We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Relaxing and cosy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heaven on Earth Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Unawatuna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heaven on Earth Guesthouse
Ranked #105 of 134 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and cosy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

This place is wonderful, very cosy and quiet, though very close to the beach and restaurants. It is located aside from the main road, so no traffic, tuk-tuks or wandering tourists, peaceful and quiet.
All the good words about the owner are completely true - Mr Bandu and his family are very helpful and friendly, their dog Tsunami is also very cute and clever (though local people do not treat dogs as we do in Russia or Europe), watched our motorbike at nights:)
We started our stay at Unawatuna in on of the guesthouses near this one, but that was a complete disappointment and we walked through many guesthouses nearby unless we entered this incredible place and decided not to look any further. Have no regrets abou that- the prices are very reasonable, the breakfast is great (cooked by the owner himself), balconies in the rooms overlooking trees with monkeys and squirrels - all that is charming.
Will definitely recommend to anyone looking for a peaceful and relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chirik84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    11
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
16
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

Today's Unavatuna is a mess of beachfront hotels, cafes, local retailers trying to survive selling souvenirs and beachware... there is only one road stuffed with tuktuks, random cars and passers-by, who are also trying to survive in all this chaos... Hopefully, this place is developing, and there may be a completely different picture in a year or two...

Still, today, the best way to relax is to have accommodation as far from the beachfront as possible. There seem to be parties every other night, so the farther you get from the beach, the more intact your nerves will be...

For this purpose, Heaven on Earth is a really good option. The guesthouse is located in the inner area of the town, on the only road in Unavatuna that runs along the beach (fuss and chaos) and turns to the Jungle Beach (a still not explored and exploited place of Unavatuna). Heaven on Earth is at the turn of the road, where it moves from the beach towards the jungles.

So, it is a quiet place. I say "quiet" in the Unavatuna meaning of the word, which means - no beach discos, only the sounds of the forest (which are plenty: peacocks shrieking, monkeys quarrelling, birds of different kinds, etc... there is no 0 dB, but all you will hear, will be the sounds of nature, nothing else).

I had a room facing lush verdure (actually it was a room facing the road, but I could not see it). It had a large bed with a mosquito net, and an en-suite bathroom with all facilities needed by a traveler (including constant hot water from the boiler). Besides, there was a Wi-Fi access (constant and reliable: I only had some minor problems for some 2-3 hours during the stay... they were fixed immediately at my request).

Mr. Bandu, the owner of the place, offers an excellent service. I booked the BB option, so each morning I enjoyed a nourishing breakfast (any sorts of eggs, jam-butter-toast, fresh fruit). You'll get your breakfast in a living-room full of antiques - the real Old Curiosity Shop (an inscription says they are for sale, but I never asked about that, so better check). The accommodation is quite affordable for budget travelers, and Mr. Bandu is quite flexible in negotiating the terms of stay.

So, to sum it all up, it a valuable option for a stay in Unavatuna. The main beach of the town is only 10 minutes away (a relaxed walk), the Jungle Beach is about 15-20 minutes (same road as the guesthouse is standing in, it turns into some rocky “shortcut” closer to the beach, it is more of less accessible with the flip-flaps, but better wear something more convenient for short climbs up and down the rocky passage).

Room Tip: IMO, it's better to chose a room with a balcony lit by the sun (at least for half a day). You on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olgaginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmendingen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

What hasen't been mentioned by others is the Very calm Situation the guesthose ins located. It is in a little street near the Buddhist temple so no noisy tuktuks all Day and also far away from the really annoing beachparties . Only 3 minutes walk to beach and resraurants though. Everything else is also true: Mr. Band is a really great host and his sense for Details makes it a special place where you can relax. Every room has its own balcony or outside sittingplace and if you happen to be there in the afternoon you are likely to be offered some tea .

Room Tip: The rooms in the new building ( first floor)have more light, but are also more expensive than the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 62-stefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

This guesthouse is a real gem and it has its soul. The owner, Mr. Bandu, did the best to create the most interesting place we have stayed in during our trip around Sri Lanka. A lot of antique furniture and all other staff are amazing combination of old ages and style. As I have read in previous reviews, I would recommend this guesthouse to those, who are looking for something different.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vendy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I really liked this place. We stayed in one of the rooms on the second floor, but took a look at some of the others. Each room was unique with lots of furniture to store your stuff. The owner Bandu was friendly and helpful. The room had a nice patio where we sat, drank arak and saw all sorts of birds, squirrels and monkeys. It was nice and quiet and only a short walk to the beach area. If you want to spend time at Unawatuna, Heaven on Earth is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs are the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

I have been visiting Unwatuna since it was a totally undeveloped beach back in the 1970s - the post cards still show it that way. For more than a decade my guesthouse of choice has been Heaven on Earth. If you are looking for the lap of luxury or even a "normal" hotel then this place might dissapoint. If you are looking for a reasonably comfortable guesthouse, run by a charming family [Bandu occasionaly likes a tiplle of Arrak but apart from that is the perfect host], with many guests returing for the 2nd, 3rd or 10th time to enjoy the friendly atmosphere then look no further. Its very reasonably priced, the beds are massive, and Bandu and Hanjani will cook a special feast to mark any guest's departure if they've been there more than a few days. However do NOT play Surnam [their son] at draughts unless you like being beaten by a 7 year old.

Heaven on earth is within a couple of undred metres of the beach but far enough away to be reasonably quiet when the beachside discos are in full flow. It has a pleasent little garden and you get to meet a cross section of fellow travellers from student backpackers to old timers. It is also convenient for going up the hill to the "real village of Unawatuna".

Room Tip: The newer rooms upstairs built after the place was hit by the tsunami are the best. Use the mossie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RufusRoffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seravezza
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

we got there after an unsatisfactory trip around Sri lanka,Bantu, is the owner, that together with his wife made us feel like at home.the guest house is located in a quiet road near the Buddist Temple,the garden is wild and the monkeys are very often around climbing all the trees.
The rooms upstairs have unusual shower tap as an elephant trunk,large bed and nice balcony overlooking the garden.
He was very helpful on letting us use his computer being unable to use our laptop and he gave us good tips to get around the area,breakfast was nice too

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lipsiaseravezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.5 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#14 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#9 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
1.2 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heaven on Earth Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaven on Earth Guesthouse

Property: Heaven on Earth Guesthouse
Address: Yaddehimulla Road, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing