We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
49
28
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
28
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor great hotel spacious balconies mosquito net place to stay unawatuna bay sea view good size recommend this hotel stayed for nights enjoyed our stay every morning tuk tuk the owner balcony wifi beach
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed in one of the top rooms where the view from the nearly mind-blowing. The staff was very friendly and helps to make you feel welcome. The breakfast on the balcony was a real treat!
To go to the beach you only have to cross the narrow road in front of the hotel, restaurants and bars are close by, but not so close that the sound bothers you.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

What an amazing place to stay!

We stayed for 5 nights and we got it for a real bargain. The room was spacious, clean and charming. We had a stunning view of the beach, the hotel is literally 10m from the beachfront across the little street.

The staff were very friendly and welcoming. They made us feel at home and couldn't do enough for us. They booked us a tuk tuk to go into Galle (350 rupees) and the taxi to the airport (8500).

On our last day we checked out and then left our things with the staff while we enjoyed the last few hours of sunshine on the beach before heading to the airport. They also have a handy washroom where you can shower once you have checked out.

I would definitely stay here again, it was a charming guesthouse in the middle of paradise!

Room tip: Rooms on the second floor have an amazing view of the beach.
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SuziF38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Hotel Dhammika really is a lovely guesthouse. It's family run, the rooms are really great with good balconies and solid wood furniture and it's in a really prime location, right on the beach - each room has a sea view. The breakfast in the morning (served on your balcony) is good value and delicious. We loved our stay there. But, there is one big issue. You HAVE to pay cash to stay there. Our bill was something like $500 and we seriously struggled (bar making a 20 minute trip to Galle) to find anywhere that could give us that amount of money in cash, to pay the bill. Our last day was spent frantically trying to get a credit card advance to settle the bill and it was a total pain in the butt. There is no ATM in Unawatuna and considering the prices and the amount of tourism, it is INSANE. Other hotels take cards, Dhammika doesn't but at the room prices they charge, they should. It forces people to carry loads of money and also $500 in rupees was more notes than I've ever seen. It wouldn't fit in my pockets! I almost needed a new bag to carry it in.

Sri Lanka in general was more expensive than we thought, way more expensive than India and I was slightly disappointed overall. The food gets repetitive - although the seafood is incredible - and it feels really geared up to taking tourists money. Don't expect to go there and be a backpacker...

And a tip - don't bother visiting Kolgalla lake. It's the BIGGEST rip off ever. Every island expects a donation and the entry price is so high.

But, hotel Dhammika is a gem. I recommend it. Just make sure that you take enough cash!

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Natkinson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

What a great hotel/guesthouse/ beach 20metres away/ beautiful balcony to watch the day go by/large spacious room/good sized bathroom/fan and aircon rooms/ fridge and tv/the rooms are cleaned daily/staff here are GREAT we will be back again best guesthouse we have stayed in Sri Lanka.

Room tip: one of the top floor rooms
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 29OAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

A lovely stay here for 5000rupees - large room with a fan, tv and hot shower and breakfast on the balcony was just beautiful. The hotel is a little set bak from the beach but just a few metres over the wall you can get to it. There are some rocks between the beach in front of the hotel and the main part of the beach - but it's an easy wade through the water to get there or you can walk through the town. It gets a bit noisy on this beach so I'd shut the widows when you're off to bed.

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silkesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews