We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel in shambles, we left right away” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miltons Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Miltons Beach Resort
Ranked #112 of 140 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“hotel in shambles, we left right away”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Hotel's website looks very nice, but in reality the place is rather in need of serious overhaul. The hotel was severely affected by the 2005 Tsunami, the owner died for instance.
We were promised new refurbished rooms. However, the rooms were indeed newly painted, but the furniture was very old. The beds showed signs of mildew.
We then moved to an hotel in Unawatuna beach (see No Name Rest).
The advantage of Unawatuna beach is that you can walk around, there are many restaurants and bars. Miltons beach resort is on the main road to Galle. Walking around is not possible over there.
When disussing this place with local people, even they thought this hotel is a shame.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    11
    17
    6
    19
See reviews for
22
19
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Stayed at Miltons for three nights and loved it! The rooms are big and clean, the staff very helpful and service minded. The grilled fish at dinner was lovely, especially after two weeks of chicken (that is bones) and curry. We could swim in the "natural pool" even though it was monsune. They could easily get the fifth star just by make the surroundings a bit better, that is a little bit paint and by a couple of new sun chairs

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

Hotel was fairly busy with two weddings but the staff and service was always polite and welcoming. We ate in the hotel restaurant where the food was outstanding.... Rooms large and clean - deffinitely no mosquitos. Beach was superb.
Rooms had fantastic views over the beach, we saw incredible sunsets.
I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank w0w1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

Like the previous comment...
We also enjoyed our stay here very much, the owner and staff were all very pleasant and chatty the hotel is still recovering from the sadness of the past, BUT we found that the food
...could be better and offer more variety, especially when staying more than 2 days.

Best is the private Sea Water Swimming Pool.

Worst was the the "Old Boys Get together". The entertainment hall was right under our bedrooms, so the floor was vibrating till midnight - this is no joke!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NoLimitsCMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capdepera, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

We enjoyed our stay here very much, the owner and staff were all very pleasant and chatty the hotel is still recovering from the sadness of the past, but we found that the food was very good, both breakfast and dinner. and it has its own private beach with a safe bathing area, although the sea is not very deep in front of the hotel. its a 10 minute walk to the town centre, which makes it very peaceful to stay here. The rooms were clean and spacious with views straight out to sea, fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jemjack35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Sanmira Rennaissance
Sanmira Rennaissance
#28 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peacock Hotel
Peacock Hotel
#23 of 29 in Unawatuna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Milton Beach Hotel
Milton Beach Hotel
#68 of 120 in Unawatuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Veranda di Serena
La Veranda di Serena
#23 of 140 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sevonra Garden
Hotel Sevonra Garden
#105 of 140 in Unawatuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun Ray Village Dalwella
Sun Ray Village Dalwella
#69 of 120 in Unawatuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miltons Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miltons Beach Resort

Property: Miltons Beach Resort
Address: 368 Ganahena, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miltons Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Miltons Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing