We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotlessly clean.Great family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunny Mood Guesthouse
Ranked #26 of 152 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We recently spent 4 weeks in Sri Lanka having visited the country many times and the 4 days we stayed at this property were the best period of our whole trip. The rooms are very clean and functional and the family who own the property will do whatever they can to make your visit as pleasant as possible. The location is great as there are numerous restaurants on the beach where we had great meals including breakfasts and there are many sunbeds at these places which are available to anybody. The sea is relatively calm and is ideal for swimming. There is a brand new internet cafe virtually next door to Sunny Mood. Finally we saw a great deal of things of interest from our balcony at Sunny Mood, monkeys and woodpeckers being just 2 of them. Reasonably priced , we cannot recommend this establishment highly enough.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2011

We had been recommended to stay at Nor Lanka in Unawatuna but didn't like their price (60 Euro). It was a fancier category of hotel/guest house than we had been staying in while travelling throughout Sri Lanka. Sunny Mood provided the perfect alternative. For 3000 rupees we had a massive clean room with 4 poster bed, freshly washed mosquito net, single bed, fridge with some beers in it (cheap price for them), space for our packs and big bathroom. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony outside our room relaxing. The price also included a lovely breakfast of eggs, fruit, coffee and toast.

What made our stay so nice was not just a big bright clean cool room, but the lovely family who ran the place. They made us feel welcome. The guest house is an easy 2 min walk directly onto the beach, but we found the best swimming and eating at Unawatuna to be further around the beach towards the Buddhist temple. Wherever the Sri Lankans are swimming the water will be more calm, with less dumping waves.

Be sure to check out Il Rustico down next to the temple and dive shop. The young chef here does lovely Italian and also some of the best Sri Lankan curry and vegetables that we ate in the whole country. They buy their seafood straight off the fisherman as they come in to the beach in front of the cafe with the night's catch. It is also a quick tuk tuk ride back to the hotel if you're too tired after swimming!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P0lecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We had a double room with ac for very reasonable price after negotiation with a landlord. Near to the beach through unawatuna beach resort, no problem with access, only 2-3 minutes by walk.
Good value. Next to nor lanka a well.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yerzhan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

i have known this famely for 11years now,they are a lovely famely you can trust 100%,they have great rooms,and can help you whit any kind off needs you may have.rooms are excellente and clean.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jontanote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Sunny Mood is run by a lovely friendly young Sri Lankan family and sits just behind the (soulless, expensive) Unawatuna Beach Resort. The latter provides a quick cut through however from Sunny Mood onto a lovely section of the beach. Rooms are modern, large, recently decorated/ fitted and very clean. No need for mosquito nets as doors and windows shut properly. Big beds and good showers. We had a room with a balcony which provided a lovely view of sunset through the coconut trees. Little shop downstairs for water too. Stayed here for 10 days and felt very happy.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannahLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

The guesthouse is separated from the beach by Unwatuna Beach Resort Hotel. This is very convenient (taxi, lunch, bar etc.).

So it's on the the mid-left section of the bay with the widest range of sand on the beach. Now this area is more attractive, before 2004 tsunami left side was more appealing.

The prices are not too high due to the fact that it is not directly on the beach. A/C is goodworking (extra charge), also fan is available (free).

Food is simple but ok. Food/drinks at the Unawatuna Beach Resort hotel tend to be more expensive. Lots of small good restaurants nearby.

Best time to go is november thru april.

For a not too expensive 5 star buffet dinner I recommend the Galle Lighthouse. It takes some time with the threewheel, but you wont be disapointed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sim_Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Кристина С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.2 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#12 of 33 in Unawatuna
826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 152 in Unawatuna
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sam's Guest House
Sam's Guest House
#8 of 152 in Unawatuna
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#3 of 152 in Unawatuna
255 reviews
0.4 mi away
No Name Rest
No Name Rest
#10 of 152 in Unawatuna
95 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Gaetano
Villa Gaetano
#2 of 152 in Unawatuna
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Mood Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Mood Guesthouse

Address: Parangiyawatta, Peellagoda, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: £20 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sunny Mood Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing