We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time around was as good as the first”
Review of Sun'n'Sea Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Unawatuna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sun'n'Sea Hotel
Ranked #19 of 147 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
214 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“2nd time around was as good as the first”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I remember being here the first time. This time was just about as good. I got here pretty darn late. But the hotel knew I was coming. So they let me in without a fuss. I stayed in the same room I was here the last time (first floor, room 6). Heard the waves and went to sleep. Felt the sun stream in and heard the waves as a I woke up. Jumped straight into the ocean and spent nearly an hour in it (got a mild sun burn in the process). Had a beasty breakfast and a massive lunch. It was a holiday well spent. The staff, couple of them who looked like they remembered me were as nice as I last remember them.

Room Tip: I prefer the first floor just because you get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    35
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
44
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The place is located at the corner of where the beach begins. It has a great view of the entire sea coast.
The food is great and the staff is ever friendly and warm.
Make sure you take the room on the ground floor as it's closer to the sea.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deecee02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Title says it all..Best BB inn in una...

only thing i could propose is to make the balconies private rather than using the balcony as a passage way the existing passageway could be used.Next time planning to rent all the rooms on the top floor with a larger crowd..

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the top corner...Larger and less disturbance
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neero700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Being a family of five its hard to find accommodation that is good value and in a great location. We stayed two nights here in the air-conditioned family room which meant we could all be together. The room is just lovely with a generous bathroom. Outside the rooms is a terrace where you can sit in the cool breeze and watch the waves. It was just wonderful being able to swim right out in front and its only a short walk into Unawatuna. This means its a very peaceful location. The restaurant is so lovely on the terrace looking onto the sea and across to the twinkling lights of the main beach strip. Whilst our teenagers had the pizzas (which are amazing- see my review of the pizza bistro) my husband and I had the house curry special both nights. They were really delicious and well worth ordering. You get a range of curries that are superb. I must say with the combination of the hotel and the wonderful restaurant this results in an easy choice for accommodation at Unawatuna.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Japtour2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We checked in for 4 nights at this wonderful place. Beautiful location away from the main crowded beach but at a walk-able distance. The place has its own small beach next to it. The staff is wonderful and lends a family air to the entire place.All rooms are beautiful and sea facing.We wished to stay more but our itinerary was already planned. The food is good specially the wood fired pizzas and Sri Lankan food.The view from the restaurant and sound of the waves double the taste of the food served
Will return to this place

Room Tip: All rooms are good with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandeepmota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2013

It was wonderful to celebrate our anniversary here. We got a complimentary bottle of wine to celebrate our special day from Ameen and his sister. As always the food and friendly staff makes it worth our stay here as its not our first or the last for sure.. Thank you guys..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niimmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We spent one night in this small hotel facing the Unawatuna Bay. Though it is slightly away from the happening strech of beach at unawatuna it has a wonderful view of the ocean, which really make it worth the money.
The service & the food was not bad, but they should really improve on the breakfast menu. The 'English Breakfast' they served was nothing much.
Anyway the stay at unawatuna was very enjoyable. The owner Ameen Deane was a nice gentleman who was very helpful.

Room Tip: Room no. 1,2 & 3 has lovely sea view terrace..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danushka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.5 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
882 reviews
1.6 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
672 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 31 in Unawatuna
245 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun'n'Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun'n'Sea Hotel

Property: Sun'n'Sea Hotel
Address: 324 Matara Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A piece of heaven on Earth... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing