buffet which was average to say the least. Other places had buffets for $5 and we felt very upset by the quality and selection of food. No drinks were included so we ended up paying a lot for some cold curry and over cooked fish.

For me, the most upsetting thing was the attitude of some of the staff. Whilst one or two were charming (especially the Manager and GM) others were simply rude. The language barrier probably didn't help but we felt as if basic standards of politeness were totally ignored. Some waiters seem to think they were doing us a favour by serving us.

Altogether, a good location but we would not return.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claphamcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We stayed at TBH for 11 nights including Christmas and it was fantastic. Spacious room, helpful staff, great location and good food.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nociderthanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2009

Had booked this hotel for one week but ended staying two since we liked it so much. The hotel is right on the beach. The rooms with direct sea view are very nice and the bed comfortable. The staff is attentive, especially the managers (imagine having all four waving good bye when leaving!!). The food in the restaurant is not that inspiring so we ended going to the "One Love" restaurant nearby. The only negative thing (and it has nothing to do with the hotel) is that sometimes once and sometimes twice a week there is a disco on the beach. And disco goes on the WHOLE night....those nights there is no chance of getting any sleep since the volume of the music is terribly high. Otherwise we had a very pleasant stay in Unawatuna. If we ever were to come back we would definitely stay at Thaproban Beach House.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtkFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews