We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting and good food”

Thaproban Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 111 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The crumbed fried fish and carbonara was delicious and good value for money. Tables are set on the beach - lovely ambience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ShiromiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Valued Customer ,

Greetings from Thambapanni Leisure !

Thank you for patronizing our Beach Restaurant and look forward to welcome back .

Best Regards .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 209 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

We just had drinks at this place so can't say anything about the food but our impression was not good. I made a mistake in ordering (overpriced) red wine, maybe you just shouldn't do that in Sri Lanka but I gave it a try. It was the worst I ever had. Also, the servive was pretty lousy so I'm glad we didn't eat here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank a c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Greeting from thaproban beach house,
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for the review, but we are really worried about the comment that you made about wine. I would like to let you know, we have no any local wines and all are imported wine. And also those are not overpriced; all are competitive prices similar to other places around. Due to government taxing scheme buying prices little higher but we do not target higher profit margins And also we never serve bad quality wine to any guest. We always try to serve the best to anyone. Look forward to you returning if at all possible.


Thank you .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The restaurant is in a nice setting next to the beach. However, this is all it has going for it. We ordered calamari which was really tough and tasteless. Then we ordered the curry and rice, this was really average compared to the many curries we've had throughout our stay. There was an added extra- a black hair. This put me completely off my food. We told the manager who insisted that all the chefs has short hair and that it must have blown in from the beach!!! I wouldn't recommend eating here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Great dining area. Food was ok but nothing to write home about and pricy but the service was excellent.

1  Thank earthworm02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

After eating here 3 times this week I can't believe some of the negative reviews. We had the best seafood here during our time in sri lanka. The best food we had was the seafood platter (Prawns, Tuna, Giant Prawns etc) and lobster. All was cooked excellently and extremely tasty.

The service was great and they couldn't do enough for us (looked after our stuff whilst we swam) and they let you use the outdoor shower to clean off before you eat.

Prices were very reasonable and all in all we had a great evening every time.

The staff made this the stand out restaurant for us during our trip. We'll be returning and recommending to others.

Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thaproban Restaurant also viewed

Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 
Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 

Been to Thaproban Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing