We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunny Mood Guesthouse
Ranked #26 of 144 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

Great spacious rooms, very nice service, newly renovated. Owned by a great Sri Lankan family that invited you in their home and takes care of you as if you are family. Loved the place and will recomment it to anybody visiting Unawatuna.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDA980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    19
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
28
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

we spent 5 night at this locely guesthouse. in contrary to guesthouses located right on the beach, this one was reasonably priced (3000rs) we good a 2nd floor room that was huge and very clean and comfortable. it also had a balcony although not facing the beach side. location is 2 min walk from the beach. proprietor was kind and helping, let us use his internet for free as his guests and arranged tuktuks if we needed.

Room Tip: the front rooms have a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irenakopel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed two nights in Sunny Mood in Unawatuna. The room was big, extra clean with a big, clean bathroom and AC. We even had a balcony. The guesthouse is located near the beach, just a 2-3 min walk, in a quite calm location. The family that runs the guesthouse is very friendly and helpfull. Breakfast is also good - we asked for a string hooper with curry, because we never had one and it was delicious.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magdalena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

We recently spent 4 weeks in Sri Lanka having visited the country many times and the 4 days we stayed at this property were the best period of our whole trip. The rooms are very clean and functional and the family who own the property will do whatever they can to make your visit as pleasant as possible. The location is great as there are numerous restaurants on the beach where we had great meals including breakfasts and there are many sunbeds at these places which are available to anybody. The sea is relatively calm and is ideal for swimming. There is a brand new internet cafe virtually next door to Sunny Mood. Finally we saw a great deal of things of interest from our balcony at Sunny Mood, monkeys and woodpeckers being just 2 of them. Reasonably priced , we cannot recommend this establishment highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

We had been recommended to stay at Nor Lanka in Unawatuna but didn't like their price (60 Euro). It was a fancier category of hotel/guest house than we had been staying in while travelling throughout Sri Lanka. Sunny Mood provided the perfect alternative. For 3000 rupees we had a massive clean room with 4 poster bed, freshly washed mosquito net, single bed, fridge with some beers in it (cheap price for them), space for our packs and big bathroom. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony outside our room relaxing. The price also included a lovely breakfast of eggs, fruit, coffee and toast.

What made our stay so nice was not just a big bright clean cool room, but the lovely family who ran the place. They made us feel welcome. The guest house is an easy 2 min walk directly onto the beach, but we found the best swimming and eating at Unawatuna to be further around the beach towards the Buddhist temple. Wherever the Sri Lankans are swimming the water will be more calm, with less dumping waves.

Be sure to check out Il Rustico down next to the temple and dive shop. The young chef here does lovely Italian and also some of the best Sri Lankan curry and vegetables that we ate in the whole country. They buy their seafood straight off the fisherman as they come in to the beach in front of the cafe with the night's catch. It is also a quick tuk tuk ride back to the hotel if you're too tired after swimming!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P0lecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

We had a double room with ac for very reasonable price after negotiation with a landlord. Near to the beach through unawatuna beach resort, no problem with access, only 2-3 minutes by walk.
Good value. Next to nor lanka a well.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yerzhan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vadheim
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

i have known this famely for 11years now,they are a lovely famely you can trust 100%,they have great rooms,and can help you whit any kind off needs you may have.rooms are excellente and clean.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jontanote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.0 mi away
Sea Breeze Guest House
Sea Breeze Guest House
#54 of 144 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kumara Guest House
Kumara Guest House
#41 of 144 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Damith Guest House
Damith Guest House
#59 of 144 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Srimali's Residence
Srimali's Residence
#17 of 144 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Samaya Tranz Hotel
Samaya Tranz Hotel
#95 of 144 in Unawatuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropicana Guesthouse
Tropicana Guesthouse
#79 of 123 in Unawatuna
2.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Mood Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Mood Guesthouse

Property: Sunny Mood Guesthouse
Address: Parangiyawatta, Peellagoda, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunny Mood Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing