We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“much better than expected - great staff!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miltons Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Miltons Beach Resort
Ranked #112 of 140 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“much better than expected - great staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel with a group of mates for England cricket tour. Having read recent reviews on tripadvisor, we were all very concerned. Although we have found much of these bad reviews to be unfounded.

I would like to say, that by no means is this hotel a palace, but for service from staff, the great airconditioning, the view and location you cannot fault the place. Due to the impact the tsunami would have had on this location, they are doing the very best they can to recover.

We chose deluxe rooms and from what I can gather these are much better than the standard rooms, they were large and spacious with two king sized beds. We had one or two small issues with the room, but within minutes of pointing this out to a member of staff, things were attended to.

The food here was very good, with a varierty of choice, breakfast was included and they would cater for how you wanted specific things - such as eggs etc.

The location is at the quiet end of Unawatuna, and it is just a short stroll to the start of Unawatuna beach, which is ideal for those looking for peaceful stay and not too far from local amenities - such as restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank villaade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    11
    17
    6
    19
See reviews for
22
19
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Territoire de Belfort, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We were given a room with no closing window in the bathroom and could hear the traffic, very close to the room; the room was not finished, furniture was in CONCRETE, the bathroom was a huge empty room with a small sink, the bed and room with no charm at all unlike the pictures were showing, and the terrace was not locked to the room which made the room unsafe.
We decided to go to Flower garden instead where the welcoming and service was very warm without comparison with this place FOR THE SAME PRICE !!!

ON TOP OF THAT, THE HOTEL HAS CHARGED 100% when the condition at booking.com were 50%. I was reimbursed by booking after complaining.
The owner of Miltons also had a very bad behavoir with one of his employee while opening the bathroom door for us, saw there was plenty water on the floor, he shouted at him like if he was an animal.
There is no love in this place and one can easily feel it after 10mn staying there. I couldnt imagine having slept there.
It's a pity because (and this is the only point) there is a beautiful sea view.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StephanBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Unawatuna hotels

Munster, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Hotel's website looks better than reality. The place would need a serious renovation, even though the view is great and the location right at the beach very good. The hotel was severely affected by the 2005 Tsunami and bigger parts of the terrace, walls etc. were not restalled yet. Furniture were old, but practical and clean. There was continous warm water, which was not the case in all of the places of this category. We moved to another place early, which was nice and showed a far better cost benefit ratio.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellen1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristianstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Two out of four adults were put in a "standard room" that had dirty towels and no toiletpaper. Bloody linen in bed and no blankets. As I was complaining I was promised another cleaned room the next day. No room! In the morning me and my wife wake up with a lot of mosquitobites. One of the windows was impossible to close.Most of the staff was bad educated and didn't know what to do until you pointed it out. Bad management! Lots of the people inside the hotel, it seemed, were just friends from the neigborhood. The "hotel beach" seemed to be public and was occupied by lokal inhabitants. If you can, look for another place to stay during your vacations in Unawatuna.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YoKbeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

The web site of this "resort" shows quite promising pictures of the building itself and of its surroundings. But really, if you have any option of staying somewhere else in Unawatuna - or why not in Galle - do it! Try to avoid Miltons at all costs. And definitely never ever book a so called "standard room" like my parents did - although it is super cheap, it is very filthy and nasty, and you will be surrounded by mosquitos all night long. The only nice thing about this place is the view of the ocean - but it seems to be constructed dangerously close to the water, into a cliff - probably not legal, and definitely not environmentally sustainable. The owner was all smiley and kind, but most of the staff were really creepy I find - they were often staring at you for minutes from the other end of the room, some of them did not seem to understand English (even such a simple thing as ordering a tea!!) and then there was a whole other bunch that seem to just be "hanging around" on the premises (staff? relatives of the hotel owner?) no idea who they were and what their function was. But made me feel very uncomfortable anyway. We got a so called "deluxe room" and it was ok - or should I say, it will be ok, once it is finished. The staff were literally moving in our furnitures as we arrived. The bathroom zink was not yet painted (e.g grey and rough concrete) and the TV was not connected and had no channels. This is not what I would call a deluxe room!! But of course the owner had no problems to charge a full deluxe room rate - what a joke! A scam actually. Besides this, since there is a major and heavily trafficked road running just at the back of the hotel, it literally felt like we were sleeping on a high way! Extremely noisy! The doors to the "deluxe rooms" are paper thin, and you could easily open them with a gentle kick - the security is non-existant. I am still angry that they made us pay so much for such a crappy room. Very disappointing! Next time I will definitely head for some cosy and well kept place with good service inside of the Fort Galle instead.

Room Tip: Avoid the standard rooms at all cost!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abengan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Mixed thoughts in the end on this place. Staff were great but location further from Unawatuna then we wanted and actual beach is limited. Buildings need some work in terms of repair and rooms could do with an update. Popular with both locals themselves as well as foreigners. In general, an ok hotel but likely wouldn't stay there again. Thought that it was overpriced for what you can get in Unawatuna although some hotels there are v. basic. Rooms near reception are noisy. Best to also confirm what exactly you are expecting from the room as per the description.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the rooms nearest reception on either side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonLON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Hotel's website looks very nice, but in reality the place is rather in need of serious overhaul. The hotel was severely affected by the 2005 Tsunami, the owner died for instance.
We were promised new refurbished rooms. However, the rooms were indeed newly painted, but the furniture was very old. The beds showed signs of mildew.
We then moved to an hotel in Unawatuna beach (see No Name Rest).
The advantage of Unawatuna beach is that you can walk around, there are many restaurants and bars. Miltons beach resort is on the main road to Galle. Walking around is not possible over there.
When disussing this place with local people, even they thought this hotel is a shame.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Sanmira Rennaissance
Sanmira Rennaissance
#28 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peacock Hotel
Peacock Hotel
#22 of 29 in Unawatuna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Milton Beach Hotel
Milton Beach Hotel
#67 of 121 in Unawatuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Veranda di Serena
La Veranda di Serena
#23 of 140 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sevonra Garden
Hotel Sevonra Garden
#105 of 140 in Unawatuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun Ray Village Dalwella
Sun Ray Village Dalwella
#70 of 121 in Unawatuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miltons Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miltons Beach Resort

Property: Miltons Beach Resort
Address: 368 Ganahena, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miltons Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Miltons Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing