We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“MangoHouse Villa is a dream”

Review of Mangohouse Villa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
S7000517.JPG
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
S7000517.JPG
S7000367.JPG
S7000671.JPG
S7000610.JPG
S7000615.JPG
S7000622.JPG
S7000717.JPG
S7000519.JPG
S7000215.JPG
S7000356.JPG
S7000395.JPG
S7000445.JPG
S7000489.JPG
S7000490.JPG
S7000495.JPG
S7000504.JPG
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
VanessaNi...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“MangoHouse Villa is a dream”
Reviewed 17 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

We spent our honeymoon in this charming, spacious and really well positioned villa. It feels as if you are living in the jungle but with the modern amenities that you are used to at home. Unless you have maids at home then Bandu and Varuna do a very good job of looking after yourself and the villa.
If you are lucky enough to obtain a booking then you are in for a very pleasant surprise indeed. The view is nothing less than spectacular and you are only 5 mins walk from the beach. You can eat out, pick up food or buy from the grocery store. The beach is beautiful and sea blissfully warm. The fact that you are not on the beach is a big advantage as the propensity for frequent, loud, youthful parties can disturb a good night's sleep and sleeping on top of them is not fun.
Shaun and Becky's local knowledge is invaluable and very convenient, you will meet numerous characters from their cannon. Nearby Galle is an interesting place to visit and I would highly recommend a trip to Marrissa to go whale watching with 'Raja and the whale'. You get to see the big blue one and Raja's knowledge and care mean that you learn a lot about whale behavior.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View and the friendly service
Liked least: Having to walk back after a couple of drinks
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveJone...
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent town and Villa”
Reviewed 30 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Excellent place to visit and i'm talking about the villa and the resort.
We stayed an extra week, three in all.
. The luxurious villa is set away from the touristy buzz of Unawatuna beach . We loved waking up in the morning and walking out onto the spacious veranda surrounded by trees with a gorgeous view of the sea and temple grounds. We spent a lot of time spotting monkeys and other wildlife from the veranda by our room. The short walk to town was past a temple and beautiful temple grounds , down the steps, across the road and straight onto the wonderful beach.

Shaun and becky were wonderful host and were very knowledgeable about the area and were very very helpful and friendly. The maid, Bandu, was fun and she washed our items when requested. She couldn't have been more attentive and willing to help, catering for our every need.
The location was great and the views from our balcony were also. At night a short tuk tuk ride was needed if you were to lazy (like I was) to climb the steps.. just a few rupees.
Rooms were spacious, clean and tidy. Beds were very comfy and I will return.. I recommend the villa and resort to anyone, anytime..

Great!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and helpfulness
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Reviewed 3 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lizzie D
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Beach, lovely people and perfect secluded villa.”
Reviewed 29 January 2012 for a stay in September 2011

We loved our stay here so much we extended it from 4 nights to 5. The luxurious villa is set away from the touristy buzz of Unawatuna beach giving it a tranquil and secluded feeling, yet with the restaurants and bars only a short walk away. We loved waking up in the morning and walking out onto the spacious veranda surrounded by palm trees with a gorgeous view of the sea. We spent a lot of time spotting monkeys who were very funny and great to watch. The short walk to town was through a temple where we had to take our shoes off and cover up in respect, giving us a taste of the real Sri Lanka.

The maid, Bandu, was lovely and we got to know her well over the few days we were there, I still have the bracelet she made for me! She couldn't have been more attentive and willing to help, catering for our every need. The manager, Caruna, was often there too and able to give us plenty of good tourist info. We had excellent food and yummy breakfasts which were healthy and authentic.

Becky and Shaun's contact GG's Tours gave us an excellent service, planning our ongoing trip. The night watch man was ready to light the path for us by shining a spot light when we were walking back from town late at night.

We felt like we were in the lap of luxury staying at the villa and sometimes found it difficult to drag ourselves away to visit the beach. We have recommended it to friends and family and hope to return there one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the staff.
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne H
Barnsley
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved Unawatuna, Hated Villa!”
Reviewed 16 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011
4
people found this review helpful

We absolutely loved Sri lanka and Unawatuna.
About a week before our holiday we were informed by the owner, Shaun, that the villa was staffed 24 hours a day. A maid during the day and a nightwatchman, and guard dog during the night (the dog was supposed to be in its cage during the day). That didnt sound like my idea of 'peace and tranquility', but at least, I thought, the villa would be spotless if the maid was there 12 hours a day!!
When we first arrived we were shown around the villa, downstairs the lounge and kitchen were open plan. I looked into the kitchen area (as a keen cook) and was horrified! It was obvious everything was filthy. After we unpacked I attempted to clean the work surfaces with antibacterial wipes that I had taken with me, it was impossible, they were too dirty. I cleaned the kettle to make a drink but after looking in the fridge decided our self catering holiday would have to change to room only! The fridge was dirty with all sorts of bits of food inside (a growing garlic bulb 1/2 a jar of something or other etc, etc).
After the first day we simply used 1 Bedroom upstairs and just entered the house to use the safe. Now all the maid had to do was clean 1 bedroom and 1 bathroom, the waste bin in the bathroom wasnt even emptied daily. Prehaps she was too busy sat in the lounge watching TV or doing her family washing and putting it on the sunloungers to dry. The final straw was the day we went to the safe and saw her cooking, we asked what she was cooking and she said it was the dogs dinner. Were we supposed to use the same pans as the dog??
The guard dog was allowed free run of the villa grounds at night and quite often through the day aswell, despite being told it had bitten 2 children. It constantly jumped all over us. The one occaision I used the sunlounger in the garden, the dog was on it before me!
When we returned to the villa on a night we had to bang on the gate, wait for the watchman to wake up, wait for him to put the dog away, wait for him to unpadlock the gate and then be allowed into the villa that was supposed to be ours for 2 weeks.
Getting to and from the villa proved to be a nightmare. In daylight you could climb the 140 steps then clamber over steep rocks and shale, but in the dark a tuk tuk seemed more sensible. Tuk tuk drivers were very hesitant to take us up the 'mountain', they thought their tuk tuks wouldnt make it, my husband, did, on one occaision, have to push one!!
Again I would like to say how much we loved Unawatuna, But would never consider using this villa again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UAE
Reviewed 12 August 2010 for a stay in July 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
U.K.
Reviewed 2 August 2010 for a stay in February 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing