We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunny Mood Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunny Mood Guesthouse
Ranked #26 of 140 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed there for a night. Good place, everything clean. Comfortable bed, room with good air conditioned system. No hot water, but it was not a problem because of the outside temperature. The owners were very good people, extremely kind and helpful. They have a very cute kid. Price was average for Sri Lanka. Near to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank todajoia84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    19
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
27
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

its a perfect place, very clean, totally worth the money and more!! i travelled alone, sunny mood became my home in no time...very friendly and helpful owner and his family...make me wanna go back there whenever i travel back to unawatuna again!! 2 mins from the beach, 2 mins from the restaurants, 5 mins from shops...1 min from the main road...yet noise free...one side you have the view of green lil hillock...the other side view of the ocean...!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoopaRao2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

The rooms are clean and are good. Very good value for money.
The owner and his wife are very friendly en helpfull. They also have a little shop and travelservice next to the guesthouse. Location is 100m from Unawatuna beach.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartlnS1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed a week at Sunny Mood. Very helpful owners. Just a two minute walk from the beach. Breakfast was included and very good. The owners wife made us lovely roti one morning. Just a short busride from Galle. Interesting town.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edanebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed at Sunny Mood for 7 days and picked the location based on comments that the beach gets really noisy at night, especially at weekends! This also proved to be very good value for money and it is only a 2min walk to the beach. The rooms are basic but clean. The owner is also the nicest person ever and will give helpful advice without trying to sell you anything. Thank for your help and we are glad we listened to you and did not tour the whole of the country on a bike! Car and driver was definitely the way to go!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AS_Williams23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

Great spacious rooms, very nice service, newly renovated. Owned by a great Sri Lankan family that invited you in their home and takes care of you as if you are family. Loved the place and will recomment it to anybody visiting Unawatuna.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KDA980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

we spent 5 night at this locely guesthouse. in contrary to guesthouses located right on the beach, this one was reasonably priced (3000rs) we good a 2nd floor room that was huge and very clean and comfortable. it also had a balcony although not facing the beach side. location is 2 min walk from the beach. proprietor was kind and helping, let us use his internet for free as his guests and arranged tuktuks if we needed.

Room Tip: the front rooms have a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irenakopel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
0.0 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Breeze Guest House
Sea Breeze Guest House
#55 of 140 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#3 of 140 in Unawatuna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Damith Guest House
Damith Guest House
#60 of 140 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bay Watch
Hotel Bay Watch
#14 of 121 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa 96
Villa 96
#92 of 142 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Mood Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Mood Guesthouse

Property: Sunny Mood Guesthouse
Address: Parangiyawatta, Peellagoda, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sunny Mood Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing