We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't tell you how many times we went back here”

Jina's Vegetarian and Vegan Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 97 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The restaurant is listed in the latest edition of Lonely Planet and Rough Guide. No website as far as I know.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Can't tell you how many times we went back here”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We were in Unawatuna for a few days but I think there was only one day where we didn't go this restaurant. It's all home made brilliance - well, at least it tasted like it - from the guacamole and falafel, to the out-of-this-world huevos rancheros, salads and omelettes. And that's before you get to the curries and smoothies. And the sugar-free gluten-free cakes which are not as bland as they sound. In fact, the fruit and cashew cake is one of the best things I've ever eaten. The first time we went the staff were a little bit too laid back, but once they got to know us the service improved. Totally worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Windsorstopover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    155
    77
    37
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Awesome choice for vegetarian food”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Loved this place. In fact, we ate here twice in our 2 days in Unawatuna. The food was freshly cooked. and it showed in the taste.
Try the salads, and the Indian meals.

They also have a little souvenir shop as part of the restaurant, and let you play some of their table games while waiting for the food.
The ambience was quite nice too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RamVenkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Sri Lanka”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Jina's is our favourite place in the country. Might sound like an exaggeration, but believe me, as an expat living here, it's a haven!
Jina makes his food with love and it shows. After a meal, we walk out feeling like we're walking on air - full to the brim with goodness!
My favourite thing on the menu is the guacamole. YUM! The tofu and mustard sandwich is also delicious, as are the nachos and salads. The chai is like a warm hug and the breakfast of huevos rancheros is worth the one hour drive to get to.
Even if you are not vegetarian, give this place a try. Vege or not, it's delicious.
We love Jina's and we love Jina. Thank you for your hospitality and for sharing your gift with us and the world Jina. You are a special man.
GO TO JINA'S! Your body and spirit will thank you.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eprineas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Fantastic Asian vegetarian food in a sea of mediocre”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We loved the food and service at this lovely vegetarian restaurant. They have a small menu and dont always have everything on there. The curry is delicious: particularly loved the mung been Dal. Superb vegetable juices and the service is Sri lanka at its best. Smiles and joy, friendliness and fun. Thanks, Jinas

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DandMtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

What a pleasure to find a vegetarian restaurant. A pleasant atmosphere and freshly cooked food although the menu was quite limited over the two days we ate there.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LooksWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jina's Vegetarian and Vegan Restaurant also viewed

Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 
Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 

Been to Jina's Vegetarian and Vegan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing