We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of RockHouse Guesthouse & Restaurant

RockHouse Guesthouse & Restaurant
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Unawatuna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
RockHouse Guesthouse & Restaurant
Ranked #120 of 140 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Had an absolutely delicious appetizer & meal. A few drinks to top if off. Reserve the Rock table is a must. However I don't think there is a bad seat in the place.
Price was reasonable.
Walked around the hotel & will definately stay there for a few days next time, it will be worth every penny

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jct07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    6
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

This is the best hotel ever. The staff are fantastic. The hotel is stunning. So willing to help and they speak really good English..... Loved it! would recommend this hotel for the budget traveler........

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Fazil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

We came for a few days to acclimatise and stayed for a month. Very friendly owners, superb views of birds, monkeys, mongoose and the bay. Altogether fantastic value.

Room Tip: It's worth spending a little extra to stay up the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

This is a average guest house and its a bit far off the beach ....you will have to walk a good 5 mins to go to the nearest beach. We took the room that was on top of the hill...The view from the room was really nice and you can see the complete Unawatuna cove. The food and restaurants are all nearby

Pros:

1. Easy check in and check out
2. Rooms are big and airy
3. Since our room was on top of the hill so everytime you open the windows the nice kool sea breeze will flow in
4. we had seats on the balcony so you can sit thr and watch the sun rise...loved the early morning view

Cons:

1. As I mentioned the room that we stayed in was on top of a hill so it was a task to climb all d way up every now and then
2.Too may insects in the room as the windows do not have nets
3. we felt a bit lonely on top of the hill house as there was no one around
4. There was no room service and to call some I had to go down all the way huh...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atish15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Moved here after Sunny Beach guest house proved to be noisy and smelly...cheap rates in November due to it being the off season of 1500 rs, but impeccably clean, and it's only 100 metres max from the beach anyway. Many rooms to choose from, plus an amazing apartment up the hill where you can sit on the balcony and watch the sunset.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PollySibyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

My son and I stayed at Rock House for two nights and enjoyed it very much. It is about 100 meters from the main road, and is both quiet and offers easy access to the beach and all the restaurants. Some of its spacious rooms are built right into the side of huge rocks - quite distinctive and charming. Did not eat here, so can't comment on the food. People were very pleasant and helpful, and we recommend it warmly.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank liminalwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

Like a few other reviews have said this is a cheap no frills hotel but we really loved our view which was the best in Unawatuna for sure. Above the main building they have built a bunch of appartments on top of the cliffs. It's a bit of a zig zag to get up there but well worth it. Our appartment was acid yellow but extremely roomy with tables and comfortable chairs. We had a kitchen without a hob but it did have a good fridge and was somewhere to make tea and prepare fruit salad and crud for breakfast. After a cool nights sleep it was really awesome to sit on the balcony and look out over the entire bay. The sound from the discos was annoying but as it's Unawatuna you are going to get that anywhere you rest your head. Cool breeze and awesome view; well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeanandMook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
0.2 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Happy Banana
Happy Banana
#110 of 140 in Unawatuna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Villa Hotel
Little Villa Hotel
#99 of 140 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Full Moon Beach Resort
Full Moon Beach Resort
#36 of 140 in Unawatuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Flamingo Guest House
Flamingo Guest House
#47 of 140 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RockHouse Guesthouse & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RockHouse Guesthouse & Restaurant

Property: RockHouse Guesthouse & Restaurant
Address: Yaddehimulla Road, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RockHouse Guesthouse in Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna is one of the oldest family homes that opened their doors to foreign visitors to Unawatuna since late Ninteen seventies, when 'flower-children' discovered this idyllic beach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing