We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joe's Bungalow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Joe's Bungalow
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

It is a bit too late to be writing a review, as I stayed with my wife and 02 other couples during November, 2012 but i thought that I should rate this property.

We stayed during a long weekend and 01 couple and myself took the apartments outside, while my other friends took the main apartment. The main apartment was a joke!!! The toilets were leaking and it was not properly maintained. When we mentioned this to the staff they did their best and contacted the Manager (who is in Colombo) and arranged a room inside the bungalow. There are 04 rooms inside the bungalow. When this was given to my friend, I asked if we both can also move into the bungalow so that we can enjoy the same roof but this was a problem. I really didn't understand what the issue was, as we were the only people occupying the full property and we had paid extra for the apartment. I didn't bother to take this further.

The staff were great!!! They organised a BBQ for us and we had a great time. Being a Hotelier myself, I know what standards are and this place should be maintained better. The rate is good but they should also be flexible, as I really didn't see the reason to why we couldn't be accommodated inside the bungalow. The water flow is not good and it does take a while to have a bath.

These are little issues that shouldn't be looked at negatively, as we had a great time and we hope to return. The hot tub was working fine and the beach was great!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay009, Owner at Joe's Bungalow, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a positive review. We are happy to hear that you had a good holiday. Noted you h ad a fewnegative comments and we will have these looked at. I hope to see you back again at Joes Bungalow!!

Kind Regards
Joes Bungalow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    17
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

What an absolutely fabulous place. Beautiful gardens where the chipmunks took up residence. Lying swinging away in the hammock to a stroll on the beautiful beach. Peace and serenity. Fantastic staff, nothing was too much trouble. Care and attention received second to noon. This is a place that calls you back time after time. To find tranquility in life is rare but I found it there.

Room Tip: All rooms good but the side facing the ocean probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay009, Owner at Joe's Bungalow, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Pauline

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so happy you had a great holiday. We hope to see you back at Joe's Bungalow again soon!!

Many Thanks
Joe's Bungalow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Mahbulah, Al Kuwayt, Kuwait
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed at Joe's for 5 nights in February with another couple, and we didn't want to leave. Our room on the ground floor opened out to the beautiful grassy lawn which was bordered by stunning Unawatuna beach. Our room was very comfortable and clean. We had a little porch where we hung our wet swimsuits and towels overnight so they could dry. We spent many evenings lounging in lawn chairs in the grass, sipping cocktails, and watching the sun set. In the evenings, fruit bats swoop in and land in the palm trees above. When we wanted to go explore, we were let out by the friendly security guard who kept watch over the place. Each night we walked to a different restaurant on the beach (though the best food by far is at the vegetarian restaurant on the road behind the Flamingo). We'd stumble home to Joe's a few hours later, stuffed and ready to sleep so we could wake up and do it all over again.

My complaints with this place are minor-we could have used a change of bed linens about halfway through our stay, but we asked for a new top sheet and were quickly accommodated. One important detail is that you have to pay your balance in cash and there are no ATMs in Unawatuna. Plan ahead so you don't have to spend your last night in this beautiful place running into Galle for money. ;)

Thanks Joe's! We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay009, Owner at Joe's Bungalow, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest.

We are so happy to hear you describe your holiday as Heaven. Thank you for your lovely review and we really hope to see you back again soon

Kind Regards
Joe's Bungalow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We were a large group of friends/couples and individuals. Its a lovely place to relax and read a book... the place was lovely, clean and very friendly & helpful staff. however the out door jacuzzi didn't work. All amenities worked well. (TV, AC, FAN, etc...)
The food was amazing... be sure to ask for Sri Lankan food which they do really well. the beach is great. but i wish the pathway (little stair way) to the beach front is cleared up as i cut my foot twice trying to get down.

Thumbs up!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dilini W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay009, Owner at Joe's Bungalow, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Thank you for your positive review. We will make sure all the pathways are swept daily, we are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharjah
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

This is our second trip to Joes Bungalow in Unawatuna. The only place we felt we absolutely had to revisit. The bungalow which is on the beach is absolutely lovely, clean, and comfortable with hot water, AC and cable TV, not that you will be watching much TV. We spent 5 days of pure bliss on the beach. The cook prepared some of the best meals that we had in Sri Lanka. The staff are very accomodating though not available at times. We missed the jacuzzi this time though as it wasnt working. This is one place that we would love to return to again and again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharjahresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay009, Owner at Joe's Bungalow, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Thanks so much for your lovely review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again for your 3rd visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We simply love this place. It is as if it is your very own beach bungalow. Simply buy the ingredients and hand over to the cook for a superbly home cooked meal. Rooms comfortable and very clean. Not as if you would spend much time in it....there is the lovely beach to splash about in. And if you can't handle the sand...there is always the jacuzzi!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayidha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay009, Owner at Joe's Bungalow, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Thanks for your positive review, we are really happy you enjoyed your stay at Joe's Bungalow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Travelling around Sri Lanka, this was our best hotel we stayed considering the general level of Sri Lanka accomodation. Accommodation in Sri Lanka is lower quality compared to Malaysia, Thailand, Philipinnes or Bali where we stayed before and considering the room rates in SL. However, Joes bungalows was a nice choice. Located directly on the beach. There is a safeguard all day and night and Padma the cooker was brilliant! She made our stay there perfect!!! Their rooms were clean, air conditioning worked perfectly, however, thez did not change the bed clothes at all and towels just once in 3 days. So we were hapy to have our own towels. The beach and the sea was beautiful. I could even swim with turtle just like 2 meters from the beach. We did not have a proble with noise. So, I can not confirm what other visitors wrote.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirdzug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay009, Owner at Joe's Bungalow, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Thank you for your positive review, we are really glad you enjoyed your holiday!! There are extra sheets and towels inside the wardrobe in your bedroom and we will happily change your bedding and towels upon request. We look forward to welcoming you back to Joe's bungalow should you return to Sri Lanka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
The Villa
The Villa
#48 of 134 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.1 mi away
SurfCity Guesthouse
SurfCity Guesthouse
#42 of 134 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Veranda di Serena
La Veranda di Serena
#22 of 134 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Full Moon Beach Resort
Full Moon Beach Resort
#41 of 134 in Unawatuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ridee Villa
Ridee Villa
#1 of 109 in Unawatuna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Happy Banana
Happy Banana
#112 of 134 in Unawatuna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joe's Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joe's Bungalow

Property: Joe's Bungalow
Address: Unawatuna Beach, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Joe's Bungalow is a privately owned beach bungalow with 4 double rooms in the main house and 2 seperate villas. The whole property can accomodate 12 people. Situated on Unawatuna the beach, the property has a large garden and jacuzzi for guests. No food is included in the room rate but we provide a cook who can prepare meals. Rates are $200 for the bungalow (4 double rooms) per night and $50 per villa per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Joe's Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joe`s Bungalow Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing