We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“17-18 January 2012”
Review of Banana Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banana Garden
Ranked #126 of 161 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Totally overpriced, but a fabulous setting (right on the beach) with great view. Friendly staff. Beds are extra length. Beers are cold. Rooms are dull, minimalistic, drab, dark and depressing (small windows). No facilities. Food is unimaginative, basic and only item worth mentioning is the prawns. Room rate is DB&B, so you have no choice but to eat there since you've paid for it. They're always punting the "local, hand-made Sri Lankan food", but even that lacks imagination. They play elevator music which is on "repeat" so be warned.

Room Tip: All are sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normakidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2012

Stayed here with friends over the New Year period. Had a great time. Rooms clean and comfortable although from reading other reviews I would ask to be located in the main building (stairs up from the side of reception) as I think these are better. We did lose power (and unfortunately water as we were on the top floor which required the pump to work) for various periods of the stay which was difficult but the managers handled it well and really there was little they could do. Food severed in the restaurant was very tasty and good(although we only had the curries so I couldn't speak for more western style dishes). Location is amazing as you are right on the beach and can see the full length of the bay of Unawatuna. Would recommend this place.

Room Tip: As mentioned, ask for a room in the taller building above the main reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonLON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Nice cheapish hotel in a beautiful location. Beach just a few feet away. The food is excellent but the rooms and bathrooms could be better. There is no TV and the bathroom has a concrete floor with an open shower that drains to a hole in the corner. Rooms have Air Con.
Staff and owners really nice. This is a great location to walk and explore a beautiful long sandy beach with plenty of restaurants and bars with sea sports available. Also cheap to travel to other places including Galle the nearest big town and port about 10 minutes away by Tuk Tuk
the local three wheeler transport!
Worth a trip

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the beach but avoid top floors as there is no hand rail with steep steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I loved it. Best location. Good stuff. Food was great) Nothing bad to say)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RomaNovaYana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed two nights at this hotel close to the beach. Rooms are clean, view is nice and food is quite good.

But be careful.. Firstly, they tried to increase room rates even if wehad agreed of a price by phone one day before
Then for breakfast, they wanted to give us just a cup of tea whereas in the menu it was a pot of tea...
Finally when we asked for a taxi car with A/C to go to Negombo, the manager told us a price and the day after, staff (manager was away) gave us another fare, more expensive! We decided however to accept. And instead of an A/C car, we got an old van without A/C!!

IT'S A SHAME!! Don't go there...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xx y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

we were there for about five days in August 2011. It was clean, beautiful and cheap (by Sri Lankan standards). we had a room right by the beach where the sea water came up to our porch. in the day time, there was hot water (because they use a solar heater). the location of this place is a definite plus point. the wifi works well. we didn't try the food after being disappointed with the breakfast for which they served us very boring synthetic sausages and insufficiently fried bacon (something that's hard to go wrong with). but all in all, it was a very very pleasant stay. highly recommended. (ps: our room costed 33 USD per night, without breakfast)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We were here during the low season, so there were not many guests. The staff used this quiet period for hotel repairs, cleaning and painting. While doing so, the service to us (from breakfast on the beach to lunch on the beach beds, an occasional beer and sometimes dinner) remained excellent! The guys who work here are really fun and are 100 % after making sure you fully enjoy your stay. The place is right on the beach and the views are awesome. There is a current in front of the hotel that prevents you from drifting out to open sea, so really safe for kids.

We absolutely had a great time here, we'll be back for sure!

Enjoy your stay,
Cynthia and Friso (Rotterdam, NL)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frisbee7624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
0.1 mi away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 34 in Unawatuna
974 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#13 of 34 in Unawatuna
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Beach Castle Bed and Breakfast
15.3 mi away
Banana Garden Guesthouse
Banana Garden Guesthouse
#16 of 199 in Mirissa
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Garden

Address: Galle - Matara Road, Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Banana Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Garden Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing