We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view, qualified staff & excellent service management”
Review of Banana Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banana Garden
Ranked #111 of 146 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Amazing view, qualified staff & excellent service management”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Comparing with several others hotels (it's not my 1st time in Sri Lanka), i was pleasently surprise of quality of services, delicious food and great portions for adequate price.

Top 5 points you want to come back to this hotel:

- the most amazing view in Unawatuna
- close enough to the entertainment part of beach, but not to much to be safety and quiet place to rest
- fresh products and great chef will make your day delicious
- wide range of rooms and prices - you can choose according to your budget and love to luxury
- trustworthy, professional staff and great management

Best wishes,
Natalia

Room Tip: if you don't want to pay a lot, you can choose a room for 45-50 dollars on the 2nd floor with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nataliia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    23
    18
    9
    12
See reviews for
6
40
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Overall, this hotel is a good place to stay but I am sure there are better places in Unawatuna (you just need to book in advance).

Advantages

- The view is amazing because the hotel is literally located on the beach.
- You can have breakfast, lunch and beers while lying on the sunbeds.
- The sea is clear and calm at this location: it is safe to swim there.
- The rooms are clean and quite large.
- The staff try hard to maintain the hotel clean and offer a good service

Disadvantages

- The hotel is also located literally on the main road.
When you are on the sand side, lying on the sunbeds and drinking a fresh beer or a nice fruit juice, then you think you are staying in the best hotel of Unawatuna.
But, when you go back to your bedroom, it becomes a nightmare. You feel you are staying in a crappy hotel located next to a highway (many buses and trucks are passing by the hotel all day and night long).
So mix feeling because at the same time, you can hear the sound of waves and buses horning!

- It is totally overpriced: we paid 75 USD per night for a room with aircon, hot water and balcony but breakfast was not included.

- You have to pay in advance the total number of nights you have reserved. So, you are stuck in this hotel even if you don't like it!

Room Tip: Ask for at least a room on the 1st or 2nd floor. Avoid rooms on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Unawatuna hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

Banana Garden Restaurant and hotel seemed to be a new spot. Not all light fixtures and decorations are in place but the rooms are large, clean and surprisingly quiet (despite its distance to the main road).

We were on third floor and really enjoyed our view to the ocean. Rooms were nice too (no AC). We very much enjoyed our stay there and the staffs were extremely helpful. But for $100 USD a night for half board (breakfast and dinner), it seems a bit expensive. This is mainly because of lack of amenities. You could probably pay a little more and move to Unawatuna Beach Resort and get the full restaurant, bar, volleyball court, and swimming pool experience.

I think this place has a lot of potential. Defitely recommended if you don't mind the price.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abfob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I was here in March & April of 2012. My rating is for the restaurant that is on the bottom floor & the beach. I have to say the food and the service were fantastic. The staff made me feel at home, & were very attentive.

We ended up skipping the meals at our hotel, & eating mostly here. I can personally recommend the pineapple flitter & the mango lassie to anyone. The fish is fresh & delicious also. I spent a lot of time on the beach in front of their hotel as well. I really wished that I had stayed at the hotel, & I will definitely choose it next time I am back in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2013

their management doesn't take any liability of their services . always trying to combat with the customers . now i know my decision was to go for this place was a terrible mistake . stay at a colombo hotel and go for galle is much much better bec u got a highway road . you can reach to galle within a hour

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ruchi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

A nice place to stay for a day or two.
We was staying there for one night. The room was small, the aircondition was partly out of order,
There was a fan in the roof, an a refrigerator at the room, so it was ok.

The best with this place is the location. Directly at the beach. But be aware of some trafic noise, hence the main road is directly outside the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Great place to stay. We had a room that was literally on the beach, which was amazing. It was the perfect start to our week on the south coast. The rooms don’t include breakfast, unlike many others stays in Sri Lanka, so be conscious of that; however, it didn’t matter as we found a very cheap and delicious rotti place just down the beach which met our needs for a few days! Rooms are really clean and are cleaned daily if you leave your key with reception. The manager was very helpful in helping us plan our onward journey back along the coast with lots of good suggestions about places to visit. Would definitely head back here again.

Room Tip: Check out a few different rooms before agreeing on price and room. Some rooms were much better value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodieodea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.2 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Peacock Hotel
Peacock Hotel
#21 of 32 in Unawatuna
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Villa Hotel
Little Villa Hotel
#102 of 146 in Unawatuna
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Veranda di Serena
La Veranda di Serena
#25 of 146 in Unawatuna
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Happy Banana
Happy Banana
#98 of 146 in Unawatuna
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Joe's Bungalow
Joe's Bungalow
#23 of 130 in Unawatuna
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Garden

Property: Banana Garden
Address: Galle - Matara Road, Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Banana Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Garden Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing