We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
Cantaloupe Aqua(Unawatuna)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$266
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sergeant House(Unawatuna)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CoCo Bay Unawatuna(Unawatuna)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
122
79
54
21
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
79
54
21
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafoodsri lankanew wingsea foodcrabsuperb locationlucky tunaprawnsfamily roomcurrystayed here for nightsgalle fortneelbeachturtlescolombo
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Best location on the beach clean rooms great value just a few metres from the sea sheer paradise

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike2141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

just returned from Sri Lanka. Beside travelling around the island, we returned (we were there in May) to Tartaruga (Unawatuna). We've visited many places in SL and other countries of SE Asia and definetely it's one of the best place w've ever been!!! Very clean and cozy rooms just a few steps from the ocean (one of the bungalow right on the beach). Many people come with kids and stuff takes care of every single kid, play with them, so parents i think have really good chances for a honeymoon. Beach is really nice! To say that restaraunt food is great (both: european and the local) isto say nothing as it's like you having a meal at home! Some tables are on the beach, so a stunning ocean view is guaranteed!!! We really like this place and wholeheartly recommend it!!
Special thanks goes to the owners!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matsburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We spent one week in Unawatuna and had a great time there.
Many Thanks for making our stay in Unawatuna so delightful, delicious and funny.

Great Food and wonderful Staff
Will for sure come back and have some dinners at your beach.


Greatings to our sons which give us a lovely time.

Greatings from germany
Thomas and Sabine

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank TausS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Enjoyed my stay here, most of the staff were eager to please...and service was better than some so called upmarket hotels I've stayed in.

Room was lovely and cleaned regulary and flower on the bed etc. Food was excellent.

Would certainly stay here again.

Its priced about right. Hopefully they won't do what other have done and price themselves out of the market.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickyboy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Tartaruga is the place to stay in Unawatuna. Located right at the beach, its the perfect place to laze around and relax. Great ambience, lovely music and not to forget best sea food around..must try their grilled giant crab and calamaris... Ajoy

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank miko_bodhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews