We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Full Moon Beach Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Baywatch(Unawatuna)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel(Unawatuna)(Great Value!)
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cantaloupe Aqua(Unawatuna)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thambapanni Retreat(Unawatuna)(Great Value!)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CoCo Bay Unawatuna(Unawatuna)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Apa Villa Thalpe(Unawatuna)
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
61
64
31
19
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
64
31
19
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice little restaurantthe ownerrooms are basic but cleansri lankaseafoodwould stay againvery nice place to staysun loungersloungingwaves
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2013 via mobile

We only stayed here because our friends has booked it. Service is pathetic and slow although some of the staff are pleasant enough. If you are a local you will get virtually no service. There is definitely a vibe at this place that white people get better service than black. Been going to Unawatuna for many years and this is perhaps one of the worst places I've stayed. The rooms are stuffy and in poor condition. The food as with most places in Una leaves a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarthEnzoII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Loved this town and small hotel. Located right on the beach this hotel has it all. Cute rooms that have some character, clean, hot water and a/my only complaint is the bathroom; it was a little shabby and could use a good renovation. Wi-Fi that works everywhere, even in your room. The restaurant and staff are very attentive and nice. The beach front is small and is affected by high tide, but this place has plenty of beach chairs and places to chill out. This beach is perfect for swimming. The nice aspect of this hotel is it is not on the main road, so noise is minimal. We loved our time here!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We visit unawatuna frequently and we have stayed at many places but this is undoubtedly the worst place we've been to... firstly they messed up our bookings and five of us had to stay in one room which had only four beds , they weren't even bothered to give us an extra mattress... it was too late in the night to go looking for alternative accommodation so we had no choice but to stay.... when we walked into the room it was extremely smelly and dingy, the sheets were dirty and the beds were wet! We were quite appalled.. the toilet was broken as well.. service was horrible.. we didn't even want to touch the food there based on the state of the room.. the Area was really dodgy as well...so we left early morning without even eating breakfast though we were on BB basis..that's how bad it was.. you can definitely find a place which is million times better for the same price or less..

Room Tip: Try the hotels around the sun n sea area...thhats a much better location
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peumali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We booked this hotel as our friends from the UK were going there. When were were shown our room it was dirty, the sheets were dirty, it smelt and it was very depressing. Spoke to management and they said they would clean it and change the linen. This was done but it was still not somewhere where we were willing to stay. As it was NYE we decided to stay the night. Big mistake. Music went on to 6am, roof leaked and bugs everywhere. Awoke and had something that was meant to be breakfast and then Checked out forgoing our deposit. Friends stayed and had one night when there was no music out of nine nights. They also got out of bed at 10.30pm one night and walked down the street and booked into another hotel for a good nights sleep. If you are after backpacker style of accommodation and late night music then this place would suit you if not don't go. On the upside they did fantastic Italian food as it is run by Italians.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kazza793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Although our stay started pleasantly enough, it ended up being a terrible experience and has forever changed my opinion of Sri Lanka. We arrived the first evening as a group of girls to find that our room was right next to the disco. When we requested to be relocated, the owner offered us different accommodation - the hotel's villa, at the same rate. We accepted and agreed to move there the next night. That night, the owner drove us over, announcing to us on the road that he was "probably too drunk to drive." When we arrived, he poured us all drinks and proceeded to try and regale us with stories of his family. Innocent enough. However, once we made a move towards leaving, he cornered one of the girls in our group in the kitchen and grabbed her, trying to kiss her. She had to push him away and ran out of the kitchen altering us to what had happened. The owner then became aggressive and creepy, telling us that it didn't matter if we locked the doors because "the windows are always open. ALWAYS OPEN." Being 5 women travelling, we decided to leave the hotel, losing the money that we had paid for our visit in lieu of being raped during the night. Full Moon Resort in not a place I would recommend to any woman traveler.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank emilyjjDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews