We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Full Moon Beach Resort
Ranked #36 of 162 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Best spot on the beach, other hotels don't have any sand left. Very chilled out and relaxing sun beds with a great big tree to provide shade and atmosphere. Rooms were like most rooms in Sri Lanka, not great value for money. Service was slow to non existent. Would stay again if the price was lower.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Larryhq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2013

Pleasant setting overlooking beach. Ordered one breakfast, termed european breakfast at a cost of rupees 550,very nice. Second order was for one glass of fruit juice, it arrived in a very small wine glass but the charge for this small glass was rupees 400, an extremely high charge for such a small drink

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank roybricknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I stayed here a few months ago and it was pleasant, considering the fact that it was Christmas holidays and the entire beach was full of tourists. However, last night was a different story altogether. First of all, we were given the worst room in the entire place, Room 10 or Modena as it is called, which is right next to the restaurant. Secondly, there was some kind of karaoke party going on next door and people just kept on belting out cheesy 80s music till the wee hours of the morning. Thirdly, at about 7 am, a child could be heard speaking on top of her lungs right outside the room and no one did anything about it. I'm sad to say that this'll be the last time I'll be staying here. I feel quite embarrassed as I actually brought a friend with me this time and had told her that the location of it more than outweighed the state of the rooms but on the end, the location meant nothing after having a sleepless night. Never again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UnawatunaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

Ate here a couple of times. My friends the fish, which I gathered was ok. I chose the vegetarian options. First veg noodles, nothing to write home about, next time penne arrabiata, which I must say was one of the best I've ever had! Maybe it's because I asked for it Sri Lankan spicy rather the the tourist level of spice, which may as well be as spicy as a bowl of cornflakes! ;)

The one thing that lets it down is the very poor table service. Once ordered the food is made pretty quickly but getting the order taken, bill ordered and paid, then waiting for change is a real bore! Ordering drinks is as bad. I ordered the same beer three times over a 15min period and there was more staff than customers. If they were busy I'd understand as I'm realistic about these things.

I've only eaten at a couple of beach side bars while staying and the service level has been poor at both.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Uncle-Jayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Rooms are alright!!! Prettiest view, nice location just at the beach!!! didn't really try the sea food here but the Italian dishes are outta this world!!! Try the Full Moon special pizza for sure!!! and other Italian dishes!! yummy!!!!

They should also try to accept cash rather than just cash!! That was a bit of a hassle!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hiranya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013 via mobile

We only stayed here because our friends has booked it. Service is pathetic and slow although some of the staff are pleasant enough. If you are a local you will get virtually no service. There is definitely a vibe at this place that white people get better service than black. Been going to Unawatuna for many years and this is perhaps one of the worst places I've stayed. The rooms are stuffy and in poor condition. The food as with most places in Una leaves a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarthEnzoII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Loved this town and small hotel. Located right on the beach this hotel has it all. Cute rooms that have some character, clean, hot water and a/my only complaint is the bathroom; it was a little shabby and could use a good renovation. Wi-Fi that works everywhere, even in your room. The restaurant and staff are very attentive and nice. The beach front is small and is affected by high tide, but this place has plenty of beach chairs and places to chill out. This beach is perfect for swimming. The nice aspect of this hotel is it is not on the main road, so noise is minimal. We loved our time here!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 34 in Unawatuna
958 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prime Time Hotel
Prime Time Hotel
#26 of 34 in Unawatuna
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Blue Eyes Inn - Unawatuna
Blue Eyes Inn - Unawatuna
#1 of 148 in Unawatuna
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wimals Resort
Wimals Resort
#40 of 162 in Unawatuna
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Full Moon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Full Moon Beach Resort

Address: Yaddehimulla Rd, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: £22 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Full Moon Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Full Moon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Full Moon Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing