We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“paradise in unawatuna”
Review of Sun'n'Sea Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Unawatuna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sun'n'Sea Hotel
Ranked #18 of 145 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“paradise in unawatuna”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

First time I stayed here in 2010 it was my first night ever in Sri Lanka. I thought I was in paradise. My room practically on the shore, restaurant looking along the beach and out to the waves. Beautiful food, smiling friendly staff, clean rooms with air con, good showers and crisp white cotton sheets and room to lie in the sun sipping coconut juice and watching the sea. We came back in 2013 and Sun n Sea was a must to return to. A short walk to the rest of Unawatuna but away from any noisy parties at night. An extremely short walk to a dip in the beautiful bay. Fabulous sunsets over scrumptious dinners. And now they have an additional bar and dining space on the first floor with even fabulouser views. Managed, I am told, by a very interesting chappie who has travelled the world and brings his experience of what travellers want with a range of cooking skills and travellers stories. The hotel has been run by the same family for many years with consequent attention to detail and good atmosphere. Not to be missed!

Room Tip: Ground floor have large lounging area with shade from trees outside rooms, first floor have views an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skinnerlorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    35
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
44
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I stayed here with my Father in 2005 and though both he and Mrs Pereira who founded Sun'n'Sea are gone, their spirit lives on. Prices at Sun'n'Sea have gone up quite a lot and it was bit beyond our budget so we stayed at the other end of the Beach but we came here for a 60th Birthday dinner for me which was very nostalgic. The place hasn't changed much at all and the view remains fantastic - we were treated to massive lightning storms and a huge deluge after sunset. The food also remains very good - an impressive selection of seafood and curries plus some Chinese and European options. it was very nice to return and find the place much as i remembered it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgentC53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Beutiful but not fancy hotel with a very nice atmosphere and exceptionally nice staff. The rooms are just a couple of meters from the ocean facing the sunset. We had a wonderful quite large familly room on the 2nd floor. The beach in Una is a bit narrow, but this hotel makes it worth stopping over for a couple of nights. Good food also!

Room Tip: It seemed nicer to stay on the ground level, since you get a very nice space in front of the room ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tkamsvag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Loved this place. Fantastic efficient friendly staff, Clean airy rooms, wonderful location. Great place to be to unwind and completely chill out. Being positioned at the other end of the beach away from the bustle of the Unnawatuna means that it is extemely peaceful especially at night. The large patio where you take breakfast gives excellent views of the beach and the clear crystal blue water. Food was never a disappointment.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are larger although excellent views from the terrace on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKLara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights recently and couldn't have been happier with my choice. A friendly B&B which is just the right size, breakfasts comprise of bread, eggs, butter, juice and jam which sets you up nicely for the day ahead. In addition to the good accommodation the views at sunset across Unawatuna bay are something to behold.

Beds are comfy, aircon powerful and bathroom clean. There is also a nice verandah or garden to sit and relax in.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoon31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed at sun 'n' sea from 15th January until 25th January and loved every minute of it. The rooms were big and clean with a big, clean en-suite. No tv or telephone so no distractions but there was good free wifi which meant we could keep in touch with home. Ameen the owner is very helpful and organised airport taxis etc. all his staff are lovely so friendly and happy. The housekeeper Florence made sure our room was spotless every day with clean fresh towels. Rohan the waiter couldn't do enough for us from beers on the veranda to a cuppa overlooking the beach.
The food was so good that 70% of the time we were there we ate in the restaurant. The seafood was especially delicious and the chef made a point of coming out to chat to us an check we had been happy with everything.
It is located in the very best bit of Unawatuna on a beautiful stretch of beach just far enough away from all the other guest houses, bars and restaurants. But a 5 min walk brings you into the midst of everything and all the shops on beach road ( 200 rupees in a tuk tuk).
This is one place we will definitely be coming back to.

Gill & Mark

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely we had an upstairs one which was cheaper ( no idea why as they have better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foggy2259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Unawatuna is a dream location, and the Sun'n'Sea occupies a pride location with amazing views of the sea and beach. This small property has two options - lower level and upper level rooms - all facing the sea. The rooms are basic but spacious. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are clean and hygienic. The staff are very courteous and helpful.

The lower level rooms open out onto a small garden/verandah where one can sip tea, read a book or take a nap in the warm sea breeze. This used to be a holiday home of the present owners and they have preserved a section of the door that their mother held onto during the devastating tsunami.

The two things that need improvement are the food and the wireless Internet connectivity. We ate just once and were not very impressed with the food.

All-in-all, a fantastic option for visitors to Unawatuna.

Room Tip: If available, select the upper level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AashishSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
1.6 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rock Fort Hotel & Spa
Rock Fort Hotel & Spa
#22 of 31 in Unawatuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun'n'Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun'n'Sea Hotel

Property: Sun'n'Sea Hotel
Address: 324 Matara Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A piece of heaven on Earth... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing