We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Room, Right Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Full Moon Beach Resort
Ranked #34 of 147 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent Room, Right Spot”
Reviewed 19 April 2010

Came from another hotel and got room at a good price. Basic room, but right on the beach, in the middle, under the best shade on the beach (needed in the first week of April). Yeah, sweet!

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mustardstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    62
    28
    18
    17
See reviews for
25
67
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2010

is basic but it's on the beach and Unawatuna is one fantastic beach.

The owner/manager is a double for Denzil Washington and a nice friendly guy too

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mc5mu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2010

I stayed here for 4 nights...and it wasn't nearly long enough! I'm travelling in Sri Lanka for 3 months, and this is possibly the best guest house I've found for value, location, food and THE most pleasant staff and manager. Central to all the restaurants and bars but not noisy or overwhemlingly busy. The staff quietly cater to your every whim - even noting where you prefer your sun bed placed...outstanding! The bungalows are right on the beach, have good mattress's, good mosquito nets and are scrupulously clean - this place is popular so it pays to book in advance/

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helend10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

We went to this hotel on a 2 day excursion from our main resort in Negombo The hotel is just outside of Galle and down a narrow windy road, and to be honest I wasn't expecting great things! However once through the gates I was hooked by the idyllic white sandy beach and blue sea. We opted for a room with A/C, but they all have ceiling fans anyway and for £17 a night, it wasn't breaking the bank! The room was clean, tidy and all you needed for a good nights sleep. For me, the only disappointment was the shower-although hot, it was a bit slow and the water trickled out of the shower head. If we were staying longer, we would have asked for it to be sorted and because the staff were so attentive, I'm sure they would have done so straight away. Lovely food, the seafood is bought fresh every morning, you can even put a order in.
Despite the beach traders and that this place is on a line of beach hotels, we found it very relaxing and would have been quite happy to stay for the rest of our holiday!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajayfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Stayed here for 4 nights in June.

June is the off season and we were expecting more rain but it only really rained for an hour in the night and then was beautiful sun all day

We stayed in a non ac room with fan. We didn't realise but there was a 3 day beach party next door (only happens once a year....typical luck we were there then!)

But when we moaned about the noise they moved us to an ac room further away that was more shielded from the noise by the restaurant at no extra cost.

Really good service, we would read at dusk on the restaurant on the sea front and they would light mozzie coils for us.

Good sun loungers and they would point out things to us like the turtle that would visit in the sea.

Only annoying thing was that they lost the key to the book cupboard to change your book and donate the old one so I had to put up with German magazines.....not good when you dont understand a word!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faye59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
0.1 mi away
Paradise Garden
Paradise Garden
#11 of 147 in Unawatuna
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Villa
The Villa
#85 of 147 in Unawatuna
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Happy Banana
Happy Banana
#103 of 147 in Unawatuna
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Villa Hotel
Little Villa Hotel
#104 of 147 in Unawatuna
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Full Moon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Full Moon Beach Resort

Property: Full Moon Beach Resort
Address: Yaddehimulla Rd, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Full Moon Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotels.com so you can book your Full Moon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Full Moon Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing