We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was weird!”
Review of Sun'n'Sea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sun'n'Sea Hotel
Ranked #18 of 161 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2011

I stayed at the hotel with a group of friends and it was eerie and weird throughout. Although it looks nice and inviting there was something that we all felt very odd.
There was a lady at the reception dressed in black who said she doesn’t stay overnight as she don’t trust the others and kept on speaking of deaths in the hotel! The owner had died sometime ago at the hotel and was not discovered for 2 days. There had been 2 mysterious deaths of staff and apparently noises were heard at night. All that had stopped after some religious activities as per the lady named Florence.
We lost our cake of soap in the first night and had no idea how that happened to date! There were no entry/exit points for any kind of animal visible to us! Hotel staff were not helpful when we reported this.
There are doors from the rooms opening to a corridor towards the hotel to which guests are not given any keys, and there are absolutely no latches for us to lock the doors from inside other than hoping for the best. I think staffs are occupying the other side of the corridor which is very unacceptable

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LCGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2011

This is probably the type of accommodation I like best. Small, personal, clean and uncomplicated. It is directly on the beach, you'll have breakfast with a great view.
The rooms are quite modern, they seem to have renovated recently, and everything is in order. Breakfast is good, and staff is very friendly. There is really nothing to complain about.
Although the Galle-Matara road passes right behind the hotel (this is the case in many hotels in Unawatuna), you don't hear any traffic because the sea is much louder. So the road didn't bother us at all. We had a nice experience in this hotel, because the cook showed us how to cook real Sri Lankan rice&curry.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andiiiiiiiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

A friend of mine recommended this hotel to me. We booked in to it for 2 nights last March. I have fond memories of it so thought I would capture them in a Tripadviser review. The hotel is between the main Galle Road and the beach. Once you are in to the hotel you wouldn' t know you were so near the main road. We stayed in one of the 1st floor (cheaper) rooms. It was a simple room facing onto a terrace over the rocks of the sea. The rooms have slatted doors so they are airy. There is a large fan thing on the wall which stops the room getting too hot and no doubt confuses any insects. I loved lying in bed listening to the sea. It was so much more pleasant than being in a sealed room with air conditioning on. There is a fanstastic view of the bay from the shared Terrace in front of the room. We spent a long time there watching the comings and goings on the beach. To get to the main drag there is no need to go via the road, you can stroll there via the beach. I hope to be back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison_6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

This a pleasant small hotel situated on a small headland right at the end of Unawatuna beach. 2 storeys high, the ground floor rooms are supposedly better than 1st floor but couldn't see why. We stayed on ground floor so you do step right out onto the small tree shaded terrace overlooking the bay. First floor rooms open onto a large wooden balcony and appear to have been recently refurbished. Room had decent air con and mozzie net around bed. Bathroom is shared with unenclosed shower area which is fine, although the separate shower head for hot water supply had no wall mounted holder so thats kind of stupid. Breakfast a simple affair of fresh fruit, bread and eggs. Step right out onto the beach and you can walk around the bay to the "main" strip of beach bars/restaurants where a good choice of food and a cold Lion beer is available, and a bit more life than exists at Sun n Sea. Walking from hotel to centre of bay area along the main road not so much fun due to the manic traffic - speeding crazy buses race by at dangerous speeds. When you hear the diesel growl and the honking horn, step onto the verge quick. Lots of Bajaj 3 wheelers available nearby to take you into Galle (which was a bit of a let down).
Hotel does not take credit cards so have cash.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scotsmaninmalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Wolfgang A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Лучший номер - 4. На первом этаже номера с открытой террасой.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank zhanna1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Simone M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.5 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 34 in Unawatuna
974 reviews
0.3 mi away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
1.6 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 34 in Unawatuna
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Apa Villa Thalpe
Apa Villa Thalpe
#19 of 34 in Unawatuna
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sanmira Rennaissance
Sanmira Rennaissance
#26 of 34 in Unawatuna
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun'n'Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun'n'Sea Hotel

Address: 324 Matara Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: £36 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun'n'Sea Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A piece of heaven on Earth... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Sun'n'Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing