We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run away from this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Miltons Beach Resort
Ranked #108 of 145 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Run away from this place!”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The web site of this "resort" shows quite promising pictures of the building itself and of its surroundings. But really, if you have any option of staying somewhere else in Unawatuna - or why not in Galle - do it! Try to avoid Miltons at all costs. And definitely never ever book a so called "standard room" like my parents did - although it is super cheap, it is very filthy and nasty, and you will be surrounded by mosquitos all night long. The only nice thing about this place is the view of the ocean - but it seems to be constructed dangerously close to the water, into a cliff - probably not legal, and definitely not environmentally sustainable. The owner was all smiley and kind, but most of the staff were really creepy I find - they were often staring at you for minutes from the other end of the room, some of them did not seem to understand English (even such a simple thing as ordering a tea!!) and then there was a whole other bunch that seem to just be "hanging around" on the premises (staff? relatives of the hotel owner?) no idea who they were and what their function was. But made me feel very uncomfortable anyway. We got a so called "deluxe room" and it was ok - or should I say, it will be ok, once it is finished. The staff were literally moving in our furnitures as we arrived. The bathroom zink was not yet painted (e.g grey and rough concrete) and the TV was not connected and had no channels. This is not what I would call a deluxe room!! But of course the owner had no problems to charge a full deluxe room rate - what a joke! A scam actually. Besides this, since there is a major and heavily trafficked road running just at the back of the hotel, it literally felt like we were sleeping on a high way! Extremely noisy! The doors to the "deluxe rooms" are paper thin, and you could easily open them with a gentle kick - the security is non-existant. I am still angry that they made us pay so much for such a crappy room. Very disappointing! Next time I will definitely head for some cosy and well kept place with good service inside of the Fort Galle instead.

Room Tip: Avoid the standard rooms at all cost!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abengan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    11
    17
    6
    20
See reviews for
25
19
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Mixed thoughts in the end on this place. Staff were great but location further from Unawatuna then we wanted and actual beach is limited. Buildings need some work in terms of repair and rooms could do with an update. Popular with both locals themselves as well as foreigners. In general, an ok hotel but likely wouldn't stay there again. Thought that it was overpriced for what you can get in Unawatuna although some hotels there are v. basic. Rooms near reception are noisy. Best to also confirm what exactly you are expecting from the room as per the description.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the rooms nearest reception on either side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonLON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Hotel's website looks very nice, but in reality the place is rather in need of serious overhaul. The hotel was severely affected by the 2005 Tsunami, the owner died for instance.
We were promised new refurbished rooms. However, the rooms were indeed newly painted, but the furniture was very old. The beds showed signs of mildew.
We then moved to an hotel in Unawatuna beach (see No Name Rest).
The advantage of Unawatuna beach is that you can walk around, there are many restaurants and bars. Miltons beach resort is on the main road to Galle. Walking around is not possible over there.
When disussing this place with local people, even they thought this hotel is a shame.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Unawatuna hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Stayed at Miltons for three nights and loved it! The rooms are big and clean, the staff very helpful and service minded. The grilled fish at dinner was lovely, especially after two weeks of chicken (that is bones) and curry. We could swim in the "natural pool" even though it was monsune. They could easily get the fifth star just by make the surroundings a bit better, that is a little bit paint and by a couple of new sun chairs

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Hotel was fairly busy with two weddings but the staff and service was always polite and welcoming. We ate in the hotel restaurant where the food was outstanding.... Rooms large and clean - deffinitely no mosquitos. Beach was superb.
Rooms had fantastic views over the beach, we saw incredible sunsets.
I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank w0w1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Like the previous comment...
We also enjoyed our stay here very much, the owner and staff were all very pleasant and chatty the hotel is still recovering from the sadness of the past, BUT we found that the food
...could be better and offer more variety, especially when staying more than 2 days.

Best is the private Sea Water Swimming Pool.

Worst was the the "Old Boys Get together". The entertainment hall was right under our bedrooms, so the floor was vibrating till midnight - this is no joke!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NoLimitsCMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capdepera, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We enjoyed our stay here very much, the owner and staff were all very pleasant and chatty the hotel is still recovering from the sadness of the past, but we found that the food was very good, both breakfast and dinner. and it has its own private beach with a safe bathing area, although the sea is not very deep in front of the hotel. its a 10 minute walk to the town centre, which makes it very peaceful to stay here. The rooms were clean and spacious with views straight out to sea, fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jemjack35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
La Veranda di Serena
La Veranda di Serena
#27 of 145 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Castle Bed and Breakfast
Beach Castle Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 145 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sevonra Garden
Hotel Sevonra Garden
#105 of 145 in Unawatuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Joe's Bungalow
Joe's Bungalow
#24 of 126 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Little Villa Hotel
Little Villa Hotel
#98 of 145 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amor Villa
Amor Villa
#41 of 126 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miltons Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miltons Beach Resort

Property: Miltons Beach Resort
Address: 368 Ganahena, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miltons Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Miltons Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing