We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”
Review of Pipels House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pipels House
Ranked #70 of 147 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Firstly, the review in LP doesn't give Pipel's House the amazing credit it deserves! My boyfriend and I had a very enjoyable stay here! The shared bath was impeccably clean!! Solar powered hot water (which lasted the entirety of our showers) and the incredible pressure did our tired bodies well. The food was delicious, especially the bruschetta, which was (obviously) the focus of the owner's bruschetta party. The owner is Italian and homemakers his own beautiful pesto. Overall, would highly reccommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spamalot_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    18
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
28
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Staying at Pipel's House turned out to be the holiday I had always dreamed about.
Julian (the owner) were so helpful and friendly and made you feel more than welcome.
Our friendly hosts, Nisa and Rama , were always anxious to enquire if more can be done to make you feel at home, from our very first welcome to our last moments at Pipel's House.
We had 2 bruschetta party and the food was very good and of a much higher standard that you'd find outside.
The house is clean and very close to the beach .
In short this is a very good place to go if you want a good clean room, with a few Extras at not a big price.
Thanks to Gino for service with the tuk tuk. It was the icing on the cake.

Riccardo, Andrea & Simona...!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Punzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Julien an italian guy (is bilingual french/italian/english) has this guesthouse.
the location is very good, and the friday night julien does BRUSCHETTA PARTY everybody taste it!!!
the price are good, 3 rooms, a big at the top, and middle at second floor (is the room i have)
beautiful rooms and clean!!!

if you want to eat not very expensive in unawatuna, you can go to the main road and walk to the right during 5/10minutes to a place where they rent scooter and they also make delicious food ! 100 roupies KOTOU, and 90 Roupies vegetable rice and curry.
not the first restaurant (the owner give me big tourist price !!!), is the second restaurant, just 10meter after

renaud

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank renaud38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Pipels House, the place to be if you ask me. I've been there a lot and the place is making you feel comfortable. Its clean and the food is great. Its near the beach, not even 1 minute walk. If you are staying in Pipels House, don't miss the bruschetta party's. You will meet a lot of new people and having a nice dinner. The food is absolutly great.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pleun s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Only some 100m from the beach, Pipels House is not only super clean, but has also lovely furnished rooms and a great atmosphere. The service is good, everybody is very friendly and helpful - since I had some health issues during my stay, they e.g.provided relevant advise on bus connections and the next hospital. If for any reason you should have enough of the delicious seafood in Unatwatuna, ask for the homemade italian pasta - tastes great! Although only planning to stay two nights, we finally stayed over a week since we really enjoyed the calm atmosphere of the place. The rooftop is a good place to relax in the hammock or simply on a chair, as it is protected against the sunlight by reed mats so that you will easily get over the midday heat. Overall, it is good value for money; a lovely place where you don't have to worry about anything.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I have been to Unawatuna with my boyfriend and we decided to stay at Pipels House. The atmosphere was very friendly and international, people from all over the world staying there together, eating and drinking Arak. we got to know many other guys stayind there on holiday as well as people working there, very nice and kind to all of us!
the place is clean and confortable, just a few steps from the dreamlike sea side.......
....hope to get there soon!

Room Tip: the suite with the balcony is great! the very best place to stand in the most relaxing atmosphere re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelOfRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewsbury
Level Contributor
112 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Pipels house is a nice place, the owner is spot on and genuine but for me the room was overpriced and we were woke up daily around 3/4/5/6am by the dogs barking. We stayed two nights and both were the same, had we been staying in Unawatuna any longer and we would have left and found elsewhere.
It is not really a family place either as each evening a strange whift or what smelled like marijuana wafted past us and the kids asked what it was. If that’s your thing then fine, but it’s not ours.
If the rooms were cheaper and someone removed the bark from the dogs then this place might be a nice little place to stay. But despite not having a bathroom in the room, paying way over the odds the fact we were getting woken up regularly throughout the night was simply too much for us. For mainly that reason we wouldn’t stay again.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank stu.bec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.2 mi away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 31 in Unawatuna
881 reviews
0.1 mi away
White House
White House
#63 of 147 in Unawatuna
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kahuna Hotel
Kahuna Hotel
#18 of 147 in Unawatuna
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pipels House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pipels House

Property: Pipels House
Address: 55B Pelaketiya Watte | Yaddhimula Road, Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pipels House 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Julien (Giulio), Rama and Nisa welcome you to their Pipel's House. Our hotel is situated in Unawatuna,100mt far from one of the best Sri Lanka's bay southside. Pipels House is newly built, and the quality of workmanship is very high. We have created a house, where something always happens! We offer an high level of service, English/Italian speaking staff, simple and genuine italian cuisine, all 100 mt far from the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Pipels House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing