We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Palm Grove!!!!!”
Review of Palm Grove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Grove
Ranked #2 of 145 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Loved Palm Grove!!!!!”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We just loved Palm Grove!!!!

A small family run B&B in a quiet street just off the beach (which you need to get a good nights rest).

The owners - Paul and Lorraine were fabulous! Such fabulous service - nothing was too much to ask for!!!!! They gave us great recommendations on places to eat, transport and things to do.

Breakfasts were delicious - tea, fruit and eggs or Sri Lankan breakfast - both were lovely.

Our room was big with all the bits and bobs that make a room the space you need: a huge cupboard with clothes hangers, electrical adapters, lots of mirrors, a dressing table, an entrance area stand to out your day bag on, etc etc etc. Great aircon and fan.

Lorraine also has a safe for your valuables, there's an honesty bar and drinks fridge where you can store your drinks and stock up on new ice-cold sodas, beers and water. There's also a quiet chilling / hammock area that's great if you're looking for a spot to read a book but you don't feel like being on the beach in the midday heat.

And there's also a massive golden spotlessly clean labrador. All in all, Palm Grove felt like a clean, peaceful home away from home!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    23
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
113
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed only 2 nights but wished we could stay longer but it was booked, next time we will book ahead! The room was lovely and spacious and very clean. The owners were really friendly and made us feel very welcome. The included breakfast was also very nice. Its a short walk to the beach, only 5 mins, it was nice to be tucked away.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bailey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We arrived at Palm Grove just after Christmas and absolutely loved it. Lorraine and Paul were fantastic hosts and looked after us during our five day stay. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. We spent a fantastic New Years Even with Paul and Lorraine, so much so we attempted to come back to Palm Grove at the end of our Sri Lankan adventure (however, they were full).
Palm Grove is a short walk away from the beach, but suitably tucked away so that you feel relaxed and rested.
Be sure to say hello to Charlie the Labrador if you stay here - but be careful as he has a tendency to have a nap in places where you're likely to fall over him!!
If you're reading this Lorraine and Paul - a huge thanks from the UK!!
ps - Driver trips can also be arranged through Lorraine and Paul, which are also highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelb722000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

This was one of the most beautiful hotels I've stayed at in sri lanka. Very comfortable, clean and beautiful. Staff are very friendly and welcoming. Would definitely recommend to my friends and family!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank fruity2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

It was a real pleasure to stay at Palm Grove during our vacation in Sri Lanka in January 2014. Our room was spacious and cozy. Overall we especially liked the cleanliness, very helpful staff, safety and the green surrounding of this guest house. It's a good place to relax and overall I would highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j4npr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed at Palm Grove from 15th November to 2nd December 2013. What can I say and where to start.............. It exceeded all our expectations. Lorraine and Paul were extremely friendly, welcoming and nothing was ever too much trouble.
The guesthouse is located just off the main road but you literally feel like you're in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by tree tops! Its a great location, just a few minutes from the local shops, bars and restaurants and a few more minutes to the picture perfect Unawatuna beach. The bedrooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. The beds were made and clean towels were provided everyday. Palm Grove also has the benefit of hot water, which is quite a luxury as not all places have this. They also had the option of air conditioning, again something other comparable guesthouses do not offer!
Lorraine and Paul have two large terraces where you can have breakfast and relax. The Breakfast itself was amazing, fresh fruit, toast and jams, tea/coffee, fresh coconut followed by eggs cooked as you liked them. Lorraine doesn't really have a cut off time either which means if you stay out late you don't miss breakfast in the morning if you get up a little later. In fact Lorraine and Paul don't have any clocks in Palm Grove so nothing is governed by time and everything/everyone is very relaxed.
There is a night watchman on duty every night who is on hand should you need anything after hours.
There is a fridge on the lower terrace that you can keep things in if you need to. Its well stocked too!! and they have an honesty board which means you can take what you want and mark it down then you pay at the end of your stay. This is very trusting of Paul and Lorraine but this is another reflection of the kind of people they are.
We really loved our stay and have recommended Palm Grove to friends, family and colleagues. and hope to visit again some time in the future!

Room Tip: We went with another couples and we had rooms four and five by the lower terrace which really felt l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaSmithurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at Palm Grove from 16th May 2013 to 19th May 2013. The guest house was honestly a little bit tricky to find given that it is down a narrow lane out of the main road, however, that is also part of its unique charm.

From the moment we stepped into the gate, we were treated to a cozy little garden and warm and friendly owners Paul and Lorraine greeting us and bidding us welcome. The room that they picked for us was rustic and simple, but yet tidily made up. The showers worked fine for us thankfully, and the air-conditioning worked, albeit with a bit of a dripping problem. Quick fix was to place a cloth there to soak up the drips.

The optional breakfasts that the friendly and helpful staff at Palm Grove prepares are simple yet hearty. We had eggs done as you like, fresh fruit bought in the morning at the market, and large chunks of toasted freshly baked bread with a variety of jams and butter. You have the option to have breakfast served at various places in the guest house too. We chose to eat at the large foyer dining table for the most part, and had pleasant conversations with our fellow travellers over breakfast and tea.

The best part of the stay was definitely conversations with fellow travellers and with Paul and Lorraine. Paul and Lorraine know the area very well and give good recommendations and tips on what to do and where to go.

We will definitely recommend this guest house to those who seek to travel to Unawatuna and stay on a budget, and are looking for a warm and friendly experience to go with the lovely natural scenery of Sri Lanka, which the guest house proudly sits within.

Terence and Bernadette
May 2013

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amatolihi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#17 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 145 in Unawatuna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunes Unawatuna Hotel
Dunes Unawatuna Hotel
#4 of 145 in Unawatuna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Grove

Property: Palm Grove
Address: Egodawatte, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Grove is located in an idyllic village setting. Very quiet setting. Away from the nightlife but still within walking distance to all locations. Only a 10 minute stroll to the shops,bars,restaurants and the beautiful bay of Unawatuna. There are many tours that you can take from Unawatuna to suit all tastes. The turtle hatchery is less than 20 minutes away, as is Koggala Lake where you can take a relaxing boat trip on the Lagoon and visit some of the small islands situated there. A three to four day tour will take you to Ella with its waterfalls, Nuwara Eliya with its tea plantations and greenery. The 'Temple of the Tooth' at Kandy and the nearby 'Elephant Orphanage' are also well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Palm Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing