We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely location”
Review of Banana Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banana Garden
Ranked #113 of 147 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely location”
Reviewed 6 March 2010

we stayed at banana garden for 10 days during our visit to sri lanka.
our room was directly above the reception and was quite nice. it was small but cleaned every day. the bed was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was really clean and modern. the view from our balcony was fantastic. the staff were polite, helpful and friendly. it is in an ideal location, right on the beach. all in all we had a great time and would have no hesitation in going back there. .

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffers151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    23
    18
    9
    12
See reviews for
6
40
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

The Banana Garden is a guest house built on the beach at Unawatuna. We stayed there for 2 weeks and loved our time at this small friendly hotel. It is extremely clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the curry and rice, dhal etc were gorgeous, so tasty. SIt on the terrace or on the beach to eat, it is so beautiful.
The location is fantastic, king coconut trees shade the balconies and rooms. Although the beach is quite narrow here, in fact some days when the tide was unusually high in the afternoon and evening the waves came right up to the hotel but the ocean is warm, who cares. The sea sometimes swirled around our sunloungers in the afternoon, quite idylic. It may not be too good for children as the ocean is quite rough. It is in a very quiet part of the beach, by 11 o'clock or before the reception is closed so also a bit quiet for older teens but our daughters in early twenties went along the beach to more lively places and were able to access their rooms at any time of the night.
Our room was airconditioned, basic but clean, with ensuite and hot water. The bed was over 5' wide and long, it was really comfortable slept really well there.
Over all we would recommend the Banana Garden to our friends and family any time and I wish I was there now.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liya20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2010

This place looks lovelt but dont let that fool you!

We stayed for three nights but should have left after 1! They promised to fix aircon which didnt aventuate and then charged us astronomical amount but did not provide credit card facilities!

I heard more than one guest calling this disaster Fawlty Towers and they werent wrong...although some of the staff seem nice enough, they are slow, ineffectual, unhelpful and unresponsive. I actually think it might come down to the management because the staff dont seem to have a clue what to do.

Stay away!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CKenny_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laktours, Marketing Agency at Banana Garden, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
We are sorry for the what occurred last January 2011, We are the eMarketing Agency behalf of Banana Garden Resort. This resort try to maintain hotel standard and hospitality. We will forward your message to Management and get response soon. We hope they will learn something from your reviews. It pleasure again comment for the BananaGardern which is highly appreciated. It is best for the development their services and stranded. Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Unawatuna hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.2 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Prime Time Hotel
Prime Time Hotel
#22 of 31 in Unawatuna
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peacock Hotel
Peacock Hotel
#21 of 31 in Unawatuna
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Villa Hotel
Little Villa Hotel
#102 of 147 in Unawatuna
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Happy Banana
Happy Banana
#104 of 147 in Unawatuna
78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Joe's Bungalow
Joe's Bungalow
#25 of 128 in Unawatuna
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Garden

Property: Banana Garden
Address: Galle - Matara Road, Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Banana Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Garden Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing