We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome in Sri Lanka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dalawella Beach Resort
Ranked #70 of 144 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcome in Sri Lanka”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I am a tour leader and this place was the first one where we stayed and they were welcoming. It was a quiet place, very secure and the experience of a sri lankan cooking class was a great time. Thank you to all the staff of this friendly hotel. The manager is a very good man too!
Ode Beaule from Quebec, Canada

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ode B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    24
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
10
29
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel because I needed to do something for my job and were looking for a hotel with wi-fi. Well, wi-fi did not work half of the time, the second half it was useless, since it was slower than dial-up speed.

Second, in bathroom (sink), we found hair, even pubic hair.

Third, towels were old, dirty and torn on edges. We asked for fresh towels and got pretty much the same quality - smelling of mold.

Last, but not least, the cuttlery for breakfast was dirty - not a good feeling when you're about to eat!

The only positive things were the friendly staff and nicely arranged frontyard.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klemsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I was in Dallawella Beach Resort during early June 2012. It was a pretty decent hotel by the beach and the prices are very reasonable (way cheaper than hotels in Colombo, the capital) .The staff was very polite and their service was excellent. What is more, I have to mention the wooden cabana just by the beach. I highly recommend it to any one who wants to experience the unique charm of shimmering ocean just outside your door.The restaurant has always served excellent food (should try the sri lankan MILK RICE). Over all, It may be bit difficult to reserve the cabana since they only have one, but it is definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Go for the cabana
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neha g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

Nice place.friendly service. Surprisingly good food . Peaceful and quiet. Staid for 6 days. The beach immidiatly in front of the hotel story bottom but Nicke swimmable beach 5 minuters promenade away. Don't miss wijaya beach restaurant for lunch and/or dinner Agneta and Peter Sweden

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We have been staying at The Dalawella Resort for two nights, we booked for four and have decided to stay longer. It is very quiet and the beach is beautiful. Other visitors are saying that the hotels in Galle are much more expensive and no where near as beautiful. The rooms are simple but clean, the beach cabana is very pretty, nice big shower room and nice and clean. Could do with a few more sun beds but ten minutes walk down the beach there are more on offer and a swim safe Laguna. Would definitely recommend anyone to stay here if you are on a medium budget and want to be right by the sea. As we sit on our balcony you can see turtles swimming in the sea in front of you. Beautiful and such a breath of fresh air after e travelling around India for a couple of months. The staff are very friendly, smiling all the time and so helpful serving breakfast to us way past the cut off time as we slept in....

Room Tip: There is only one cabana if you want simple log style cabin with the sea right in front of you so bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayb413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The hotel is located a bit away from the busy main beach in Unawatuna which suited us perfectly. The waves are a bit too high here but only a short walk on the beach away is a natural rock pool perfect for swimming and a bit of snorkelling.
The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and the food absolutely delicious as everything is prepared freshly. They go and buy the fish we order! We've been offered a range of Sri Lankan delicacies such as rare fruits.
The rooms are spacious and clean and well lit!
A perfect stay! :-)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luliapulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

What i liked about this place was the location, attentive staff. Small resort with 8 rooms. Only downside i saw was couple of dogs on the beach which bothering my son little bit. They have excellent view of the beach from the seabeds.
We did the right thing in choosing this resort. Thanks a lot for making for stay comfortable and memorable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santoshbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
0.2 mi away
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
#6 of 29 in Unawatuna
436 reviews
0.3 mi away
EKA Beach
EKA Beach
#1 of 10 in Talpe
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
SAYURA Beach Hotel
SAYURA Beach Hotel
#9 of 144 in Unawatuna
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rockside Cabanas Hotel
Rockside Cabanas Hotel
#3 of 122 in Unawatuna
156 reviews
0.7 mi away
Galawatta Beach Villa & Cabanas
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sevonra Garden
Hotel Sevonra Garden
#107 of 144 in Unawatuna
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalawella Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalawella Beach Resort

Property: Dalawella Beach Resort
Address: 445 Matara Road, Dalawella, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalawella Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dalawella Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalawella Beach Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing