We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sea Breeze Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$101
US$82
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel(Unawatuna)(Great Value!)
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa Baywatch(Unawatuna)
US$126
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heaven By O(Unawatuna)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cantaloupe Aqua(Unawatuna)
US$104
US$79
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CoCo Bay Unawatuna(Unawatuna)
US$114
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$103
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
34
15
7
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
15
7
2
5
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We booked 3 double rooms. One room was so-so, but without a moskito net, so 2 people were biten by moskitos, plus aircon did not work. One room was awfully stinky, nobody wanted to stay in it, so one couple went to another hotel immediately. The 3rd room was old, small and dirty, we have killed a big cockroach there, the locker between room and bathroom was not functioning, the bad was very cracky - loud sound even if slightly moving an arm or a leg, not possible to sleep, so we moved to another hotel next day. The owner was not reacting to our queries. Breakfast is very poor. Located not that far from the main beach (5-10 min), but the way is passing by a wasteland with garbage. We strongly do not recommend anyone to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marrrrrrrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Not really knowing what the rates in Unawatuna are, we agreed to stay here for 3000 rupees a night without breakfast or AC included. What a rip off!

Grumpy owner. No mozzie nets on the windows, only a net above the bed which had a million holes so was pretty pointless.
The curtains in the rooms are disgustingly dirty. We found dead bugs on the floor and dead mozzies on the walls.
Only one towel was provided for the double room and the room wasn't cleaned at all during our 4 days here. Not that I'm bothered, but it's really not close to the beach at all. To top it all off a bat flew in the window on the last day.

We have been backpacking around Asia for a while now and this is pretty much the worst room we've been in. Ridiculous, considering how much they're charging. Check out Paliths Great House, it's gorgeous, clean and at least 500 rupees pr night less.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank magbaba82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We booked Sea Breeze for our last stop in Sri Lanka. We have read a few reviews online and it seemed like a nice and quite place at the beach where we could relax. It took our driver about 10 minutes to figure out where it was. We went up an alley until the end and ended up in front of this old unmaintained house. We seriously thought it was a mistake but the grumpy manager came out to confirm we were at Sea breeze! We went to the reception to wait for our keys and when we asked where was the beach he said "just behind the guesthouse". He disappeared for a while and we had to go and look for him so he can show us our rooms. He must have forgotten we were there! And then the disaster... 2nd floor of a separate house within the guesthouse. No windows, terrible smell, horrible bathroom, barely cleaned... It was a nightmare! We were expecting our last few days in paradise to be perfect.. but apparently something went wrong! We immediately left to look for the beach and realized that it was NOT right behind the guesthouse. It was not far indeed but still.. Once on the beach we found a super nice guesthouse cheaper than Sea breeze and right on the beach that we booked immediately, knowing that we won't get reimbursed at See breeze. When we went back to pick up our luggage, the - still very grumpy - manager didn't even dare coming out to discuss it with us, he just sent us a staff member so we can give him back the keys. What a disaster... If you are really looking for a ncie relaxing holiday on the beach, DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeemeeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I stayed 7 days at Sea Breeze Hotel. I did not intend to stay so long, but the room, the beach, the hospitality was really exceptional. I was really sad to leave. I stayed till the last moment and then half a day to Negombo for my next day flight. Thanks SEA BREEZE. I definitely will come back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edwuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I stayed here in Jan/Feb 2013 for 7 nights. Perfect for what i needed - close to the beach, 2 mins max, near to the Unawatuna Beach Resort (UBR), so somewhere to watch the footie or cricket! Very well priced (approx 2500 per night). My room - Shiva, also had hot water which was a bonus. Nice breakfast if you wanted it there, or go to the numerous other beach front cafe's - i used the Peacock a lot- nice guys there and sun loungers free to use (i usually ate one meal a day there there to keep them on side!), Suranga (the owner) is a top bloke, arranged an airport pick up for around 8000 and also a driver to take me to Adam's Peak and then on to Negombo for the last day or so of my holiday, so that i was on a beach but near to the airport. Lots of places to eat on the beach in the evening - a chicken curry will be approc 300-600 (£1.50-£3)!! Lion beer is good too. Friday night at the Happy Banana is a funny night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colgate07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews