We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Panorama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Panorama
Ranked #15 of 146 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

The best we have in Sri Lanka near the beach.
Lovely swimingpool good and clean bungalow. Great view especially for the sunset.
The access is a bit hard although, the hôtel should have someone down to help...

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kryone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Panorama
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hotel was the best we stayed in Sri Lanka, ended up staying 6 nights. The manager Prabath is a superb chef and the food was grand. The chalets are large and the bed was so comfy. It has a fridge to keep your drinks cold and the soft drinks are cheaper than buying from outside. It is not licensed but their is a grog shop in walking distance. Their are a lot of steps up to the building but the views are to die for. It has a large swimming pool and is a short walk to the beach. They even have two pet turtles which they let you feed with fresh beans.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MozzaAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We spent 3 nights at Hotel Panorama as part of our three-weeks-trip to Sri Lanka. We arrived without booking a room and Renatha who owns the place welcomed us with her warm smile and offered a room. The room was huge, very clean and comfortable. Every morning we were served a delicious breakfast (by Prebath who runs the place) which included a large plate with all sorts of fruit you can imagine: mango, papaya, banana, grapes, passion fruit and tea/coffee, bread, omelet and more. There is also a very nice pool and sunbeds. Hotel panorama is well maintained and the views are lovely. The only short back of this place would be the long way to the beach (it takes 15 minutes to get there by foot) with a steep path from the main road to the hotel. We did it by foot and it was not easy, however there is free of charge tuk-tuk upon request that can take you. Overall, it was a very pleasant and joyful stay and we highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ophir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay at Panorama. Very clean rooms, great breakfast, and a long stones throw from the beach area and a great pool area to relax and unwind. The walk up the ramp takes some getting used to but is good for the lungs and legs. Thanks to all the team there who were always very helpful. Only negative would be the loud pumping music from the beach which went on until 5/6am on a couple of nights, which many of the local hoteliers and budinesses are trying to stop, so good ear plugs are required but otherwise an excellent BB!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InkySporran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights over New Years Eve and loved it, this was one of the nicest rooms we had during our 2 week trip (large individual bungalow with huge bathroom with good shower, four poster bed, lovely terrace with sun loungers outside room, amazing view of Unawatuna beach) and it was so clean.

Having the pool to relax by was nice and the breakfast was really good too, they even got up early to make it for us on our last day as we were leaving before breakfast would normally start. We didn't have any other meals here as we ate at restaurants down on the beach but I think you could request them if you wanted to.

The hill from the road up to the property is a bit steep! But we soon got used to it and you just have to cross over the road at the bottom of the hill and you're almost on the beach.

We would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We had a fantastic room with a comfortable bed, very clean bathroom and felt very safe there even in the rain storm. We loved our breakfasts with an amazing view of the bay and all the colourful birds in the trees around. We were not so keen on the household dogs but were greatly entertained by the pet tortoises. There is no need for a gym with the hill to climb each day (why use a tuk tuk when your legs can do the work!). We received a warm welcome from everyone at the Panorama and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ein Bungalow ist die bessere Wahl der Aussicht wegen!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andydoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.6 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
820 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
909 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#8 of 32 in Unawatuna
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
436 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.6 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#3 of 32 in Unawatuna
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panorama

Address: Peelagoda, Unawatuna keine, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: £33 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Panorama 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing